Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Recording Volume Level

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

MxUtAfro
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:36 am
Location: Swaziland, Southern Africa
Contact:

Recording Volume Level

Postby MxUtAfro » Sun Jul 21, 2013 7:14 am

Hello all!

I just want to ask everyone the steps for having a "Good" Volume Level for recording. I am confused between the two volumes: one from the MIXER and that of MIXCRAFT track. Which one do you start with. Do you start adjusting the GAIN on the MIXER first then the Volume level on Mixcraft Track? Which one come first? As for the Track, what is the maximum level one should not exceed to avoid audio distorsion? 50%?
Thanks for helping me.
Jeff

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2117
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Recording Volume Level

Postby trevlyns » Sun Jul 21, 2013 9:35 am

Hi!

I'll get the ball rolling. By "MIXER", I assume you mean an external mixer (as opposed to the mixer tab in Mixcraft?)

I use an external mixer and the way I do it is as follows.

My rule of thumb is to adjust levels from the start of the signal path, forward. So whether its a mic or guitar you have plugged in, play (or sing) a passage at the loudest volume you're likely to use in the song and adjust the gain or trim knob on the mixer so that it only peaks or illuminates very occasionally. My mixer goes into my audio interface so I would then adjust its input level in the same manner - just avoiding the clipping light. Maybe yours has AD/DA converters and goes straight to your computer - that's fine. Now arm your track in Mixcraft and check the loud parts aren't pushing the meter into the red.

More important though is the master track meter (on the right in the mixer tab). As you add tracks, they sum to the master and its possible with a few tracks, that the summed master starts pushing into the red. That you want to avoid at all costs. Adjust by lowering the master fader.

The beauty of digital audio is headroom so you don't need the level running "hot" or approaching 0 db. I try and keep mine between -12 and -6 db for the peaks. If you like loud, turn up your monitors :D

Well, that's my 2 cents worth, let's hear from the others.

Hope this helps!
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

My music is here

Official OFC™ Member

Win 7 pro 64 bit; MX7 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

MxUtAfro
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:36 am
Location: Swaziland, Southern Africa
Contact:

Re: Recording Volume Level

Postby MxUtAfro » Sun Jul 21, 2013 10:00 am

Dear Trevlyns,
That is exactly what I wanted. Thanks for this "Five cents" help. It actually worth more :)
Regards,
Jeff

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2117
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Recording Volume Level

Postby trevlyns » Sun Jul 21, 2013 10:13 am

Pleasure, Jeff

Hey, just noticed, I was born and brought up just south of you in Kwa Zulu Natal.

Take care!
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

My music is here

Official OFC™ Member

Win 7 pro 64 bit; MX7 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

MxUtAfro
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:36 am
Location: Swaziland, Southern Africa
Contact:

Re: Recording Volume Level

Postby MxUtAfro » Sun Jul 21, 2013 10:41 am

Hi Trevor,
Good to hear that you are from KZN. Was it in Durban? How often do you visit your place of birth?
Regards,
Jeff

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2117
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Recording Volume Level

Postby trevlyns » Sun Jul 21, 2013 1:15 pm

Yeah, Durban boy! Emigrated to the UK 10 years back and family are either here or in New Zealand.

Just a few friends back home but haven't been back, sadly.
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

My music is here

Official OFC™ Member

Win 7 pro 64 bit; MX7 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron