Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Mixcraft and bad plugins

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 2837
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Mixcraft and bad plugins

Postby outteh » Mon Aug 26, 2013 5:39 am

I had an incident this weekend with Mixcraft 6 Pro (current version). I had a track that I used a third party plugin on and it prevented Mixcraft from shutting down. I used the log to track down the bad plugin, removed it from the track, but Mixcraft still would not close. I ended up removing the plugin from the VST folder completely and it cleared up the issue. Now the question becomes, if I told Mixcraft not to use the plugin (by removing it from the track) why would the project still want to use it (load it)? (Could it be the back up versions of the project still had the bad plugin loaded to the track?) I know that all plugin directories are scaned and loaded at start up, but if the project does not use it, why would it prevent a project from closing. By the way, the project saved fine, Mixcraft would just not shut-down. I had to manually stop the process. :?

gypsy101
Posts: 2211
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: near Music City,USA

Re: Mixcraft and bad plugins

Postby gypsy101 » Mon Aug 26, 2013 5:49 am

I think so because I've had plug-ins that I've removed from the vst file & it's still tried to load it when going back to that song.it never kept MC from shutting down though.
Last edited by gypsy101 on Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
bbdrmz
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 10:30 pm
Location: Swartz Creek, Mi.
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft and bad plugins

Postby bbdrmz » Tue Aug 27, 2013 3:39 pm

Don't use cracked plug's?:evil:
"I am thankful to all those who said no. It's because of them I did it myself."
Albert Einstein


Win-7
ASUS M5A99X
AMD fx-8350 eight core
32-GB DDR3 RAM

jlouvar
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: Santa Rosa, CA - USA

Re: Mixcraft and bad plugins

Postby jlouvar » Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:01 pm

Also please note that Mixcraft can only use 32bit plug-ins.

See 0.17 to 0.20 of this tutorial video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D743kG2g6nQ

Cheers,
Joe

User avatar
chibear
Posts: 1281
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 7:25 am
Location: Manitoba, Canada

Re: Mixcraft and bad plugins

Postby chibear » Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:37 am

One other thing to mention: If your plugins are wrapped, the plugin may crash, but Mixcraft will be unaffected by that crash other than the track that contained the dodgy VST will be emptied of the VST and have to be reloaded.
Win 7 Pro, 3930K, Gigabyte Ga-X79-UP4, Corsair AX860i, 64GB gSkill 1600 RAM, 5 X 120 GB Intel 520 SSD, 1T & 2T WD caviar black, EVGA nVidea 560, Asus Xonar Essence STX EWQL CCC, Kirk Hunter libs, Omnisphere
Soundcloud

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 2837
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft and bad plugins

Postby outteh » Wed Aug 28, 2013 8:37 am

Great responses! Thanks. Still curious as to why Mixcraft would hang open and not close? It didn't crash, just sat there, no response (windows indicated the applicaton stopped responding). Any insight Acoustica?

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13780
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft and bad plugins

Postby Acoustica Greg » Wed Aug 28, 2013 11:15 am

Hi,

It's hard to say what happened without more information. Mixcraft will attempt to remove plugins from memory when you exit Mixcraft, so maybe this plugin wasn't cooperating. It's interesting that it still happened after you removed the plugin from the track, but maybe something was still hanging around in RAM. Restarting your computer would likely have corrected that.

Greg


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests