Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Thats it i am done, I am sorry, its been a good run folks.

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

iareparadox
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2015 1:45 pm

Thats it i am done, I am sorry, its been a good run folks.

Postby iareparadox » Fri May 31, 2019 4:54 pm

I used Mixcraft Pro studio for around 10 or so years and it was wonderful BUT now that i am recording real acoustic drums it has problems keeping up when the project gets a lot of tracks and effects.. also when i bought ozone8 , Izotopes rx and other newer vst plugins it simply CANNOT HANDLE IT.. and no i tried this on many computers and my main studio computer can handle anything i throw at it. I load up Studio One or Cubase and it works just fine. Don't get me wrong i love Mixcraft but its time for me to move on. Mixcraft latest update on pro studio 8 was the last straw for me, still did not fix issues thats been recurring for awhile now.. it always crashing when mixing down the files... every single F#%@ing time i go to mix down it crashed and its even worse with random crashes and not being able to keep up and muting effects now that i have added my plugins from Superior Drummer 3, Ozone Advanced 8, Rx, Nectar, Vocal Synth 2 it crashed almost always or mutes effects that i worked hours on and then mixing it down.. again it will crash and i have to restart the program and then if im lucky it will mix down BUT it will have clicks and pops randomly or it will mute hi hat hits or just won't have any thing at all playing when i mix it down to an mp3 or wav file.. AGAIN like i said.. my computers are not the issue... it handles everything fine in Studio One or Cubase.. and i am very irritated because i stood by Acoustica's side with Mixcraft for years and i have to invest time and money into Cubase ( thats what i chose to go with after trying Protools, Studio One and Cubase ) ALSO what is annoying is that i don't know any other program as fluid and as well and easy as mixcraft.. 10 years of using it and i have to switch to another DAW because once you use professional plugins, recording methods with huge mulitracks and massive mix and mastering tweaks and setting.. it will not handle. SO... yes if your starting out or just recording simple stuff mixcraft is amazing for the price BUT once you get into the professional realm it will leave you down.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19128
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Thats it i am done, I am sorry, its been a good run folks.

Postby Acoustica Greg » Fri May 31, 2019 4:58 pm

Hi,

If you like, we can check out your mixcraft-log.txt file to try and see what's going on.

To find the mixcraft-log file, highlight the following line and press Ctrl+C to copy it:

Code: Select all

%appdata%\Acoustica\Mixcraft\


Press the Windows Key+R to pop up the Run box in Windows. Click in the Run box and press Ctrl+V to paste in the line from above. Finally, click OK to go to the location of the mixcraft-log.txt file. Submit an Acoustica Support Request and attach the log file along with a brief description of the problem.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 760
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Thats it i am done, I am sorry, its been a good run folks.

Postby jlouvar » Fri May 31, 2019 8:16 pm

Hmm, MX8P does everything I need (including recording multiple tracks simultaneously), but if it didn’t I’d most likely get an iMac and run Logic instead of Cubase, but whatever floats your boat. Anyway, good bye, good luck and best wishes.
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

aj113
Posts: 1330
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Thats it i am done, I am sorry, its been a good run folks.

Postby aj113 » Sun Jun 02, 2019 2:31 am

iareparadox wrote:I used Mixcraft Pro studio for around 10 or so years and it was wonderful BUT now that i am recording real acoustic drums it has problems keeping up when the project gets a lot of tracks and effects...


I have projects with over 100 tracks and 300 plugins, and they all include acoustic drums. MC runs fine - but it didn't used to run fine.

Do you know about the 64 bit MC issue? If you use 64 bit MC with 32 bit plugins it runs fine - in theory - because MC has a built-in 32-bit wrapper, which makes the process seamless. The problem is that these wrappers take up a chunk of resource, and it doesn't take too many of them to make MC 64 bit unstable.

My solution - use 32 bit MC. If you haven't already, why not give it a try? Just download and install MC 32 bit and open one of your large projects - no other change is needed.

EDIT: Sorry there is one other thing you need to do. If you are using any 64-bit plugins you need to download and install the 32-bit version of them.

mixyguy2
Posts: 331
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 4:54 pm

Re: Thats it i am done, I am sorry, its been a good run folks.

Postby mixyguy2 » Sun Jun 02, 2019 8:03 am

Yeah not sure what "a lot" of tracks means, I don't have hundreds etc, but I've used the programs he mentions and many more "professional" level plugins, no issues to date. And I am using 64-bit with both 64 and 32 plugins. And on a low-end PC yet. I can appreciate how frustrating that could be though.

User avatar
Acoustica Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 5785
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: Thats it i am done, I am sorry, its been a good run folks.

Postby Acoustica Eric » Sun Jun 02, 2019 11:04 am

Just FYI, I record large acoustic drum kits regularly without issue. The issues you are describing are likely not a Mixcraft issue but probably the computer cpu and audio device having trouble keeping up with so much going on at once.

As an example, I also regularly test each new build in many ways, including recording 22 tracks at once for up to 4 hours at a time. No issues.
My pc
4Ghz 8 Core AMD FX 8350
16GB Ram
Presonus Studiolive 16.0.2 interface

bigaquarium
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Thats it i am done, I am sorry, its been a good run folks.

Postby bigaquarium » Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:55 pm

Evening,

My experience has been that the invisible line in Mixcraft is RAM related, and doesn’t really have anything to do with Mixcraft itself but rather how Windows allocates the resources.

Even so it would be helpful for Mixcraft to have some sort of RAM status meter in addition to the other two, because I usually hit a wall when everything else seems fine, but that doesn’t happen unless I’m into 50-plus tracks which is almost never. :)

-N

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19128
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Thats it i am done, I am sorry, its been a good run folks.

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Jun 06, 2019 2:09 pm

Hi,

It's more complicated than just RAM. There is CPU load, hard drive speed, sound device processing, graphics processing, and so on.

Each plugin is a software program with its own CPU load. That's why freezing tracks often helps. Some plugins are real CPU hogs.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6325
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Thats it i am done, I am sorry, its been a good run folks.

Postby Mark Bliss » Sun Jun 09, 2019 7:06 am

Acoustica Greg wrote:Some plugins are real CPU hogs.

It would appear some are also just poorly coded. And in my observation, it also seems quite likely some DAW's handle sketchy plug-ins better than others.

I largely ignored this thread because I felt it was clear the OP had no interest in a solution, and just wanted to vent. And thats OK. If someone finds something else suits them better no one should discourage them from that path IMO.

But some of those concerns, as well as some mentioned by others here are of interest to many users, if it can take a turn toward the constructive.

Full disclosure- because I often collaborate with others, and sometimes because I explore the features of other DAW's, I have used and currently have installed other options. I have yet to find one that would make me jump to it as a preferred option. For my personal needs, I still prefer Mixcraft for its basic simplicity and workflow!
But I have had the opportunity to compare features and performance, even sometimes with the exact same tracks and plug-ins.

I would freely admit it is undeniable that there are some unaddressed "quirks" and bugs that do not happen in others, and need to be discussed and diagnosed. It is my hope we can help with that going forward.
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

bigaquarium
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Thats it i am done, I am sorry, its been a good run folks.

Postby bigaquarium » Sun Jun 09, 2019 10:22 am

Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

It's more complicated than just RAM. There is CPU load, hard drive speed, sound device processing, graphics processing, and so on.

Each plugin is a software program with its own CPU load. That's why freezing tracks often helps. Some plugins are real CPU hogs.

Greg


Afternoon,

I have never ever maxed out my CPU load or disk usage, and the invisible line is never related to those on my machine. It might pop to 60% CPU and 40% HD rendering video, but only half that when doing audio. Open up the task manager though and the RAM usage is slamming the ceiling!

- N

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19128
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Thats it i am done, I am sorry, its been a good run folks.

Postby Acoustica Greg » Mon Jun 10, 2019 12:04 pm

Hi,

What do you mean when you say that RAM is slamming through the ceiling, exactly?

My point is that people with plenty of available RAM sometimes still have audio performance issues due to the other factors I've mentioned.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 760
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Thats it i am done, I am sorry, its been a good run folks.

Postby jlouvar » Mon Jun 10, 2019 1:27 pm

Most of my performance issues are due too user errors (boo boos), lol. :lol: :wink:
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests