Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Mixcraft Suggestions!

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19236
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Naming for Omni Sampler Out Mix Tracks

Postby Acoustica Greg » Tue Oct 16, 2018 9:09 am

vizionheiry wrote:Naming for Omni Sampler Out Mix Tracks

When the pads on the Omni Sampler Out route to a mix track in the Mixer view, will you have the names of the pads travel with outs. So instead of Omni Out 1, 2, it would be Snare, Kick, etc.


Did you know you can just click on Omni Out 1 or 2 or whatever and change the name to anything you want?
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

shayneoneill
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:35 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby shayneoneill » Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:30 am

I've spoken in the other thread about more consistent midi routing, particularly from VSTs. This is a really important one. So I'll drop it in here too.


But I might also add, some sort of scripting capability. Lua is dead easy to embed (You just need to pay a bit of attention to the docs on serializing tables in and out), fast enough if you use the jit version that people can write full blown instruments in them (see protoplug) but more importantly it gives people an avenue to get functionality you guys havent or won't put in. It is, imho, Reapers killer feature.
Windows 10. Intel i7 quadcore something. 16gigs ram. assorted mech and SSD hard drives.
Focusrite liquid pre 56. 2x Golden age 73 pres. FMR Audio RNC compressor.
Tascam 38 tape, and Yamaha 8 track cassette portastudio like a boss.

User avatar
Ian Craig
Posts: 808
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Ian Craig » Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:19 am

This has just occurred to me.
As I have always wanted to be able to rotate around and through the soundscapes I create and have spent a lot of money over the past several years trying to find ways of doing this without much ease of use or effectiveness in most cases, I have had to rely on automating the controls within processors to achieve the few successes that I have.
It occurs that if I could save the automations themselves as presets in Mixcraft it would be an amazing advancement to my ability to create what I do (part of which is also the enjoyment I get testing stuff and there is nothing better than comparing how a setup would sound when applied to part of a different bit of music, so it would enable this to be done easily).
So to clarify the idea, rather than just Mixcraft saving the settings of processors as individual presets (and collections in FX Preset Chains), it should be possible to save any automations created as a preset that would load all the automations recorded into the timeline, the same way that multiple midi tracks can be pasted into a project.
...
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio Build 418 (64bit)
AMD Ryzen Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (1st Gen, USB2).

mixyguy2
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 4:54 pm

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby mixyguy2 » Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:11 am

A minor thing, but so easy to tweak: allow the user to change the default master volume.

vizionheiry
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 12:06 am

Re: Naming for Omni Sampler Out Mix Tracks

Postby vizionheiry » Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:59 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:
vizionheiry wrote:Naming for Omni Sampler Out Mix Tracks

When the pads on the Omni Sampler Out route to a mix track in the Mixer view, will you have the names of the pads travel with outs. So instead of Omni Out 1, 2, it would be Snare, Kick, etc.


Did you know you can just click on Omni Out 1 or 2 or whatever and change the name to anything you want?

Oh!?!? For some reason I didn't think to click on the name on the Mixer panel!

Thanks!!

shayneoneill
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:35 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby shayneoneill » Tue Oct 23, 2018 3:57 am

The ability to specify what channel to use when setting up control surfaces w/ midi. I've got a maschine and I'm trying to set it up so I can control mixcraft AND use the pads for controlling drums/etc. I've got it set up so mackie control down ch1, midi note pads down ch2. The problem is, when the maschine midi is set to control, theres no way to say "Use ch1, ignore ch2", meaning that its impossible to use the pads AND control at the same time. The problem kind of seems insurmountable at the moment without some feature added to let one specify a channel instead of auto-assuming omni :(
Windows 10. Intel i7 quadcore something. 16gigs ram. assorted mech and SSD hard drives.
Focusrite liquid pre 56. 2x Golden age 73 pres. FMR Audio RNC compressor.
Tascam 38 tape, and Yamaha 8 track cassette portastudio like a boss.

mixyguy2
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 4:54 pm

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby mixyguy2 » Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:55 pm

When I click on Solo on a track, everything else should automatically mute, and if the track I selected was muted, should automatically unmute.

It would also be nice if I un-click it, that everything reverts back, but I can see why that might have drawbacks or be trickier to implement.

User avatar
Thomas
Posts: 275
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 2:54 pm

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Thomas » Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:24 pm

When I click on Solo on a track, everything else should automatically mute, and if the track I selected was muted, should automatically unmute.

In addition, there should be an easy to apply method to solo more than 1 track at a time, no? Maybe hold down shift key while selecting or whatever smart idea someone comes up with.
Tom Was Already Taken, Therefore Thomas
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio 64-Bit
Windows 10 64-Bit
AMD Athlon II X4 645 3.1 GHz 10GB Ram 7200RPM HDD
Behringer UMC404HD v4.59 interface

mixyguy2
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 4:54 pm

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby mixyguy2 » Thu Oct 25, 2018 9:54 pm

uh........no. :) Kind of defeats the point of "solo." For that you can simply mute/unmute whatever tracks.

shayneoneill
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:35 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby shayneoneill » Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:24 am

Support for some of the old Avid/Digidesign control surfaces would be amazing. You can pick those up dirt cheap on ebay these days, but they dont do the mackie control thing (Could you imagine Avid even *acknowledging* a defacto standard they didnt invent lol) so off limits :(
Windows 10. Intel i7 quadcore something. 16gigs ram. assorted mech and SSD hard drives.
Focusrite liquid pre 56. 2x Golden age 73 pres. FMR Audio RNC compressor.
Tascam 38 tape, and Yamaha 8 track cassette portastudio like a boss.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19236
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Acoustica Greg » Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:27 am

shayneoneill wrote:Support for some of the old Avid/Digidesign control surfaces would be amazing. You can pick those up dirt cheap on ebay these days, but they dont do the mackie control thing (Could you imagine Avid even *acknowledging* a defacto standard they didnt invent lol) so off limits :(


Do they do the MIDI control surface thing? If so - you can use MIDI learn to map them. Most interfaces either support Mackie or MIDI control.
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

troy
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 1:37 pm

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby troy » Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:28 am

Allow send tracks to be nested in submixes

User avatar
Thomas
Posts: 275
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 2:54 pm

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Thomas » Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:03 pm

The ability when re-scanning plugins- to be able to select individual folders (or even an individual plugin). Now that I have accumulated lots of plugins :!: , it takes forever to re-scan through settings. This is also helpful for troubleshooting problematic plugins.

Also, expanded plugin management control. IE, the ability to select more than 1 plugin before right clicking to select the category. Great if I have umpteen plugins of a certain brand that I want to label as such.
Tom Was Already Taken, Therefore Thomas
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio 64-Bit
Windows 10 64-Bit
AMD Athlon II X4 645 3.1 GHz 10GB Ram 7200RPM HDD
Behringer UMC404HD v4.59 interface

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19236
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Acoustica Greg » Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:17 pm

Hi,

I never scan for plugins, I just try to pay attention where I install them and then make sure that the VST folder is in the "Edit VST/VSTi Folders" list.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

mixyguy2
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 4:54 pm

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby mixyguy2 » Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:34 pm

Yeah I never did get the "I need to categorize my VSTs" thing. All of mine are in one folder. Very easy to re-scan.


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests