Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

MX6 and MIDI Guitar software

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan

mobsens
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:31 am

MX6 and MIDI Guitar software

Postby mobsens » Thu Jan 24, 2013 2:20 pm

Hi all,

I just found this amazing piece of software at http://jamorigin.com/midi-guitar/vst.html
Testing now the trialversion with MX6 but does not get it to work.

How to get the MIDI code from software into the MIDI track?

You see guides for other DAWs but Mixcraft is unfortunately missing.

/Klas

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13711
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MX6 and MIDI Guitar software

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Jan 24, 2013 6:10 pm

Hi,

Here's what I did. I installed LoopMIDI, then set LoopMIDI as the output device in the standalone version of MIDI Guitar, and armed a Mixcraft instrument track for LoopMIDI on all channels (by clicking on the little arrow next to the Arm button).

Greg

mobsens
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:31 am

Re: MX6 and MIDI Guitar software

Postby mobsens » Fri Jan 25, 2013 1:12 am

Thanks Greg,
it works fine BUT with a bit to much latency.

I also asked Jamorigin, here is their reply(mail@jamorigin.com):
"
We havent heard of anyone else using MG with Mixcraft yet and
have no experience with it.
Try to first do with MG as you would do with any other *effect* plugin
(ie. a reverb or amp sim) and once it works with Test Piano, then load a
synth inside MG. After that you probably want to get midi out from MG
and into a pianoroll or something like that. I'm affraid i cant help
with the latter just yet, but status of today is that no VST supporting
DAW that we know of have turned out to require loopMIDI for this - after
careful examination - so most likely its possible.
"
Can you line out this methode also for MX6 for a lower latency?
eg, I cannot find a synth to load into MG.

Klas

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13711
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MX6 and MIDI Guitar software

Postby Acoustica Greg » Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:44 am

Hi,

In Mixcraft's sound device preferences, what do you have selected: Wave, ASIO or WaveRT? Which options are available? Try ASIO or WaveRT in exclusive mode for lower latency. Of course, if the latency is due to MIDI Guitar and LoopMIDI, then there's nothing that we can about that.

In regard to getting it working as a plugin in Mixcraft, I'll take another look at it next week.

Greg

mobsens
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:31 am

Re: MX6 and MIDI Guitar software

Postby mobsens » Sat Jan 26, 2013 1:05 am

Hi agai,

Yes , by further tuning I am now not so far from realtime MIDI performance:

1. First I adjusted the Pitch sensistivity and Pitch prediction to better match my Les Paul bridge pickup via my Focusrite 2i2 mixer.

2. Then I adjusted down buffersize to 133(3ms) in the Focusrite ASIO driver.

The sound of the different Acoustica becomes fantastic from the guitar and it would be interesting to see if a direct plugin would make the latency ever less unnoticeable.

I find MIDI Guitar combined with MX6 as necessary tools for the guitar&music lover,
for composing, training and, if you like and with some improvements, direct performance,
and this is only the Beta 0.52...

I suggest you directly contact Jamorigin (Ole Juul Kristensen) to make shure the Mixcraft plugin
gets into the manual as a winner from the start.

Klas

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13711
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MX6 and MIDI Guitar software

Postby Acoustica Greg » Mon Jan 28, 2013 3:49 pm

Hi,

What happens if you add MIDI Guitar as an effect on an audio track and then arm and record on a virtual instrument track?

I just put a guitar loop from Mixcraft's library on an audio track and added the MIDI Guitar effect to that track.

Greg

mobsens
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:31 am

Re: MX6 and MIDI Guitar software

Postby mobsens » Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:22 am

Hi,

Following you suggestion I can record guitar audio and same time the MIDI guitar recording BUT I cannot find a way to hear the realtime MIDI sound.
Sounds ok later in playback.

Klas

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13711
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MX6 and MIDI Guitar software

Postby Acoustica Greg » Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:25 am

Hi,

I was using recorded guitar. Maybe you need to turn on "Monitor Incoming Audio?"

Greg

Image

mobsens
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:31 am

Re: MX6 and MIDI Guitar software

Postby mobsens » Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:58 am

Hi,

That is not the problem, I tried all settings in MX6.
Still I just noticed that I can get some
realtime MIDI sound by editing the MIDIGuitar at fx button.
I can then select an instrument ( dll.file) under Audio Output.
If I chose a 3rd party dll its control panel shows up nicely
but with Acoustica Instrument dll I only get GrandPiano as default and no controlpanel.
Also I can only select one instrument at the time with this option.

The function you get with loopMIDI is the ideal one in fact.

Klas

mobsens
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:31 am

Re: MX6 and MIDI Guitar software

Postby mobsens » Thu Jan 31, 2013 7:18 am

Just installed new beta 0.6 with several improvements eg. speed, sensitivity and now with pitchbend support...

Try it out!

Klas

MIDIman Pete
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 7:34 pm

Re: MX6 and MIDI Guitar software

Postby MIDIman Pete » Wed Jan 28, 2015 7:55 pm

Hi all and big thanks to Greg for his solution on getting MidiGuitar to work with Mixcraft.
I'm currently using Mixcraft 7 on a Windows 7 64 bit and was getting very frustrated with trying to get MidiGuitar to work. For me it was the cheapest and easiest way to produce midi from my guitar without having to do what I had done years ago and that was to fit a Roland midi pickup and use a Roland midi device to do this.
Following Greg's instructions it worked straight away with the MidiGuitar demo. Now it's worth purchasing and Mixcraft is still the best, easiest and very reasonably priced music software ever.

AcousticaPete. :-)

P.S. If there's an update to this I would appreciate hearing about it.
e.g. Is it still necessary to use LoopMidi?

Anorax
Posts: 635
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: MX6 and MIDI Guitar software

Postby Anorax » Thu Jan 29, 2015 4:44 pm

MIDIman Pete wrote:Hi all and big thanks to Greg for his solution on getting MidiGuitar to work with Mixcraft.
I'm currently using Mixcraft 7 on a Windows 7 64 bit and was getting very frustrated with trying to get MidiGuitar to work. For me it was the cheapest and easiest way to produce midi from my guitar without having to do what I had done years ago and that was to fit a Roland midi pickup and use a Roland midi device to do this.
Following Greg's instructions it worked straight away with the MidiGuitar demo. Now it's worth purchasing and Mixcraft is still the best, easiest and very reasonably priced music software ever.

AcousticaPete. :-)

P.S. If there's an update to this I would appreciate hearing about it.
e.g. Is it still necessary to use LoopMidi?

While I'm unfamiliar with MidiGuitar, I'm assuming that, in regards to the JamOrigin email the original poster quoted, that yes, you still need LoopMIDI. Why? Because there is currently no way to sidechain MIDI, audio, etc. between tracks, which is what the email implies when the sender says "get MIDI out of MG and into Mixcraft". You can route MIDI commands to an effect, but to my knowledge you can't yet route it from an effect.
Image

MIDIman Pete
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 7:34 pm

Re: MX6 and MIDI Guitar software

Postby MIDIman Pete » Thu Feb 12, 2015 12:02 am

Thanks Anorax.
I won't say I fully understand the technicalities of your answer but do appreciate the fact that LoopMidi is still required.
Cheers.
MidiMan.
:roll:


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 2 guests

cron