Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Triggering The Performance Panel

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

User avatar
MeanMrMustard
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 6:20 am

Triggering The Performance Panel

Postby MeanMrMustard » Mon Mar 20, 2017 7:41 am

Is there a way to trigger the performance panel to move from one grid square to the next automatically as opposed to manually ?

For example, if one placed midi clips in rows 1 - 10 on the same track of the PP could you then set M7 to move sequentially 1, 2, 3. ... 10 without having to manually trigger each grid square ?

One thought was if M7 can not do this outright, could you set each grid square to a midi note (C1, D1, ect) and then trigger them from another midi track ?

For example, placing midi notes in a track (C1 - D1 - E1 ect) would trigger each PP grid square assigned to those notes to play one at a time. Similar to hitting the same notes on a midi keyboard one at a time but automatically and in sync with the other tracks. (if you have the cue set to 1 bar)

I tried this but wasn't familiar with how to route the midi output of a track to the performance panel ? Though I suppose it should work since it can be triggered with the similar input from a midi keyboard.

Thanks, MMM

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 16911
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Triggering The Performance Panel

Postby Acoustica Greg » Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:10 pm

Hi,

No, but you could record a performance panel performance in the main track area by arming the performance panel. So, you could listen the tracks that you would want to trigger the performance panel, manually trigger the performance panel and record that.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.
And our Mixcraft blog: Zeroes & Ones.

Anorax
Posts: 926
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Triggering The Performance Panel

Postby Anorax » Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:23 pm

It would be a pretty neat thing for Mixcraft to offer "performance behaviors" for clips. It could facilitate live performance rather well.

User avatar
MeanMrMustard
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 6:20 am

Re: Triggering The Performance Panel

Postby MeanMrMustard » Wed Mar 22, 2017 2:36 am

Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

No, but you could record a performance panel performance in the main track area by arming the performance panel. So, you could listen the tracks that you would want to trigger the performance panel, manually trigger the performance panel and record that.

Greg


Thanks Greg ! Hopefully they will add more options to the PP as it has a lot of potential.

BTW, it's great having the Acoustica Team here as part of the forum ! I can't think of many others that offer that much to their products.




Anorax wrote:It would be a pretty neat thing for Mixcraft to offer "performance behaviors" for clips. It could facilitate live performance rather well.


Yes, as I mentioned to Greg the PP has a lot of untapped potential. Adding a pattern sequencer feature would be a great addition to the current excellent options. Instead of having to manually trigger patterns which works great for live performances but is rather cumbersome when writing music. Much like EZDrummer where you add patterns and string them together to create a drum track.


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], freightgod, Google [Bot] and 11 guests