It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:10 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: MIDI note duration?
PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 7:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:34 pm
Posts: 77
I didn't know how else to head it.
In MC5: (I'm upgrading soon!) using Superior Drummer 2.0- I want a bass drum hit with a cymbal crash-followed by a two hit bass drum with a two hit cymbal choke/mute-accent-whatever the term-typical rock/metal stuff. But the crash is not stopping. I've shortened the crash midi info. It sounds "rings" over the two beat accents. I've decreased crash velocity. I've made a volume track envelope. I put the crash on it's own track. I made a crash midi envelope. I just want the two accents sharp-nice and quiet! :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MIDI note duration?
PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 2:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:24 pm
Posts: 914
It's going to depend on the kit and samples that you have loaded. For instance, in EZDrummer, there's a Crash A that rings out and a Crash A Muted that chokes the hit. The length of the sample before the choke varies from kit to kit. It will be the same in Superior Drummer.

Also, maybe some of the talk in this thread will help you:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=14483

_________________
*Vibrant Audio*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MIDI note duration?
PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:34 pm
Posts: 77
Vibrant Audio wrote:
It's going to depend on the kit and samples that you have loaded. For instance, in EZDrummer, there's a Crash A that rings out and a Crash A Muted that chokes the hit. The length of the sample before the choke varies from kit to kit. It will be the same in Superior Drummer.

Also, maybe some of the talk in this thread will help you:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=14483



Very true! In EZD Rock Solid has a lot of compression (but adjustable). With my problem instead of the crash stopping when the choke sounded it rings through the chokes. If I shorten the crash it sounds over the choke midi clips.
Thanks for the link. I did try adding a second crash and lowering the velocity-didn't work. BUT I did find something that worked! A simple gate. For now the gate is on the complete drum track. But in MC6 I can just have the gate on the crash track. For now I might put a gate on the intro crashes only because that's where the accents are. The rest of the song is fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MIDI note duration?
PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 2:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Posts: 1462
Location: near nashville
or add a separate track just for the choked cymbals & gate that.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/rlc-ltd
http://www.reverbnation.com/rlcltd


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MIDI note duration?
PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:34 pm
Posts: 77
gypsy101 wrote:
or add a separate track just for the choked cymbals & gate that.


True! That's why I love digital. Endless tracks!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MIDI note duration?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 2:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:34 pm
Posts: 77
OK-forget what I said about the gate :roll: What seemed to be a good idea at 3 A.M.-well.....
@ Vibrant Audio: I took what you said and applied it to the Avatar kit. For example in the piano roll view key G2 is Crash5. Key Bb4 is Crash5 Choke/Mute-no gate needed!! :D
I was on the other side in SD trying to set different articulations on the same midi note :oops:
Not knowing much about MIDI-I thought I had to keep the info (beats) all on the same line. Have I confused everyone???? No charge! :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MIDI note duration?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:34 pm
Posts: 77
2:06 A.M. EST and I think I got it sussed!! From all of my ramblings and early morning experiments to others pitchin' in (thanx guys): Setting the Envelope in Superior Drummer 2 did it-period! :idea: No gate needed! Of course Envelope settings will vary from person to person-style/project. MC and SD are some powerful tools!!! If they ever become self aware and learn how to nuke Hot Pockets we are in T-rouble!!! :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: