Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

MIDI note duration?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan

User avatar
BLS
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:34 pm

MIDI note duration?

Postby BLS » Sun Oct 20, 2013 7:55 am

I didn't know how else to head it.
In MC5: (I'm upgrading soon!) using Superior Drummer 2.0- I want a bass drum hit with a cymbal crash-followed by a two hit bass drum with a two hit cymbal choke/mute-accent-whatever the term-typical rock/metal stuff. But the crash is not stopping. I've shortened the crash midi info. It sounds "rings" over the two beat accents. I've decreased crash velocity. I've made a volume track envelope. I put the crash on it's own track. I made a crash midi envelope. I just want the two accents sharp-nice and quiet! :twisted:

Vibrant Audio
Posts: 979
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:24 pm

Re: MIDI note duration?

Postby Vibrant Audio » Sun Oct 20, 2013 2:06 pm

It's going to depend on the kit and samples that you have loaded. For instance, in EZDrummer, there's a Crash A that rings out and a Crash A Muted that chokes the hit. The length of the sample before the choke varies from kit to kit. It will be the same in Superior Drummer.

Also, maybe some of the talk in this thread will help you:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=14483
*Vibrant Audio*

User avatar
BLS
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:34 pm

Re: MIDI note duration?

Postby BLS » Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:04 pm

Vibrant Audio wrote:It's going to depend on the kit and samples that you have loaded. For instance, in EZDrummer, there's a Crash A that rings out and a Crash A Muted that chokes the hit. The length of the sample before the choke varies from kit to kit. It will be the same in Superior Drummer.

Also, maybe some of the talk in this thread will help you:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=14483



Very true! In EZD Rock Solid has a lot of compression (but adjustable). With my problem instead of the crash stopping when the choke sounded it rings through the chokes. If I shorten the crash it sounds over the choke midi clips.
Thanks for the link. I did try adding a second crash and lowering the velocity-didn't work. BUT I did find something that worked! A simple gate. For now the gate is on the complete drum track. But in MC6 I can just have the gate on the crash track. For now I might put a gate on the intro crashes only because that's where the accents are. The rest of the song is fine.

gypsy101
Posts: 2211
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: near Music City,USA

Re: MIDI note duration?

Postby gypsy101 » Mon Oct 21, 2013 2:21 am

or add a separate track just for the choked cymbals & gate that.

User avatar
BLS
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:34 pm

Re: MIDI note duration?

Postby BLS » Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:09 am

gypsy101 wrote:or add a separate track just for the choked cymbals & gate that.


True! That's why I love digital. Endless tracks!!

User avatar
BLS
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:34 pm

Re: MIDI note duration?

Postby BLS » Tue Oct 22, 2013 2:20 pm

OK-forget what I said about the gate :roll: What seemed to be a good idea at 3 A.M.-well.....
@ Vibrant Audio: I took what you said and applied it to the Avatar kit. For example in the piano roll view key G2 is Crash5. Key Bb4 is Crash5 Choke/Mute-no gate needed!! :D
I was on the other side in SD trying to set different articulations on the same midi note :oops:
Not knowing much about MIDI-I thought I had to keep the info (beats) all on the same line. Have I confused everyone???? No charge! :wink:

User avatar
BLS
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:34 pm

Re: MIDI note duration?

Postby BLS » Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:19 pm

2:06 A.M. EST and I think I got it sussed!! From all of my ramblings and early morning experiments to others pitchin' in (thanx guys): Setting the Envelope in Superior Drummer 2 did it-period! :idea: No gate needed! Of course Envelope settings will vary from person to person-style/project. MC and SD are some powerful tools!!! If they ever become self aware and learn how to nuke Hot Pockets we are in T-rouble!!! :shock:


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest