It is currently Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:40 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 7:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 7:25 am
Posts: 973
Location: Manitoba, Canada
In a nutshell: on my old computer I saved all my Mixcraft projects to one folder. That folder was transferred to the new computer. For the project using lots of IK Miroslav Philharmonic. I got an 'unable to retrieve data for' error. All the instances of Philharmonik were in the tracks, but the instrument settings (like what instrument was loaded) were not there so I have 40 tracks of midi data with blank Philharmonic VSTi's. Any ideas?

I haven't loaded Kontakt or Sample Tank yet so I don't know if the problem only applies to IK products or VSTs thart use 'racks' in general.

Luckily it is not a major disaster as I made a record of the instruments used so it'll only take a hour or so to repopulate all the Miroslavs.

_________________
Win 7 Pro, 3930K, Gigabyte Ga-X79-UP4, Corsair AX860i, 64GB gSkill 1600 RAM, 4 X 120 GB Intel 520 SSD, 1T & 2T WD caviar black, EVGA nVidea 560, Asus Xonar Essence STX jBridge, EWQL CCC, Kirk Hunter libs, Omnisphere
My Stuff: Mixcraft Live, Soundcloud


Last edited by chibear on Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 9:25 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 4:45 pm
Posts: 668
Hi there,

Is it possible that the sample data for the plugin was in a different folder on the old computer versus the new computer? Perhaps you have a different login/account name?

My guess is that the instrument saves the path of the sample data you've chosen to load, and on the new computer the plug-in can't find the data at that location and is giving you that error message.

For the record, we have no control over how a plug-in saves and/or restores it's data. That's entirely up to the plug-in. It gives us a block of save data and we write it to the project. This is true for all DAWs.

Thanks,
Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 9:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 7:25 am
Posts: 973
Location: Manitoba, Canada
That's what I was thinking too. I'll contact IK and post their reply (if there is one)

_________________
Win 7 Pro, 3930K, Gigabyte Ga-X79-UP4, Corsair AX860i, 64GB gSkill 1600 RAM, 4 X 120 GB Intel 520 SSD, 1T & 2T WD caviar black, EVGA nVidea 560, Asus Xonar Essence STX jBridge, EWQL CCC, Kirk Hunter libs, Omnisphere
My Stuff: Mixcraft Live, Soundcloud


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 5:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 7:25 am
Posts: 973
Location: Manitoba, Canada
After 6 emails I still have non-answers from IK Support. Makes me really appreciate our Acoustica guys who actually read your whole post and answer the given questions :)

Meanwhile. Mixcraft Projects with instances of the Kontakt Factory Libraries copied to the new computer and ran without incident. Third party libraries had to have the path re-established but the instruments were still there even in multis.

_________________
Win 7 Pro, 3930K, Gigabyte Ga-X79-UP4, Corsair AX860i, 64GB gSkill 1600 RAM, 4 X 120 GB Intel 520 SSD, 1T & 2T WD caviar black, EVGA nVidea 560, Asus Xonar Essence STX jBridge, EWQL CCC, Kirk Hunter libs, Omnisphere
My Stuff: Mixcraft Live, Soundcloud


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Posts: 1861
Good thing you didnt need any support from NI...........

_________________
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

Grace. Its not just for dinner!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 11:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 7:25 am
Posts: 973
Location: Manitoba, Canada
lol ya right! I had my experience with NI support on a shipping issue. Needless to say the experience didn't leave me smiling. Judging from their forums no one from support ever visits there either :|

_________________
Win 7 Pro, 3930K, Gigabyte Ga-X79-UP4, Corsair AX860i, 64GB gSkill 1600 RAM, 4 X 120 GB Intel 520 SSD, 1T & 2T WD caviar black, EVGA nVidea 560, Asus Xonar Essence STX jBridge, EWQL CCC, Kirk Hunter libs, Omnisphere
My Stuff: Mixcraft Live, Soundcloud


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 12:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:05 am
Posts: 806
Location: London, England
I suspect poor customer support is mainly down to arrogant college boys who have neurotic problems in relating to normal people.

Acoustica is the only software company I've experienced that supplies hands on support. For that alone it should receive an award.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 5:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 7:25 am
Posts: 973
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Quote:
Meanwhile. Mixcraft Projects with instances of the Kontakt Factory Libraries copied to the new computer and ran without incident. Third party libraries had to have the path re-established but the instruments were still there even in multis.


You can add IK Sample Tank to the list of VSTs that migrated in projects to the new computer intact with all their settings. Oddly Philharmonik is powered by a version of Sample Tank. Guess they missed something at IK.

_________________
Win 7 Pro, 3930K, Gigabyte Ga-X79-UP4, Corsair AX860i, 64GB gSkill 1600 RAM, 4 X 120 GB Intel 520 SSD, 1T & 2T WD caviar black, EVGA nVidea 560, Asus Xonar Essence STX jBridge, EWQL CCC, Kirk Hunter libs, Omnisphere
My Stuff: Mixcraft Live, Soundcloud


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 7:25 am
Posts: 973
Location: Manitoba, Canada
I changed the title to reflect what was going on. After 8 emails there finally is a work aroun so Miroslav owners take note for when you get a new computer:

from IK support:

"huh thats strange.. Never seen this. But the easy fix is this, put your Miro sounds in your Sampletank 2 instruments folder and use ST 2 to play all your sounds. Miro is just ST 2 with a different skin for the most part."

_________________
Win 7 Pro, 3930K, Gigabyte Ga-X79-UP4, Corsair AX860i, 64GB gSkill 1600 RAM, 4 X 120 GB Intel 520 SSD, 1T & 2T WD caviar black, EVGA nVidea 560, Asus Xonar Essence STX jBridge, EWQL CCC, Kirk Hunter libs, Omnisphere
My Stuff: Mixcraft Live, Soundcloud


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: