Page 1 of 1

Change snare sound of a drum kit?

Posted: Wed May 25, 2016 7:21 am
by WilliamTheTaft
I would like to edit the heavy metal drum kit so it has the standard kit snare.

Is there a way for me to assign a new snare sound to this kit? Thanks for any advice!

Re: Change snare sound of a drum kit?

Posted: Wed May 25, 2016 7:46 am
by Mab098157
Assuming you have the entire kit in one track... You'll have better control by having each "piece" in its own track
ie kick in 1, snare in 2, hit hat in 3, etc all under a "Drum" submix. With each in their own track to can assign whatever VST or voice you want. Kick from heavy kit, snare from room kit, etc.

If the drums are in one track you can't change individual pieces and you can't eq, comp individually either.

Check out Mark Bliss blog on midi and drums http://blog.acoustica.com/category/midi-programming/

Re: Change snare sound of a drum kit?

Posted: Wed May 25, 2016 7:52 am
by WilliamTheTaft
Mab098157 wrote:Assuming you have the entire kit in one track... You'll have better control by having each "piece" in its own track
ie kick in 1, snare in 2, hit hat in 3, etc all under a "Drum" submix. With each in their own track to can assign whatever VST or voice you want. Kick from heavy kit, snare from room kit, etc.

If the drums are in one track you can't change individual pieces and you can't eq, comp individually either.

Check out Mark Bliss blog on midi and drums http://blog.acoustica.com/category/midi-programming/



Thank you for the info!

Re: Change snare sound of a drum kit?

Posted: Thu May 26, 2016 7:48 am
by gypsy101
another neat trick is to use more than one snare. I like the Stadium Metal snare w/ the Studio Snare @ about 35-60% of the Metal Snare's volume. it gives the impression of a top & bottom mic'd snare. :wink: