Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Mixcraft Suggestions!

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

creativeforge
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:56 pm

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby creativeforge » Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:53 am

mixyguy2 wrote:Add a PAUSE button to the transport bar. "Just toggle the play button" you might say...but I have it set up so that when I toggle the PLAY button, it auto-rewinds to the beginning, which I often use. Still, there are times when I want to just stop right wherever I am and not rewind all the way back. I'm semi-guessing adding a pause would be a very quick/easy code addition too (he said hoping to build his case).


Maybe if there could be the ability to create additional shortcut keys for such functions?

creativeforge
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:56 pm

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby creativeforge » Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:13 pm

Closing Plugins dialogue windows faster.

One thing that could save time and many clicks, is the ability to shut a VST or VSTi window by clicking beside it. Just like when we have pop-ups that open on some sites, or in Windows. Some require us to click on a response - either a X, "close," "no thanks," etc. But others will shut simply when we click outside of it.

For instance, I click on the keyboard icon to open the Plugins library. Let's say I select Omnisphere as a soft-synth. A new window then opens showing Omnisphere is selected, and in it I click the EDIT option, which I need to click in order to *actually open Omnisphere, and only then can I select a patch.

After I have selected the patch I like, then I have to X two windows: the Omnisphere window, and the Plugin manager window.

That's a few clicks too many, imho.

I'd prefer that when selecting Omnisphere I could bypass the Plugins manager screen (with the EDIT link), so that it would open Omnisphere immediately, ready to browse through its sounds. Save one click there.

And then, when going back to Mixcraft after selecting my patch, all I would need to do is click outside of the window and it would shut both the Plugins manager window AND Omnisphere's. Like it does in Windows and some websites pop-ups.

Click keyboard icon - opens Plugins library.
Select plugin - enters plugin immediately.
Click outside of plugin window - closes plugin window.

Of course there are options in that Plugins manager window allowing to daisy chain plugins, but maybe it could be an option we choose when we need?

Hope my explanation made sense! :)

Andre

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6484
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Mark Bliss » Sun Dec 16, 2018 3:20 pm

Or at least for consistency sake, have the plug-in GUI close upon second click like the plug in menu does.
FWIW, I would agree. Click outside the GUI should hide it. Handy.
*Note that ESC works in some situations if the window is selected ("in focus") twice for some windows.

As to the auto rewind, I have just left it off. If there were options via hot keys to rewind to loop start, rewind to last start location etc, that would be useful I think.
Rewind to start as it is, is only useful in certain situations and its easy enough for me then to just click rewind.
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

mixyguy2
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 4:54 pm

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby mixyguy2 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:13 pm

creativeforge wrote:
mixyguy2 wrote:Add a PAUSE button to the transport bar. "Just toggle the play button" you might say...but I have it set up so that when I toggle the PLAY button, it auto-rewinds to the beginning, which I often use. Still, there are times when I want to just stop right wherever I am and not rewind all the way back. I'm semi-guessing adding a pause would be a very quick/easy code addition too (he said hoping to build his case).


Maybe if there could be the ability to create additional shortcut keys for such functions?

Frankly for the most part I hate "shortcuts." To me the shortest path is simply having a pause button to click on. :)

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby bigaquarium » Thu Dec 20, 2018 5:03 am

Morning,

A "Select None" or "Deselect All" function/shortcut in the Edit menu.

- N

Rat Sass
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:25 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Rat Sass » Thu Dec 20, 2018 10:10 am

Not sure if anyone has brought this up yet but, any chance a Mix down to Stem upgrade for Mixcraft 6 and 7 could be done....or have they already and I missed it?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19410
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Dec 20, 2018 10:42 am

Rat Sass wrote:Not sure if anyone has brought this up yet but, any chance a Mix down to Stem upgrade for Mixcraft 6 and 7 could be done....or have they already and I missed it?


Hi,

We don't add features to old versions of Mixcraft, but we've having an amazing $29 upgrade sale for Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio right now.

Here's what the feature looks like in Mixcraft 8:
Image

Download Mixcraft 8 and try it out.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby bigaquarium » Sat Dec 22, 2018 9:08 am

Morning!

Adding the ability to arm automation lanes by themselves would be a great way to facilitate realtime/rough automation entry. Imagine laying down an orchestral strings track and then entering parameters like expression, volume, or modulation in realtime as you go.

-N

User avatar
elistvan
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 12:10 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby elistvan » Sun Dec 23, 2018 5:12 am

1, A user friendly full screen sized audio editor like Sound Forge with markers option.

2, An integrated vocal slicer vst.

User avatar
Ian Craig
Posts: 820
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Ian Craig » Tue Dec 25, 2018 1:06 am

A multi-sample sampler that allows for key ranges to be user defined, enabling multilayered sounds to be created, rather than samples available only to a single key
...
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio Build 418 (64bit)
AMD Ryzen 8 Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (1st Gen, USB2).

User avatar
Ian Craig
Posts: 820
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Ian Craig » Wed Dec 26, 2018 3:05 am

An option on the preferences page to load the musical typing keyboard by default, which I need when using a laptop without a midi/usb keyboard.
...
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio Build 418 (64bit)
AMD Ryzen 8 Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (1st Gen, USB2).

mixyguy2
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 4:54 pm

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby mixyguy2 » Wed Dec 26, 2018 6:02 pm

Ian Craig wrote:An option on the preferences page to load the musical typing keyboard by default, which I need when using a laptop without a midi/usb keyboard.

Second that. Somewhat related, a little more control over what happens when you boot MC in general would be great, e.g. option to auto-load a given song/project.

User avatar
Ian Craig
Posts: 820
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Ian Craig » Wed Dec 26, 2018 6:31 pm

What we need is the option to list the instrument and FX lists as more than just a list. This would make finding things we are looking for easier I. E. The way Windows explorer has options such as details or large icons, or better still icon based groupings etc the way you would have on the windows desktop. It would make things so much easier
...
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio Build 418 (64bit)
AMD Ryzen 8 Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (1st Gen, USB2).

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby bigaquarium » Tue Jan 01, 2019 7:31 am

Morning!

Adding an intuitive pick-up note capability to the performance panel and loops in general would not only be a big plus for MC, but be ahead of everyone else at the same time.

In other words, let's say I'm in the performance panel and using AAS Strum 2 to put a strummed guitar chord on beat 1, but I don't want the chord to strum from beat 1, but rather I want it to strum into beat 1. So if there were a way to offset the clip to the left one beat, this could be accommodated without a lot of acrobatics or dead space.


Thank you!

-N
Last edited by bigaquarium on Tue Jan 22, 2019 6:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1038
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby jlouvar » Tue Jan 01, 2019 11:46 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:
Rat Sass wrote:Not sure if anyone has brought this up yet but, any chance a Mix down to Stem upgrade for Mixcraft 6 and 7 could be done....or have they already and I missed it?


Hi,

We don't add features to old versions of Mixcraft, but we've having an amazing $29 upgrade sale for Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio right now.

Here's what the feature looks like in Mixcraft 8:
Image

Download Mixcraft 8 and try it out.

Greg


Comment: I upgraded from MC6, to MC8 Pro Studio a few days ago and highly recommend it... I love it.

Question: My son-in-law uses Logic... What Stems mixdown settings should I use so he can play/record to it with Logic?
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chibear, Google [Bot], heks, MSN [Bot] and 33 guests