Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Mixcraft Suggestions!

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

Anorax
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Acoustica Streaming Site With Special Privileges For Mixcraft Users

Postby Anorax » Sun Mar 03, 2019 12:05 am

TheHound wrote:Is it possible for Acoustica to create an advertising driven streaming site?
So... Spotify? Pandora? Apple Music? Sousorry, trying not to laugh Soundcloud?
Acoustica seems to care about musicians and songwriters. Currently artists are getting paid a fraction of what they deserve. Many of the streaming sites are no well liked for business practices.

An ad driven service could produce more revenue than a subscription site and it would not have to be subject to price wars or promotion costs as the artists will be doing the promotions.

Well... alright, the long and short of it is, streaming sites more or less have to bow to federal regulations when it comes to how much they can pay an artist per song. (That's not to say that they don't price gouge as much as they can - the obviously do, because capitalism, but the current payments are abysmal because by law they kind of have to be?)
Streaming is an absolute mess, and while it'd be absolutely stellar for Acoustica to open a streaming service, Acoustica would have a few hurdles to that: 1) server bandwidth for dealing with a lot of streaming data 2) receive enough revenue to cover server costs of said streaming data 3) receive enough revenue to also reimburse artists beyond the current minimum internet stream payment rates 4) receive licenses for all that music, because a successful streaming service will have to compete with Spotify, Apple Music, etc. who all have these massive music libraries that they've acquired through tons of legal contracts.

Not to shoot this down because it's a bad idea, because it's not, but it's very ambitious, as in "open a brand new company and start writing a prospectus in order to receive venture capital" ambitious.

daveiv wrote:You might want to get rid of the Kjaerhus plugins, or at least remove the sticker from their GUI in the near future.

http://forum.cakewalk.com/Anyone-know-what-happened-to-Kjaerhus-Audio-And-what-does-it-mean-for-VC64-Sonar-plugin-m2002630-p2.aspx

well. Shit. I liked it better when I thought Kjaerhus had died and passed away, now I find myself wishing that that had actually been the case.

User avatar
Ian Craig
Posts: 792
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Ian Craig » Tue Mar 05, 2019 10:04 am

I need a way (other than stacking instruments) of getting what I'm recording onto for example ten different tracks at the same time (I like improvising with giant sounds) in such a way as to only have to edit 1 copy of the notes i.e. have all the tracks use the same recorded notes in the same way as each track can accept the same send effects with the same settings. So it would be a 'Send Notes' menu option similar to the 'record all tracks automation' menu option
...
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio Build 418 (64bit)
AMD Ryzen Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (1st Gen, USB2).

bigaquarium
Posts: 408
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby bigaquarium » Tue Mar 05, 2019 10:14 am

Ian Craig wrote:I need a way (other than stacking instruments) of getting what....


Yesssss!

-N

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19138
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Acoustica Greg » Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:20 am

Ian Craig wrote:I need a way (other than stacking instruments) of getting what I'm recording onto for example ten different tracks at the same time (I like improvising with giant sounds) in such a way as to only have to edit 1 copy of the notes i.e. have all the tracks use the same recorded notes in the same way as each track can accept the same send effects with the same settings. So it would be a 'Send Notes' menu option similar to the 'record all tracks automation' menu option


Hi,

Have you played around with Route To Track? You can send the MIDI from multiple tracks to one track.

Image

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19138
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Acoustica Greg » Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:29 am

Hi,

You can also use Route To Track to send MIDI from one track to multiple other tracks: MX8 MIDI routing awesomeness.

That way, each track can have its own instrument, effect, panning, automation, etc.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Ian Craig
Posts: 792
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Ian Craig » Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:13 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

You can also use Route To Track to send MIDI from one track to multiple other tracks: MX8 MIDI routing awesomeness.

That way, each track can have its own instrument, effect, panning, automation, etc.

Greg


Brilliant Greg, I was hoping you might know how to do it. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. (Each thank you on it's own track obviously) :lol: :D :D :D
...
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio Build 418 (64bit)
AMD Ryzen Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (1st Gen, USB2).

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19138
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Acoustica Greg » Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:20 pm

Ian Craig wrote:Brilliant Greg, I was hoping you might know how to do it. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. (Each thank you on it's own track obviously) :lol: :D :D :D


You're welcome! That was kind of a stealth feature we added to Mixcraft 8. It was added so you can use tracks instead of lanes when working with multi-timbrel instruments like Kontakt, but it also obviously has other uses.
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

bigaquarium
Posts: 408
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby bigaquarium » Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:33 pm

Mark Bliss wrote:Anyway, bottom line, it's not really just the DAW developer at fault for the oddities you experience. It's in part a lack of standardization and the resultant variations in implementation.


Afternoon!

I suppose so, but when the Steinberg Model E presets don’t port over to MC, I think we can rule some of that out, lol. :P

The point isn’t to assign blame, but it would make MC even more wonderful for the novice if it went the extra mile to accommodate the presets, because very very few of them work.

-N

bigaquarium
Posts: 408
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby bigaquarium » Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:56 pm

Evening,

Being able to add automation values to individual notes in the same manner as say velocity and duration would be very handy, so you could assign filter envelope values that way for instance.

Maybe it’s time to absorb NightLife into Mixcraft like everything else and make the sequencer functions part of the DAW!

-N

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 765
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby jlouvar » Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:03 pm

bigaquarium wrote:Evening,

Being able to add automation values to individual notes in the same manner as say velocity and duration would be very handy, so you could assign filter envelope values that way for instance.

Maybe it’s time to absorb NightLife into Mixcraft like everything else and make the sequencer functions part of the DAW!

-N


You could slice out individual notes and add whatever you wanted, it would be time consuming but doable.
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19138
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Acoustica Greg » Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:08 pm

bigaquarium wrote:Being able to add automation values to individual notes in the same manner as say velocity and duration would be very handy, so you could assign filter envelope values that way for instance.


Hi,

You know about CC, right?

Image

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

bigaquarium
Posts: 408
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby bigaquarium » Wed Mar 06, 2019 6:01 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

You know about CC, right?


Hi, yes! I was going to ask you if you can route VSTi parameters like filter/resonance to the CC section?

-N

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6331
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Mark Bliss » Wed Mar 06, 2019 10:33 pm

bigaquarium wrote:
Mark Bliss wrote:Anyway, bottom line, it's not really just the DAW developer at fault for the oddities you experience. It's in part a lack of standardization and the resultant variations in implementation.


Afternoon!

I suppose so, but when the Steinberg Model E presets don’t port over to MC, I think we can rule some of that out, lol. :P

The point isn’t to assign blame, but it would make MC even more wonderful for the novice if it went the extra mile to accommodate the presets, because very very few of them work.


To be honest, I had to review what this was even about.... :lol:
Ok, I am not familiar with what a "Steinberg Model E" is, (except maybe that it could be a grand piano emulation. The "Model E" I am familiar with has no presets and needs several strong people to move. But it's a "SteinWAY" :lol: )
And I am not sure we are talking about the same thing anyway.
My comment was about how the DAW (host) usually provides a plug in "box" for the VST or VSTi GUI with an area for presets that often has no content, while the plug in GUI itself usually provides another built in preset area (of some sort or configuration, often baffling and unintuitive) that contains the plug-ins presets.
Every plug-in developer seems to have a different idea of how this should work and their own folder location to store their presets in. Without some form of standardization here, it would be pretty difficult for the host to do any better. And though my experience with other DAWs isn't very deep or extensive, I haven't seen where any do much better than any other in this regard. I could be wrong.
I suppose you could be implying Steinberg should be following the standard as well as it could be, since they developed it, but I have found their own plug ins to be just as randomly screwy (technical term) as any others. But I think maybe the "standard" simply didn't cover this aspect very well or something.
Last edited by Mark Bliss on Thu Mar 07, 2019 4:38 am, edited 2 times in total.
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
Ian Craig
Posts: 792
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby Ian Craig » Thu Mar 07, 2019 1:38 am

bigaquarium wrote:
Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

You know about CC, right?


Hi, yes! I was going to ask you if you can route VSTi parameters like filter/resonance to the CC section?

-N


Nathan,
if you look at Greg's picture example above double click where it says (131) at the bottom and you can manually enter any of the 128 CC numbers and it will be applied (I didn't know about this for ages either, as it is effectively hidden for some unknown reason). Presumably, though I don't remember trying it in the last couple of years, it will send out those CCs to external equipment (I'm pretty sure it does anyway). The only problem is that as there is no spline system, it involves manually adjusting each bar if you want to be precise, so that's probably why I don't remember. It's probably just easier to use the automation system, though that lacks precision also
...
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio Build 418 (64bit)
AMD Ryzen Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (1st Gen, USB2).

bigaquarium
Posts: 408
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Postby bigaquarium » Thu Mar 07, 2019 2:55 am

Ian Craig wrote:The only problem is that as there is no spline system, it involves manually adjusting each bar if you want to be precise, so that's probably why I don't remember. It's probably just easier to use the automation system, though that lacks precision also


Morning!

I wonder if you can hold <Shift> to at least get more precision when you are adjusting the bars, will have to try it out!

- N


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests