Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Sound Disappears

Support and feedback for Spin It Again.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Woko
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:51 am

Sound Disappears

Postby Woko » Mon Mar 25, 2013 7:06 am

I was merrily using SIA & had started a new recording when I realised I couldn't hear the record I was playing. (The Monitor box was ticked.) I also received a window from Microsoft telling me "Spin It Again - LP & Tape to CD archiving software has stopped working".

I've fiddled with Settings. I've uninstalled & reinstalled & uninstalled & downloaded & installed a free copy of SIA from Acoustica, all to no avail.

Next steps?

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13222
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Sound Disappears

Postby Acoustica Greg » Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:35 am

Hi,

Go into Spin It Again's Level Wizard and make sure you have the correct Soundcard setting selected.

Also go into your audio settings and make sure that you've got the correct Playback Device selected.

Greg

Woko
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:51 am

Re: Sound Disappears

Postby Woko » Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:38 am

Thanks, Greg.

Correct sound card was selected (Realtek High Definition Audio) & I've also tried Default Wave Device.
Correct playback device was selected from Control Panel > Sound > Playback.

Some additional information:

As well as the amp within the GRTT2 play deck I was using a Kaiser Baas Music Maker pre-amp. I notice that the green light on this device is no longer operating & I'm getting a window on my computer screen saying "USB Device Not Recognized".

When I remove Music Maker & plug the play deck directly into the line in socket at the back of my computer I'm able to record & hear the music simultaneously. However, I'm hearing an echo of the music & the quality of the playback, while without echo, is not nearly as good when Music Maker is part of the process.

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13222
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Sound Disappears

Postby Acoustica Greg » Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:28 pm

Hi,

Spin It Again can only record the audio if it's coming into your computer. If the pre-amp isn't putting out sound, then that's your problem.

With the other configuration, what do you have selected for the Soundcard and Source setting in Spin It Again's Level Wizard?

Greg

Woko
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:51 am

Re: Sound Disappears

Postby Woko » Wed Mar 27, 2013 2:56 am

Hi Greg

Soundcard: Realtek High Definition Audio.

Source: Realtek High Definition Audio.

I notice that the green light on the MusicMaker pre-amp is off. When I was able to record it was on. I strongly suspect the MusicMaker pre-amp is stuffed after just a few uses. I wonder if this is because it was overloaded due to using it in conjunction with the amp in the record player.

User avatar
Acoustica Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 5393
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: Sound Disappears

Postby Acoustica Eric » Sat May 18, 2013 9:39 am

That might be, maybe try to record a different unit like a cassette player that doesn't need a preamp, this would test your theory.


Return to “Spin It Again”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests