Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Timestretch? (Or something like it...)

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

User avatar
M@rkus
Posts: 525
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:20 am
Location: Sweden

Timestretch? (Or something like it...)

Postby M@rkus » Mon Mar 28, 2016 2:07 am

Hi,

I´m trying to record a guitarsolo, but the song is a little bit to fast for my fingers. Is there a way in Mixcraft to slow the song down, to be able to record the solo at a slower pace, or any other option to record the solo at a slower pace?

I´ve been looking at the manual on "timestretch" from page 66 and forwards, but I don´t understand it...

Anyone who can explain to a moderately intelligent being?

Best regards/
M@rkus
M@rkus/
Sweden
1. HP Pavilion DV6 Notebook PC, AMD A6-3410 MX APU, 1,60 Ghz, 8 gb RAM, Win 7 ultimate 64 bit. Mixcraft 7, Ampliube 3, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
2. Asus AMD FX-4100 Quad core 3.60 Ghz, 16 GB ram, Mixcraft 7, Win 7/64 Ultimate SP 1.

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 3420
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Timestretch? (Or something like it...)

Postby outteh » Mon Mar 28, 2016 6:29 am

Markus, just change the project tempo! Slow it down for your solo re or ding the set it back to normal tempo. If you don't go too far with this, the tonal change is hardly noticeable. :D

User avatar
AHornsby
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:42 pm
Location: NE Oklahoma

Re: Timestretch? (Or something like it...)

Postby AHornsby » Mon Mar 28, 2016 6:35 am

I wouldn't know whether that feature is even in MC but if you have Audacity, you can at least get a feel for your lick. You might could speed your lick up some by using this method.

(It's a good opportunity to actually see how the wave form is reacting too. ) -h

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xlNHQKBjFvc

Perennial Jive
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:27 pm

Re: Timestretch? (Or something like it...)

Postby Perennial Jive » Mon Mar 28, 2016 6:52 am

yeah what they said really, if you want a bit of a psychedelic effect you can alter the tempo and play around with delay and render a few clips and layer them,depends really on how much of a stretch you want and on how explorative you are.

User avatar
M@rkus
Posts: 525
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:20 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Timestretch? (Or something like it...)

Postby M@rkus » Mon Mar 28, 2016 9:36 am

Thanks for your help! But I´m still not sure I understand...

As of now, I have recorded drums (midi), bass and rythm guitar at 150 bpm, I need it to come down to ap. 120 bps to be able to record my solo. So, I changed the tempo to 120 bpm, but the only thing that happened was that the midi drum track played back at 120 bpm, but out of sync with the guitar and bass which kept playing back at 150 bpm.

Instead I muted the guitar and bass, and recorded my solo with only drums at 120 bpm. I then changed the tempoback to 150 bpm, and everything was in sync again, except for my guitar solo which still played at 120 bpm and out of sycnc with the rest of the track.

I probably misunderstood something, so please explain again!

Best regards/
M@rkus
M@rkus/
Sweden
1. HP Pavilion DV6 Notebook PC, AMD A6-3410 MX APU, 1,60 Ghz, 8 gb RAM, Win 7 ultimate 64 bit. Mixcraft 7, Ampliube 3, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
2. Asus AMD FX-4100 Quad core 3.60 Ghz, 16 GB ram, Mixcraft 7, Win 7/64 Ultimate SP 1.

Perennial Jive
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:27 pm

Re: Timestretch? (Or something like it...)

Postby Perennial Jive » Mon Mar 28, 2016 10:15 am

record your clip.click on the clip/or click on "sound" in the left hand corner of the DAW and the editor/piano roll will open at the bottom of the DAW,on the left hand side you'll be able to adjust the tempo.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6402
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Timestretch? (Or something like it...)

Postby Mark Bliss » Mon Mar 28, 2016 10:42 am

Yeah, beat me while typing. 8)

The various behaviours of different kinds of tracks can be confusing.
In this case, unlike the MIDI track, your recording has no data that will cause it to follow the project tempo change. The grid moves relative to the audio clip and wave form but the sound doesn't change, right?

There's probably a bunch of ways to do what you want, here's one suggestion to get you started exploring. To prevent inevitable mistakes from corrupting your project, I would suggest an experimental/practice attempt first.

Mix down a copy of the tracks you wish to play along with. This could be a few, or all the tracks in your project, a portion or selected measures, many options. Lets keep it as simple as we can and just make a copy of the song. Create a new project with a new name for practice, and import the new audio track.

Next step, making sure we can return from time travel to the same spot where we were before. Note the tempo and slow down the track tempo in the sound tab until its about where you want it.

Arm a new track and record your guitar. When satisfied, edit the new clips tempo back to match the starting point.

I think that will help get you started....... Not where I can test and verify, but I think I got it right.
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
M@rkus
Posts: 525
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:20 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Timestretch? (Or something like it...)

Postby M@rkus » Mon Mar 28, 2016 11:16 am

Yes! I´vo got it! Thanks a lot! :D
M@rkus/
Sweden
1. HP Pavilion DV6 Notebook PC, AMD A6-3410 MX APU, 1,60 Ghz, 8 gb RAM, Win 7 ultimate 64 bit. Mixcraft 7, Ampliube 3, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
2. Asus AMD FX-4100 Quad core 3.60 Ghz, 16 GB ram, Mixcraft 7, Win 7/64 Ultimate SP 1.

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1304
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: Timestretch? (Or something like it...)

Postby Rolling Estonian » Mon Mar 28, 2016 11:38 am

Mark must've eaten his Wheaties this morning! Well done man! :twisted:

M

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 3420
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Timestretch? (Or something like it...)

Postby outteh » Mon Mar 28, 2016 2:04 pm

Audio tracks will adjust to the project tempo. You just need to make sure your track is tagged to follow project key and tempo (left side of the screen on the sound tab). All tracks need to be tagged this way to follow the tempo. :D

image.jpeg
image.jpeg (26.33 KiB) Viewed 1853 times
Last edited by outteh on Mon Mar 28, 2016 2:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
M@rkus
Posts: 525
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:20 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Timestretch? (Or something like it...)

Postby M@rkus » Mon Mar 28, 2016 2:18 pm

@outteh Thanks for the tip! I will check this out tomorrow, it´s way past my bedtime here in Sweden now!
M@rkus/
Sweden
1. HP Pavilion DV6 Notebook PC, AMD A6-3410 MX APU, 1,60 Ghz, 8 gb RAM, Win 7 ultimate 64 bit. Mixcraft 7, Ampliube 3, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
2. Asus AMD FX-4100 Quad core 3.60 Ghz, 16 GB ram, Mixcraft 7, Win 7/64 Ultimate SP 1.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6402
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Timestretch? (Or something like it...)

Postby Mark Bliss » Mon Mar 28, 2016 4:21 pm

OK, back home and experimenting, finding that setting the sound tab to "use project tempo" as Tom says works. (Key seems irrelevant at the moment). Yet, I swear last time I tried it it acted weird with the same audio track.
Confession, I still don't mess with the sound tab stuff much, and the changes from previous versions have added to my confusion.
But yeah, just like back in previous versions, if all the tracks are set to "use project tempo" changing the tempo should work. Now back to the question I asked on this about a week ago...... Why is the default setting NOT "use project tempo"? :?:
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
Studio 919
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 8:54 am
Location: Middle Georgia, USA

Re: Timestretch? (Or something like it...)

Postby Studio 919 » Mon Mar 28, 2016 4:36 pm

Hey M@rkus,

Like outteh said above ^^^^. Make sure all tracks are set to follow project tempo. This is done in the sound tab. Then, when you change the project tempo to 120 bpm, all tracks should follow. At this point record your guitar part. When you get it like you want it, change the project tempo back to 150 bpm.



Mark Bliss wrote:Why is the default setting NOT "use project tempo"?


Good observation Mark Bliss, and great question. This should be the default setting.

Barry
No matter where you go, there you are.

Image


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yellowcake and 30 guests