Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Sound shown as vry loud

Support and feedback for Spin It Again.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

smokyken
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:12 pm
Location: Cosby, TN

Sound shown as vry loud

Postby smokyken » Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:07 pm

I've used SIA for years with no problem with amount of sound. Recently I had to reinstall SIA. Now the sound picture shows excess volume when copying from cassette tape. I haven't changed anything on the tape recorder and am using same tape. I even tried lowering the volume on the recording below what is recommended by the tape recorder. I have used the Leval Wizard. What is the problem?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 16809
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:24 pm

Hi,

How is the player attached to your computer? If you are using the microphone input on your computer, that could be the problem. Mic inputs have too much gain.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.
And our Mixcraft blog: Zeroes & Ones.

smokyken
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:12 pm
Location: Cosby, TN

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Postby smokyken » Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:42 pm

There have been no changes with the hook ups.
Ken

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 16809
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:50 pm

Hi,

Something must have changed. Double-check to make sure you're not using the microphone input. Can you control the output volume of the tape recorder?

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.
And our Mixcraft blog: Zeroes & Ones.

smokyken
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:12 pm
Location: Cosby, TN

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Postby smokyken » Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:03 am

I can only change the input on the tape recorder and as I said I lowered it more than recommended and lower than previously used. I use the line in input on the computer.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 16809
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Postby Acoustica Greg » Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:36 am

Hi,

What else could be different than before? What changed since the last time you were able to get a normal volume level?

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.
And our Mixcraft blog: Zeroes & Ones.

smokyken
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:12 pm
Location: Cosby, TN

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Postby smokyken » Fri Mar 17, 2017 11:50 am

The computer malfunctioned and all programs had to be re-entered and backup was also no good. Everything has been working fine except SIA.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 16809
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Postby Acoustica Greg » Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:03 pm

Hi,

Right-click on the small volume control icon in your Windows task bar and select "Recording Devices." Next, right-click on Line In or whatever you're recording from and select Properties. On the Levels tab, try reducing the recording volume level.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.
And our Mixcraft blog: Zeroes & Ones.

smokyken
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:12 pm
Location: Cosby, TN

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Postby smokyken » Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:42 pm

I did what you said. I reduced from 15 to 6, clicked OK twice and closed. I went back to level and it showed 6. I opened SIA and used level wizard. It showed green and some yellow. I closed when it said complete. I then recorded and recording wizard stayed in red and editing display still showed too loud. I then went back to input volume and it had jumped back up to 15.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 16809
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Postby Acoustica Greg » Fri Mar 17, 2017 2:33 pm

Hi,

Is there a manual volume control in the Level Wizard? Instead of using the Level Wizard, just set that.

siavolumecontrol.png
Spin It Again Volume control.
siavolumecontrol.png (27.99 KiB) Viewed 10048 times


Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.
And our Mixcraft blog: Zeroes & Ones.

smokyken
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:12 pm
Location: Cosby, TN

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Postby smokyken » Fri Mar 17, 2017 5:02 pm

No manual volume control.
Ken

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 16809
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Postby Acoustica Greg » Fri Mar 17, 2017 5:17 pm

Hi,

Then set the recording volume the other way and don't run the level wizard at all.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.
And our Mixcraft blog: Zeroes & Ones.

smokyken
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:12 pm
Location: Cosby, TN

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Postby smokyken » Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:11 am

Hi Greg,

What do you mean "the other way"? Other than using level wizard, I see no other way to control volume input.
Ken

smokyken
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:12 pm
Location: Cosby, TN

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Postby smokyken » Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:14 pm

Hi Greg,

I fooled around with SIA today and finally solved the problem. You open the level wizard, then open mixer, there you adjust the volume slide and use the level wizard. Record and volume level looks fine.

Ken

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 16809
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Sound shown as vry loud

Postby Acoustica Greg » Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:06 am

Hi,

By the other way, I meant via right-clicking on the Windows volume control icon as we discussed earlier in this thread.

Thanks for letting us know you were able to resolve the problem!

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.
And our Mixcraft blog: Zeroes & Ones.


Return to “Spin It Again”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests