Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Help needed please. What is happening with loop keys?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

User avatar
davefk
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:47 am
Location: Liverpool UK
Contact:

Help needed please. What is happening with loop keys?

Postby davefk » Tue Jul 02, 2013 4:59 pm

Hi All

When I chose to add a loop to an empty track, lets say for example 'Latin Rock Organ 11 Phrase A' which is in the key of A minor, the software asks me if I want to change the project key and tempo to match the loop. All fine there. But, if I then go and change the project key to say 'B' then I expect the loop to play back in B minor (2 semitones up) but it plays back in G minor which is 2 semitones down....

Am I missing the point here? What is happening?

Thanks

Vibrant Audio
Posts: 979
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:24 pm

Re: Help needed please. What is happening with loop keys?

Postby Vibrant Audio » Tue Jul 02, 2013 6:27 pm

I did just as you described with the same loop and had no issues. Make sure it's set to "Adjust To Project Key" and that you don't change the key in the Sound tab.

Your Sound tab should show this:
SoundTab.png
SoundTab.png (13.53 KiB) Viewed 724 times
*Vibrant Audio*

User avatar
davefk
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:47 am
Location: Liverpool UK
Contact:

Re: Help needed please. What is happening with loop keys?

Postby davefk » Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:10 am

Vibrant Audio wrote:I did just as you described with the same loop and had no issues. Make sure it's set to "Adjust To Project Key" and that you don't change the key in the Sound tab.

Your Sound tab should show this:
SoundTab.png


Thanks for taking the time to help.

Ah right, OK, that makes sense! Changing the 'Project Key' does indeed work correctly and the sample will be in whatever key you change the project to. So what is the use of the 'Key' chooser on the 'Sounds' tab? How does that work in relation to the Project Key?

If your sample and project key are the same then no problems, but lets say you then change the sample to the key of 'B' from the sounds tab the sample ends up in the key of 'G' (-2 semitones) not 'B' (+ 2 semitones) why?

Vibrant Audio
Posts: 979
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:24 pm

Re: Help needed please. What is happening with loop keys?

Postby Vibrant Audio » Wed Jul 03, 2013 5:31 am

The Mixcraft manual says,
Assuming that the key of the sound is correct, you can change the key of a sound by adding markers with key changes and/or by changing the project's key. You do not need to change the key of the sound on the Sound tab, but, instead, you should change the project key or add key change markers! In short, if you want to change the key of a sound, change the project key! Changing the key of a sound should only be done if the detected key is wrong!

If the sound's key is wrong, you can adjust it via the "Key" drop down control. The original detected key will show up with an * next to it, in case you need to restore the original detected key.

The developers put the Key drop down control in the Sound tab to allow users to change the detected key of a sound, if for some reason it is wrong. For example, I have come across some acidized loops that the loop creator mistakenly tagged in the wrong key.
*Vibrant Audio*

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 2614
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Re: Help needed please. What is happening with loop keys?

Postby outteh » Wed Jul 03, 2013 5:36 am

So what is the use of the 'Key' chooser on the 'Sounds' tab? How does that work in relation to the Project Key?

If your sample and project key are the same then no problems, but lets say you then change the sample to the key of 'B' from the sounds tab the sample ends up in the key of 'G' (-2 semitones) not 'B' (+ 2 semitones) why?

I beleive that the key annotation on the sound tab is the original key of the song (if you don't change it) which is why it has a little asterik next to it. When you set the sound tab to allow the track to Adjust To The Project Key it changes the key of the project but does not update the key tab. How are you determining the semitones up or down adjustment?

User avatar
davefk
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:47 am
Location: Liverpool UK
Contact:

Re: Help needed please. What is happening with loop keys?

Postby davefk » Wed Jul 03, 2013 8:08 am

outteh wrote:
So what is the use of the 'Key' chooser on the 'Sounds' tab? How does that work in relation to the Project Key?

If your sample and project key are the same then no problems, but lets say you then change the sample to the key of 'B' from the sounds tab the sample ends up in the key of 'G' (-2 semitones) not 'B' (+ 2 semitones) why?

I beleive that the key annotation on the sound tab is the original key of the song (if you don't change it) which is why it has a little asterik next to it. When you set the sound tab to allow the track to Adjust To The Project Key it changes the key of the project but does not update the key tab. How are you determining the semitones up or down adjustment?



By just playing the chord on the keyboard....


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests