Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

M7 and Kontakt channels problem

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

Gasparius
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:08 am
Location: Hungary, Europe

M7 and Kontakt channels problem

Postby Gasparius » Wed Nov 18, 2015 6:38 am

Hi All,
I have a problem, I wish use more instruments in Kontakt player, then connect with Mixcraft 7.
So the instruments separated from each other, and sound separated midi chanel and childtrack.
The problem:
There is just two channel, the M7 doesn't see the other channel, like the picture.
An idea?

Thanks
Channels.jpg
The situation
Channels.jpg (385.77 KiB) Viewed 3195 times

User avatar
Juno
Posts: 523
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:42 am
Location: Amsterdam, Nederland

Re: M7 and Kontakt channels problem

Postby Juno » Wed Nov 18, 2015 9:38 am

Szia,

Check this: open the instrument selection panel for Kontakt (the piano roll on the track), click "show details" if needed, then "config" in the Outputs column:

kontakt channel setup.jpg
kontakt channel setup.jpg (487.04 KiB) Viewed 3183 times


(Note:
Kontakt 16 out: 1 stereo channel = 2 channels
So i have 11 tracks in Mixcraft: 5 stereo and 6 mono)
We the undersigned being of sound mind hereby do declare:
'We henceforth pledge ourselves unto the power of the Upper Air'
Doesn't that sound simply super
Zeppelin visions of the future
Of course we all know very well it wouldn't work but what the hell

User avatar
Juno
Posts: 523
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:42 am
Location: Amsterdam, Nederland

Re: M7 and Kontakt channels problem

Postby Juno » Wed Nov 18, 2015 9:42 am

Oh, and if that helped, you can set it in the preferences:

mixcraft prefs plugins.jpg
mixcraft prefs plugins.jpg (94.52 KiB) Viewed 3183 times
We the undersigned being of sound mind hereby do declare:
'We henceforth pledge ourselves unto the power of the Upper Air'
Doesn't that sound simply super
Zeppelin visions of the future
Of course we all know very well it wouldn't work but what the hell

Gasparius
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:08 am
Location: Hungary, Europe

Re: M7 and Kontakt channels problem

Postby Gasparius » Wed Nov 18, 2015 10:32 am

Juno wrote:Szia,

Check this: open the instrument selection panel for Kontakt (the piano roll on the track), click "show details" if needed, then "config" in the Outputs column:

kontakt channel setup.jpg


(Note:
Kontakt 16 out: 1 stereo channel = 2 channels
So i have 11 tracks in Mixcraft: 5 stereo and 6 mono)



It's OK. This setting is default.
Perhaps, the solution is in the Kontakt settings?
(because the Kontakt default there are just two channel at starting)

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19540
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: M7 and Kontakt channels problem

Postby Acoustica Greg » Wed Nov 18, 2015 10:41 am

Hi,

Do you have more than one Kontakt option in your VST Instrument list? I've got Kontakt 5, Kontakt 5 16out and Kontakt 5 8out.

Greg

Gasparius
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:08 am
Location: Hungary, Europe

Re: M7 and Kontakt channels problem

Postby Gasparius » Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:54 pm

Yes I have all three too.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19540
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: M7 and Kontakt channels problem

Postby Acoustica Greg » Wed Nov 18, 2015 1:11 pm

Hi,

What happens if you choose the 8 out or the 16 out options?

Greg

Gasparius
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:08 am
Location: Hungary, Europe

Re: M7 and Kontakt channels problem

Postby Gasparius » Wed Nov 18, 2015 1:22 pm

I usually use 16out.
If I choose 8out, I have two stereo channels and 5 surround channels
If I choose 16out, I have two stereo channels, and surround channels, and more aux channels.
If I choose Kontakt 5, I have two stereo channels, and surround channels, and more aux channels, and 46 unassigned channels.

User avatar
chibear
Posts: 1859
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 7:25 am
Location: Manitoba, Canada

Re: M7 and Kontakt channels problem

Postby chibear » Wed Nov 18, 2015 6:17 pm

Kontakt is bit of a pain to set up for multi-channel. Check the Konakt post in this thread and see if you might have missed something in your setup.

BTW Microsoft has permanently locked the account that contains the images in that thread so they will be disappearing when the account becomes stale and is deleted. Before then I hope to redo those as videos.
Win 7 Pro, 3930K, Gigabyte Ga-X79-UP4, Corsair AX860i, 64GB gSkill 1600 RAM, 5 X 120 GB Intel 520 SSD, 1T & 2T WD caviar black, EVGA nVidea 560, Asus Xonar Essence STX EWQL CCC, Kirk Hunter, Chris Hein, Omnisphere
Soundcloud YouTube

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6514
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: M7 and Kontakt channels problem

Postby Mark Bliss » Wed Nov 18, 2015 7:23 pm

chibear wrote:Kontakt is bit of a pain

Just a bit, yes.......

chibear wrote:BTW Microsoft has permanently locked the account that contains the images in that thread so they will be disappearing when the account becomes stale and is deleted.

Well this is downright alarming. I need to save this critical reference/resource somehow.
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
chibear
Posts: 1859
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 7:25 am
Location: Manitoba, Canada

Re: M7 and Kontakt channels problem

Postby chibear » Thu Nov 19, 2015 12:31 am

OK, I did my first video using FastStone, showing how to set up Kontakt as a multi-channel in Mixcraft. That should help.
Win 7 Pro, 3930K, Gigabyte Ga-X79-UP4, Corsair AX860i, 64GB gSkill 1600 RAM, 5 X 120 GB Intel 520 SSD, 1T & 2T WD caviar black, EVGA nVidea 560, Asus Xonar Essence STX EWQL CCC, Kirk Hunter, Chris Hein, Omnisphere
Soundcloud YouTube

Gasparius
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:08 am
Location: Hungary, Europe

Re: M7 and Kontakt channels problem

Postby Gasparius » Thu Nov 19, 2015 1:31 am

Thank You, but sorry failed.

I try show step by step.

First ther are all instruments (3)
The first, and the second instrument are sound in the st.1, and st. 2 outputs.
But there are more channels in surround, but i don't need surround.
If I delete surround output in Kontakt, the chanells 5-10 disappear.
1.jpg
1.jpg (521.72 KiB) Viewed 3068 times

Then the surround output deleted, and an new channel has been added.
2.jpg
2.jpg (501.58 KiB) Viewed 3068 times


I try this option in Kontakt:
3.jpg
3.jpg (113.93 KiB) Viewed 3068 times

Gasparius
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:08 am
Location: Hungary, Europe

Re: M7 and Kontakt channels problem

Postby Gasparius » Thu Nov 19, 2015 1:33 am

Then visible, there are the 3 separated channels, but the 3. channel is in the surround childtrack in Mixcraft, why?
4.jpg
4.jpg (530.74 KiB) Viewed 3067 times

Gasparius
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:08 am
Location: Hungary, Europe

Re: M7 and Kontakt channels problem

Postby Gasparius » Thu Nov 19, 2015 1:34 am

chibear wrote:OK, I did my first video using FastStone, showing how to set up Kontakt as a multi-channel in Mixcraft. That should help.


Thanks, I will watch it.

User avatar
chibear
Posts: 1859
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 7:25 am
Location: Manitoba, Canada

Re: M7 and Kontakt channels problem

Postby chibear » Thu Nov 19, 2015 6:57 am

My memory may be faulty, but a couple of years ago I researched what the Kontakt-8 out and Kontakt -16 out were all about and apparently they are a throw back to when computers had miniscule memories so assigning fewer channels used less of you precious megabytes of RAM.

If you you use -8 out and -16 out, Kontakt automatically creates 8 and 16 channels respectively no matter what you want. The advice from that thread in the NI forums was to just use the Kontakt dll (not -8 out or -16 out) and configure it like you want in these modern days.

I don't have the library you are using so can't be of more help as the library itself may have some ideosyncrasies.

As a rule of thumb I never ask 'why' when dealing with Kontakt........kind of like catechism classes when I was a child. :?
Win 7 Pro, 3930K, Gigabyte Ga-X79-UP4, Corsair AX860i, 64GB gSkill 1600 RAM, 5 X 120 GB Intel 520 SSD, 1T & 2T WD caviar black, EVGA nVidea 560, Asus Xonar Essence STX EWQL CCC, Kirk Hunter, Chris Hein, Omnisphere
Soundcloud YouTube


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 24 guests