Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

mixcraft sugestions

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Viorel55
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 6:44 am

mixcraft sugestions

Postby Viorel55 » Tue Jul 02, 2013 10:01 am

Line must have a start marker!!

When I use to record several instruments

assigned to different channels (Takes mode) in loop playback mode, I can not

rebuild entire musical phrase that we have done, because the line does not have a

marker (number or time) from the beginning. I do not know where to fit the line

recorded!

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13188
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: mixcraft sugestions

Postby Acoustica Greg » Tue Jul 02, 2013 5:01 pm

Hi,

You could set a track marker by right-clicking in the timeline that runs across the top of Mixcraft.

Greg

Viorel55
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 6:44 am

Re: mixcraft sugestions

Postby Viorel55 » Thu Jul 04, 2013 9:43 am

I do not know too much English!
So I'll explain in a picture.
To recover what we recorded simultaneously, with two midi keyboards, each with an instrument, Where is the beginning of each sequence?
When start line 3 or 5, or ....?
And between those lines, there were blank lines, no signal!

That's my problem!

Thanks
Attachments
ScreenShot008.jpg
ScreenShot008.jpg (101.46 KiB) Viewed 1002 times

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2117
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: mixcraft sugestions

Postby trevlyns » Fri Jul 05, 2013 2:32 am

I think I see where you're heading, but a little more info please.

First, the graphic is not too clear, but it looks like you have a series of takes in the two tracks - is that right? Are you planning on using just one of those takes? Could you also detail how you recorded them - if they were recorded with the rest of the backing tracks, they should be in time, but if you can tell us exactly what you did I'm sure we can find an answer for you.

Also, those blank lanes, you can just delete them as they are empty. Click on the track and hit Alt + K - or right click the track and go Lanes>delete empty lanes.
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

My music is here

Official OFC™ Member

Win 7 pro 64 bit; MX7 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

Viorel55
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 6:44 am

Re: mixcraft sugestions

Postby Viorel55 » Fri Jul 12, 2013 10:36 pm

Sorry for the delay.
I'll describe my problem step by step below.

Settings

Time line->beats
Recording mode->takes
Instrument track 1->instrument(ex. piano)
Instruments->track 1->K49->Receive from midi channel 1->arm(arm track for recording)
Instrument track 2->instrument(ex. organ)
Instruments->track 2->E-Mu Xboard61->Receive from midi channel 1->arm
Track 3->from Library->Drums->a loop (ex.-Drum Beat 2)
Menu->Mix->Loop playback mode

Start recording, press the red button to record

Playing with one hand on K49 and with one hand on E_MU

Every track record puts a new line, one above the other, with the length
sequence of track3.

Track 1
line 1....(muted)-K49 activ
2 lines without K49
line 2....(muted)-K49 activ
1 line without K49
line 3....(muted)-K49 activ
so on
Track 2
line 1....(muted)-E-MU activ
line 2....(muted)-E-MU activ
line 3....(muted)-E-MU activ
3 lines without E-MU
line 4....(muted)-E-MU activ
so on

We see that if I do not play an instrument, the line is not written.

I want to restore music recordings, and arrange the lines one after another
Follows these sequences simultaneously:

Track 1->line 1-Line 2-Line 3-blank
Track 2->Line 1-Line 2-Line 3-Line 4
Track 3->loop -loop -loop -loop

But simultaneous recording should look like this:

Track 1->Line 1-blank -blank -line 2-blank-line 3-blank
Track 2->Line 1-line 2-line 3-blank -blank-blank -line 4
Track 3->loop -loop -loop -loop -loop -loop -loop

To respect its original form, each line must have a starting index, such as time or
beat, according as the time line set.

Thanks for your patience!

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm

Re: mixcraft sugestions

Postby Mark Bliss » Sat Jul 13, 2013 6:36 am

I am not sure I fully understand, and its not because of the language, these things are just hard to communicate about sometimes!

But my understanding is that you want to "comp" or edit the performance into linear music "phrases" and you are finding it difficult for several reasons.
It looks like you are recording two keyboard parts at once (bravo for you!) and the musical phrases are sometimes one keyboard, sometimes the second keyboard, and sometimes both playing at once. (Did I mention bravo? Well I guess its not that much dofferent than playing two handed parts on one keyboard. But hey, props to ya!)

But it also looks like you have one 4 bar drum loop, and five takes of keyboard 1 and 8 takes of keyboard 2 so its a little hard to understand what you are trying to do.

My first suggestion would be to change the way you record your tracks to make this much easier.

First, for this type of recording I would suggest starting with turning off both the takes function and looping functions.
Go to track 3 and multiply the drum loop out as many times as needed, or longer than your intended tune. Its easily edited later.
Now arm your two keyboard tracks and record your performance as a more linear recording instead of all those shorter clips stacked up.

Also, if editing, you could make some steps easier by linking your tracks to keep the timing together as you split and move phrases around if needed.

Once you are more comfortable with this, you could go back to looping and recording takes, but I would suggest that doing it on longer clips instead of stacking takes of short phrases on the short looping drum clip might make things a lot easier to manage.

I hope that was helpful!
Last edited by Mark Bliss on Sat Jul 13, 2013 7:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm

Re: mixcraft sugestions

Postby Mark Bliss » Sat Jul 13, 2013 7:10 am

Continued from above-

I just looked again and have further thoughts. The above may help you in the future, but it doesnt help fix what you have already recorded.

In your screen shot its not clear, but in the top center-set the snap to snap to measure.

Now, if I understand this to be the result you want:
Track 1->Line 1-blank -blank -line 2-blank-line 3-blank
Track 2->Line 1-line 2-line 3-blank -blank-blank -line 4
Track 3->loop -loop -loop -loop -loop -loop -loop

You want a total of 7 loops of what looks like a four bar (or measure) loop in your project, or a total of 28 bars. So first, add 6 more incidences of track three for a total of 7, it will end at bar 29.
Going to track 1, copy and paste (or drag) take 2 to begin at bar 13. Repeat with take 3 at bar 21.
Go to track 2, place take 2 right after 1, and take 3 right after take 2 and take 4 starting at bar 25.

Is that what you wanted?
While its cool we can work this way, I think you will find the recording method described above will make things much easier.
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

Viorel55
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 6:44 am

Re: mixcraft sugestions

Postby Viorel55 » Sat Jul 13, 2013 10:37 pm

Yes, you got it right!
It's like I would be accompanied by a drum machine or secvencer.
The program should have a secvencer synchronized with a drum machine!

Thanks Mark


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron