Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

float audio format

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan

frank_li
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 9:30 am

float audio format

Postby frank_li » Thu Jan 24, 2013 5:30 am

Hi,

where can I change the audio format for wave recording? (16 bit, 24 bit, 32 bit float)?

In the export dialog there seems to be not way to set the audio format to 32 bit float.

I would prefer to do all recording, exporting as 32 bit float, because in this format even overs will never damage your audio data.

Best regards

Frank

Vibrant Audio
Posts: 979
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:24 pm

Re: float audio format

Postby Vibrant Audio » Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:46 am

You can change the sampling and bit rate of your mixdown after clicking on Mix Down To...
Just click on the Edit Details... button.
MixDownDetails.png
MixDownDetails.png (36.41 KiB) Viewed 1415 times


By the way, the sample rate of 16 or 24 bit is different than the bit referred to in 32-bit floating point. Mixcraft uses 32-bit floating point for ALL the mixdown calculations, regardless of the sample rate.

For best audio just make sure you are mixing down to 24-bit.
*Vibrant Audio*

frank_li
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 9:30 am

Re: float audio format

Postby frank_li » Thu Jan 24, 2013 8:30 am

Vibrant Audio wrote:You can change the sampling and bit rate of your mixdown after clicking on Mix Down To...
Just click on the Edit Details... button.
I'm aware of that, but there is no setting for 32 bit float

Vibrant Audio wrote:By the way, the sample rate of 16 or 24 bit is different than the bit referred to in 32-bit floating point. Mixcraft uses 32-bit floating point for ALL the mixdown calculations, regardless of the sample rate.
The sample rate has absolutely nothing to do with the sample format.

Vibrant Audio wrote:For best audio just make sure you are mixing down to 24-bit.

This is not true, the float format is capable to save even overs without clipping, if you use an integer format like 16 or 24 bits any over will be clipped and the information is lost. In other words, if there are overs in your file that is saved as float, you can reload it decrease the volume and save it again. If it's saved as integer the audio is corrupted and you have to mix, record it again.

Regards

Frank

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13580
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: float audio format

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:32 am

Hi,

As Vibrant Audio mentioned, 32-bit floating point calculations are always used for audio in Mixcraft. There's no option to turn that on or off.

Greg

Vibrant Audio
Posts: 979
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:24 pm

Re: float audio format

Postby Vibrant Audio » Thu Jan 24, 2013 2:44 pm

frank_li wrote:I'm aware of that, but there is no setting for 32 bit float

Just covering the bases. I never know what someone has tried unless they specifically state it in the post.

frank_li wrote:The sample rate has absolutely nothing to do with the sample format.

Thank you for catching that - of course, I meant the sampling bit depth. My bad.

frank_li wrote:
Vibrant Audio wrote:For best audio just make sure you are mixing down to 24-bit.

This is not true, the float format is capable to save even overs without clipping, if you use an integer format like 16 or 24 bits any over will be clipped and the information is lost. In other words, if there are overs in your file that is saved as float, you can reload it decrease the volume and save it again. If it's saved as integer the audio is corrupted and you have to mix, record it again.

I am speaking of mixing down in Mixcraft, which only supports a bit depth of up to 24 bit.
*Vibrant Audio*

frank_li
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 9:30 am

Re: float audio format

Postby frank_li » Fri Jan 25, 2013 1:38 am

Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

As Vibrant Audio mentioned, 32-bit floating point calculations are always used for audio in Mixcraft. There's no option to turn that on or off.

Greg
This is not what I mean, I would like to be able to record and save in 32 bit IEEE float format.

Regards

Frank

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13580
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: float audio format

Postby Acoustica Greg » Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:52 am

Hi,

Is your audio recorded in that format? If not, what format is your audio recorded in?

Greg

frank_li
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 9:30 am

Re: float audio format

Postby frank_li » Sat Jan 26, 2013 9:00 am

Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

Is your audio recorded in that format? If not, what format is your audio recorded in?

Greg
With MixCraft 6 audio is recorded as 32 bit integer and mixed down as 24 bit integer.
It would be great if one could do booth in IEEE Float (0,24 Float Typ 3) as well.

Main reason is that any overs can not make the whole recording or mix-down unusable if samples are floats.

Best regards

Frank

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13580
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: float audio format

Postby Acoustica Greg » Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:37 pm

Hi,

Okay, thank you for your suggestion! I've logged it as a feature request so the software developers can review it when they are looking to add new features again.

For product update news, click "Like" on Mixcraft's Facebook page or sign up for the Acoustica Newsletter.

Greg


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kiran and 3 guests