Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

hi Eric and Greg

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

glennzottola
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:25 pm

hi Eric and Greg

Postby glennzottola » Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:32 pm

Glenn Zottola here and again thanks for all the help on my last 2 albums !!! Off to Namm tomorrow my instrument company that i endorse for is releasing a model of my trumpet mouthpiece along with Louie Armstrong and Dizzy Gillespie very exciting. I can't find my code so i downloaded Mixcraft 6 trial. I had all my MX 5 files in my portable hardrive as i had to restore my PC. When I loaded them in to Mixcraft 6 i saw titles but no audio tracks ? Will 6 read MX 5 or is there another problem ?

thanks Guys as always !

Glenn

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2117
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: hi Eric and Greg

Postby trevlyns » Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:06 am

Hi!

You can get your code here http://www.acoustica.com/cgi/getcodes.asp
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

My music is here

Official OFC™ Member

Win 7 pro 64 bit; MX7 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 2492
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm

Re: hi Eric and Greg

Postby Mark Bliss » Sun Jan 27, 2013 6:41 am

Hey Glenn,
MC5 projects work fine in MC6, (but not the other way around).
However, the filing system changed slightly between versions creating difficulty in direct import of MC5 projects into MC6. (Essentially MX6 is looking in the wrong place for the files).
The best way I found was to open the project file in MC5, use the "save project to folder" function, then open MC6 and navigate to the desired folder and open the project. This imports the project and the next time you "save" the project, it is renamed/converted to a MC6 project.
Hope that is explained well and helps!
Mark
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13194
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: hi Eric and Greg

Postby Acoustica Greg » Sun Jan 27, 2013 10:54 am

Hi Glenn,

The Mixcraft booth is 6428.

Stop by!


Greg

wildbil
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:28 am
Location: costa mesa, calif

Re: hi Eric and Greg

Postby wildbil » Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:35 pm

Hi all,
Hope I'm in the right place here. I created a project on my laptop. Battery was running low, so I copied it to a flash drive as an mx6 file. When I try to open it on my desktop well....
How do I open on my desktop?
Thanks,
bil
win7 64; Realtek ALC 889 sound card on MSI mobo; MC6 Pro; band in a box 2011; Gateway NV55S28U Laptop... it has Realtek onboard sound.

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2117
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: hi Eric and Greg

Postby trevlyns » Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:40 pm

Bil. if I read you correctly you want to move something from a flash to your desktop?

If you open "My Computer", the drive should show there. Open the drive and drag and drop or copy/paste the file to the desktop.

Hope this helps!

Trevor
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

My music is here

Official OFC™ Member

Win 7 pro 64 bit; MX7 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

wildbil
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:28 am
Location: costa mesa, calif

Re: hi Eric and Greg

Postby wildbil » Sat Feb 09, 2013 2:14 pm

Hi Trevor,

Thanks for the response. Here's my problem.

I've created a two track project on my laptop. Guitar on one track; my beautiful voice on the other. I saved it as BIL.mx6, copied it to flash drive and from there to my desktop computer.

When I try to open it on my desktop, for each track I get message "SOFTWARE IS SEARCHING FOR THE MISSING SOUND"

Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks,

bil
win7 64; Realtek ALC 889 sound card on MSI mobo; MC6 Pro; band in a box 2011; Gateway NV55S28U Laptop... it has Realtek onboard sound.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 2492
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm

Re: hi Eric and Greg

Postby Mark Bliss » Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:32 am

Hi Bill,
I suspect whats happening is that you used the "save as" function instead of "copy project files to" function.
If so, you arent transferring the actual sound files to the other computer. (I havent actually done the computer to computer transfer thing, so for me this is just theory)
But similar to transfering the project files from MC5 to MC6, (which I have some experience with!) You need to save the entire project, sound files, settings and all, and thats where the "copy project files to" function comes in. Use that, create a folder, transfer it to your memory stick, and transfer the folder to the other computer. Opening the project from that folder should work.

(Anybody? Am I missing something?)
Really hoping that was helpful......
Mark
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

wildbil
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:28 am
Location: costa mesa, calif

Re: hi Eric and Greg

Postby wildbil » Sun Feb 10, 2013 9:12 am

Hi Mark,
You are absolutely correct. I was doing save as.
Vibrant responded too... directed me to Eric's mini tip.

Here's the deal. The fans in my desktop computer, there must be a dozen, are noisy and my Yeti blue recorded 'em. So I bought a cheap laptop, installed MC6 Pro, set latency to 3ms, and moved my studio to the living room. It's quieter. No extra noise... just me, my strat and terrible voice.

I don't know why I do this.. but it's fun.

A great forum.
Thanks.
bil
win7 64; Realtek ALC 889 sound card on MSI mobo; MC6 Pro; band in a box 2011; Gateway NV55S28U Laptop... it has Realtek onboard sound.


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], shakin_fingers and 4 guests

cron