Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Amp Modeling?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

guitbuddy
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:44 pm

Amp Modeling?

Postby guitbuddy » Thu Jul 25, 2019 8:31 pm

Can anyone recommend high quality amp modeling vst for guitars.

{ that works with MX8 ]

thanks

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Amp Modeling?

Postby jlouvar » Thu Jul 25, 2019 9:37 pm

guitbuddy wrote:Can anyone recommend high quality amp modeling vst for guitars.

{ that works with MX8 ]

thanks


Click on +fx in Mixcraft 8 and checkout the Shred Amp Simulator.
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

guitbuddy
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: Amp Modeling?

Postby guitbuddy » Thu Jul 25, 2019 9:55 pm

Click on +fx in Mixcraft 8 and checkout the Shred Amp Simulator.

thanks . are you a guitarist? I recall really disliking that plugin.

I note I have amplitube in mx8. But I apparently just authorized it. Is it just a demo?

it says amplitube custom.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Amp Modeling?

Postby jlouvar » Thu Jul 25, 2019 10:07 pm

I like the Shred Amp Simulator... I'm mostly a bassist but I play guitar too, but I mostly use real amps. Hopefully some other Mixcraft forum members/users will have some good suggestion for you. Best wishes.
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Amp Modeling?

Postby bigaquarium » Fri Jul 26, 2019 12:13 am

.
Last edited by bigaquarium on Mon Aug 26, 2019 5:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1329
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: Amp Modeling?

Postby Rolling Estonian » Fri Jul 26, 2019 8:17 am

Amplitube is really good. I bought the Fender package and the twin is my go to right off the bat. Demo'd Bias, nice but just didn't like the layout and the workflow wasn't for me.

M

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6522
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Amp Modeling?

Postby Mark Bliss » Fri Jul 26, 2019 8:30 am

Rock/country folks have their prefferences, metal folks theirs, folk, probably others. Pop, etc, etc.
Good news is most offer free trial periods or free trial versions.
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

guitbuddy
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: Amp Modeling?

Postby guitbuddy » Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:07 am

thanks guys,

Looks like a lot of products are around 300 dollars TH-U etc. ouch. I recently bought entry level BIAS 2. good price. Got some good models, but I'm not blown away, yet. GUI, has big problems , too. Don't think I want to get caught in their upgrade loop.

Hence - looking at others.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Amp Modeling?

Postby jlouvar » Fri Jul 26, 2019 4:37 pm

guitbuddy wrote:thanks guys,

Looks like a lot of products are around 300 dollars TH-U etc. ouch.


That’s still much cheaper than most good tube guitar amps (Fender, Marshall, Mesa Boogie, etc).

I note I have amplitube in mx8.


Amplitube is a third partly plugin and doesn't come with MX8, so I don't know if you have a demo or full version, and I've never used it either... But there are a lot of video's for it on YouTube.

Anyway, I hope you find something cheap that you like.
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

Ampfixer
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 1:15 pm

Re: Amp Modeling?

Postby Ampfixer » Fri Jul 26, 2019 6:47 pm

S-Gear is an excellent amp sim. I have many and that's my go-to. I play guitar and I design and build amplifiers.

geobee
Posts: 271
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Australia

Re: Amp Modeling?

Postby geobee » Sun Jul 28, 2019 1:24 pm

Hi all, I must say, if it's convenience you want, amp modelling is ok, but from another amp builder here, you will not beat the sound of a nice little tube amp with a good mic in front of the speaker. Even better if you put a nice analogue effects unit before the amp. You will then stop searching and start playing. IMO.

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2404
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Amp Modeling?

Postby trevlyns » Sun Jul 28, 2019 2:27 pm

Just something different to throw into the equation...
I use a tiny Roland Micro Cube amp - got it off e-bay for like 40 quid. Huge selection of really nice tones and different amp models/FX. I get the sound I want; then jack from the headphone out direct to my audio interface. It works a treat! :D
Also have a Fender Champion 20 modeling amp - gets some great authentic Fender sounds, plus the usual Vox, Marshall and Messa ones too.
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website
Soundcloud
FaceBook

Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6522
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Amp Modeling?

Postby Mark Bliss » Sun Jul 28, 2019 2:40 pm

geobee wrote:Hi all, I must say, if it's convenience you want, amp modelling is ok, but from another amp builder here, you will not beat the sound of a nice little tube amp with a good mic in front of the speaker. Even better if you put a nice analogue effects unit before the amp. You will then stop searching and start playing. IMO.

Agreed.
If you are a player, with an amp (or amps) and have pretty much nailed down your desired sound, your gonna want to mic it up.
However, as a wanna-be producer, I want the flexibility of as many sounds as possible.
First preference? A miced up amp well recorded AND a DI split that can be re-amped in a number of ways, including quality amp sims and stomp sims if desired.
Therefore, the collection.... :D
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

MATTOROURKE
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:47 pm

Re: Amp Modeling?

Postby MATTOROURKE » Mon Jul 29, 2019 3:52 pm

Helix native

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6522
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Amp Modeling?

Postby Mark Bliss » Mon Jul 29, 2019 4:07 pm

Helix hardware was the first Line6 product that really made me go WOW! when I heard it. Sounded awesome to me. Havent experienced the plug in version, but have heard good things.
I have a friend with a Kemper amp modeler, and that thing is pretty cool.
But we are getting into some spendy stuff there.

I am a big fan of the low wattage tube amp and a mic thing though. 8)
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 32 guests