Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Mixcraft Suggestions!

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby bigaquarium » Tue Mar 05, 2019 10:14 am

Ian Craig wrote:I need a way (other than stacking instruments) of getting what....


Yesssss!

-N

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19519
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Acoustica Greg » Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:20 am

Ian Craig wrote:I need a way (other than stacking instruments) of getting what I'm recording onto for example ten different tracks at the same time (I like improvising with giant sounds) in such a way as to only have to edit 1 copy of the notes i.e. have all the tracks use the same recorded notes in the same way as each track can accept the same send effects with the same settings. So it would be a 'Send Notes' menu option similar to the 'record all tracks automation' menu option


Hi,

Have you played around with Route To Track? You can send the MIDI from multiple tracks to one track.

Image

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19519
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Acoustica Greg » Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:29 am

Hi,

You can also use Route To Track to send MIDI from one track to multiple other tracks: MX8 MIDI routing awesomeness.

That way, each track can have its own instrument, effect, panning, automation, etc.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Ian Craig
Posts: 824
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Ian Craig » Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:13 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

You can also use Route To Track to send MIDI from one track to multiple other tracks: MX8 MIDI routing awesomeness.

That way, each track can have its own instrument, effect, panning, automation, etc.

Greg


Brilliant Greg, I was hoping you might know how to do it. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. (Each thank you on it's own track obviously) :lol: :D :D :D
...
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio Build 418 (64bit)
AMD Ryzen 8 Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (1st Gen, USB2).

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19519
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Acoustica Greg » Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:20 pm

Ian Craig wrote:Brilliant Greg, I was hoping you might know how to do it. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. (Each thank you on it's own track obviously) :lol: :D :D :D


You're welcome! That was kind of a stealth feature we added to Mixcraft 8. It was added so you can use tracks instead of lanes when working with multi-timbrel instruments like Kontakt, but it also obviously has other uses.
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby bigaquarium » Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:33 pm

Mark Bliss wrote:Anyway, bottom line, it's not really just the DAW developer at fault for the oddities you experience. It's in part a lack of standardization and the resultant variations in implementation.


Afternoon!

I suppose so, but when the Steinberg Model E presets don’t port over to MC, I think we can rule some of that out, lol. :P

The point isn’t to assign blame, but it would make MC even more wonderful for the novice if it went the extra mile to accommodate the presets, because very very few of them work.

-N

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby bigaquarium » Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:56 pm

Evening,

Being able to add automation values to individual notes in the same manner as say velocity and duration would be very handy, so you could assign filter envelope values that way for instance.

Maybe it’s time to absorb NightLife into Mixcraft like everything else and make the sequencer functions part of the DAW!

-N

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1076
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby jlouvar » Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:03 pm

bigaquarium wrote:Evening,

Being able to add automation values to individual notes in the same manner as say velocity and duration would be very handy, so you could assign filter envelope values that way for instance.

Maybe it’s time to absorb NightLife into Mixcraft like everything else and make the sequencer functions part of the DAW!

-N


You could slice out individual notes and add whatever you wanted, it would be time consuming but doable.
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19519
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Acoustica Greg » Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:08 pm

bigaquarium wrote:Being able to add automation values to individual notes in the same manner as say velocity and duration would be very handy, so you could assign filter envelope values that way for instance.


Hi,

You know about CC, right?

Image

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby bigaquarium » Wed Mar 06, 2019 6:01 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

You know about CC, right?


Hi, yes! I was going to ask you if you can route VSTi parameters like filter/resonance to the CC section?

-N

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6505
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Mark Bliss » Wed Mar 06, 2019 10:33 pm

bigaquarium wrote:
Mark Bliss wrote:Anyway, bottom line, it's not really just the DAW developer at fault for the oddities you experience. It's in part a lack of standardization and the resultant variations in implementation.


Afternoon!

I suppose so, but when the Steinberg Model E presets don’t port over to MC, I think we can rule some of that out, lol. :P

The point isn’t to assign blame, but it would make MC even more wonderful for the novice if it went the extra mile to accommodate the presets, because very very few of them work.


To be honest, I had to review what this was even about.... :lol:
Ok, I am not familiar with what a "Steinberg Model E" is, (except maybe that it could be a grand piano emulation. The "Model E" I am familiar with has no presets and needs several strong people to move. But it's a "SteinWAY" :lol: )
And I am not sure we are talking about the same thing anyway.
My comment was about how the DAW (host) usually provides a plug in "box" for the VST or VSTi GUI with an area for presets that often has no content, while the plug in GUI itself usually provides another built in preset area (of some sort or configuration, often baffling and unintuitive) that contains the plug-ins presets.
Every plug-in developer seems to have a different idea of how this should work and their own folder location to store their presets in. Without some form of standardization here, it would be pretty difficult for the host to do any better. And though my experience with other DAWs isn't very deep or extensive, I haven't seen where any do much better than any other in this regard. I could be wrong.
I suppose you could be implying Steinberg should be following the standard as well as it could be, since they developed it, but I have found their own plug ins to be just as randomly screwy (technical term) as any others. But I think maybe the "standard" simply didn't cover this aspect very well or something.
Last edited by Mark Bliss on Thu Mar 07, 2019 4:38 am, edited 2 times in total.
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
Ian Craig
Posts: 824
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Ian Craig » Thu Mar 07, 2019 1:38 am

bigaquarium wrote:
Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

You know about CC, right?


Hi, yes! I was going to ask you if you can route VSTi parameters like filter/resonance to the CC section?

-N


Nathan,
if you look at Greg's picture example above double click where it says (131) at the bottom and you can manually enter any of the 128 CC numbers and it will be applied (I didn't know about this for ages either, as it is effectively hidden for some unknown reason). Presumably, though I don't remember trying it in the last couple of years, it will send out those CCs to external equipment (I'm pretty sure it does anyway). The only problem is that as there is no spline system, it involves manually adjusting each bar if you want to be precise, so that's probably why I don't remember. It's probably just easier to use the automation system, though that lacks precision also
...
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio Build 418 (64bit)
AMD Ryzen 8 Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (1st Gen, USB2).

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby bigaquarium » Thu Mar 07, 2019 2:55 am

Ian Craig wrote:The only problem is that as there is no spline system, it involves manually adjusting each bar if you want to be precise, so that's probably why I don't remember. It's probably just easier to use the automation system, though that lacks precision also


Morning!

I wonder if you can hold <Shift> to at least get more precision when you are adjusting the bars, will have to try it out!

- N

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby bigaquarium » Thu Mar 07, 2019 12:46 pm

Mark Bliss wrote:To be honest, I had to review what this was even about.... :lol:.


Afternoon,

Yeah, I’m slow sometimes like that. :)

Anyway, yes, I’m talking about things like the drop down menus at the top of the VST window and the instrument panel, as well as the forward/back arrows in the plugins themselves. There are a whole host of synth VSTis that will lock up if you touch the arrows.

The Model E is an analog synth plugin by Steinberg, so if they don’t work to their own standard then shame on them! :D

-N

User avatar
Thomas
Posts: 275
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 2:54 pm

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Thomas » Thu Mar 07, 2019 10:39 pm

bigaquarium wrote:...when the Steinberg Model E presets don’t port over to MC, I think we can rule some of that out, lol. :P

The point isn’t to assign blame, but it would make MC even more wonderful for the novice if it went the extra mile to accommodate the presets, because very very few of them work.

-N

The model E is available for free now as "VST Classics", and I can corroborate bigaquarium's point because the model E on MC only shows 1 preset. And when I found 22 more fxb presets online, only 1 showed up when I loaded that bank.
Tom Was Already Taken, Therefore Thomas
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio 64-Bit
Windows 10 64-Bit
AMD Athlon II X4 645 3.1 GHz 10GB Ram 7200RPM HDD
Behringer UMC404HD v4.59 interface


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests