Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Cannot download version 217.

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

User avatar
M@rkus
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:20 am
Location: Sweden

Cannot download version 217.

Postby M@rkus » Thu Oct 24, 2013 6:29 am

I can´t seem to download version 217. At the moment I´m running version 213. When I check for updates, I see that there is a newer version, so I download that, and that seems to work ok (left box).
But when it is finished downloading I get a new message (box to the right) that says "Please save and close Mixcraft. Try again to download".
In the top header it still says version 213!

Any suggestions?

Mixcraft.JPG
Mixcraft.JPG (41.93 KiB) Viewed 1410 times
M@rkus/
Sweden
1. HP Pavilion DV6 Notebook PC, AMD A6-3410 MX APU, 1,60 Ghz, 8 gb RAM, Win 7 ultimate 64 bit. Mixcraft 6, Ampliube 3, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
2. Asus AMD FX-4100 Quad core 3.60 Ghz, 8 GB ram, Win 7/64 Ultimate SP 1.

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 2594
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Re: Cannot download version 217.

Postby outteh » Thu Oct 24, 2013 6:45 am

Once the download action starts to happen, close Mixcraft, let the download finish and then run the install. See if this helps. :)

User avatar
M@rkus
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:20 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Cannot download version 217.

Postby M@rkus » Thu Oct 24, 2013 6:53 am

Thanks! That did the trick!
M@rkus/
Sweden
1. HP Pavilion DV6 Notebook PC, AMD A6-3410 MX APU, 1,60 Ghz, 8 gb RAM, Win 7 ultimate 64 bit. Mixcraft 6, Ampliube 3, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
2. Asus AMD FX-4100 Quad core 3.60 Ghz, 8 GB ram, Win 7/64 Ultimate SP 1.

User avatar
M@rkus
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:20 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Cannot download version 217.

Postby M@rkus » Thu Oct 24, 2013 7:28 am

I´ve succeded in downloading version 217, but this seems to have caused new problems...Songs that worked fine with version 213 are now filled with distortion durin playback. Is there any possibility to change back to version 213?
M@rkus/
Sweden
1. HP Pavilion DV6 Notebook PC, AMD A6-3410 MX APU, 1,60 Ghz, 8 gb RAM, Win 7 ultimate 64 bit. Mixcraft 6, Ampliube 3, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
2. Asus AMD FX-4100 Quad core 3.60 Ghz, 8 GB ram, Win 7/64 Ultimate SP 1.

mick
Posts: 582
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:33 am

Re: Cannot download version 217.

Postby mick » Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:08 am

Try this:.
If you did the update its a patch possibly for V 216? Make sure you have the installation code handy, then remove Mixcraft altogether and download a complete fresh Version 217. My V217 works fine. You appear to have missed a few updates inbetween 213 and 217.
Going back to an older install means doing a system restore just before the update, if you do then be sure to save your files on a disc partition or usb device.
SAVE SAVE SAVE!
Last edited by mick on Thu Oct 24, 2013 9:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
M@rkus
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:20 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Cannot download version 217.

Postby M@rkus » Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:56 am

It seems I can´t restore my computer to an earlier time due to lack of restore points! Is it possible to download version 213 somewhere? If so, do I have to uninstall mixcraft alltogether first?
M@rkus/
Sweden
1. HP Pavilion DV6 Notebook PC, AMD A6-3410 MX APU, 1,60 Ghz, 8 gb RAM, Win 7 ultimate 64 bit. Mixcraft 6, Ampliube 3, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
2. Asus AMD FX-4100 Quad core 3.60 Ghz, 8 GB ram, Win 7/64 Ultimate SP 1.

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13188
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Cannot download version 217.

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Oct 24, 2013 9:07 am

Hi,

Nothing was changed in build 217 that would add distortion to a project from build 213 as far as we know. If there is a problem, we would like to know about it. No one else has reported any problems like this and we haven't detected any here. Can you tell us more about this distortion? What kind of distortion is it? Is it clipping distortion due to the volume being too high? Does it occur on all tracks? Does it only occur when you play the sound in Mixcraft? Is the distortion in mixed down files?


Greg

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 2594
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Re: Cannot download version 217.

Postby outteh » Thu Oct 24, 2013 9:10 am

Also, recheck your audo interface settings and your Mixcraft preference settings to ensure they are what you used before.

User avatar
M@rkus
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:20 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Cannot download version 217.

Postby M@rkus » Thu Oct 24, 2013 9:46 am

I´ve played through three songs that worked fine with build 213, and two of them won´t play properly now. On theese two I have used Amplitube 3. As I have mentioned before I have the free version of Amplitube 3, which for some reason also won´t pan properly.

I think my problem now also has to do with Amplitube. When I muted 6 tracks of solo guitars (recorded with Amplitube)on one song, Mixcraft froze on me, and I had to close down and start again.

The distortion is there from the start of the song (perhaps not as much distortion as "pops", but when I reach the guitar solos after about 1.30 min heavy distortion appears, and the song slows down gradually until it almost comes to a halt. When I´m past the guitar solos (after ap. 15-20 sec), the song speeds up again, but now with a little more distortion than in the beginning.

The song that still works fine was recorded without Amplitube. But something happened after my update today to build 217, that caused (Amplitube?) problems, because it wasn´t like this yesterday.

I´ve checked my settings and it´s the same as they were before (ASIO, Force single CPU, Focuserite soundcard). I tried different settings, but to no avail. Perhaps I should contact Amplitube to ask them if there are problems with the free version?
M@rkus/
Sweden
1. HP Pavilion DV6 Notebook PC, AMD A6-3410 MX APU, 1,60 Ghz, 8 gb RAM, Win 7 ultimate 64 bit. Mixcraft 6, Ampliube 3, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
2. Asus AMD FX-4100 Quad core 3.60 Ghz, 8 GB ram, Win 7/64 Ultimate SP 1.

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13188
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Cannot download version 217.

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Oct 24, 2013 10:21 am

Hi,

Have you tried simply restarting your computer since this problem started happening? If not, try that.

If that's no help, check and make sure you've got the latest update for Amplitube in case they've issued any bug fixes.

On the Mixcraft side of things, are you sure you need to have "Force Single CPU" selected? What happens if you uncheck that option?

Greg

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 2594
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Re: Cannot download version 217.

Postby outteh » Thu Oct 24, 2013 10:32 am

There are several posts throughout the web discussing noise problems with Ampltide 3 on various DAW's and OS's. Try removing the amplitude effect from your track(s) and see if the problem goes away. If so, it is the amplitube plugin. Now, you could try a reinstall of amplitube with the latest version (make sure it is the 32bit version) and see if this helps clear up the issue.

User avatar
M@rkus
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:20 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Cannot download version 217.

Postby M@rkus » Fri Oct 25, 2013 9:11 am

This is a nightmare...
I updated Amplitube 3, and could after a couple of hours authorize it, but I haven´t been able to find it under my VST plugins. Anyway, when I now open Mixcraft it won´t load properly, I get the following message...
Mixcraft2.JPG
Mixcraft2.JPG (43.42 KiB) Viewed 1314 times


Also other .dll files are missing such as;
Qtsug4.dll
phonon4.dll
QtCore4.dll
Qtgui4.dll
Qtnetwork4.dll
Libeay32.dll

I reinstalled Mixcraft 217, but still the same missing .dll files are showing. What do I do now? Any suggestions?
M@rkus/
Sweden
1. HP Pavilion DV6 Notebook PC, AMD A6-3410 MX APU, 1,60 Ghz, 8 gb RAM, Win 7 ultimate 64 bit. Mixcraft 6, Ampliube 3, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
2. Asus AMD FX-4100 Quad core 3.60 Ghz, 8 GB ram, Win 7/64 Ultimate SP 1.

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13188
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Cannot download version 217.

Postby Acoustica Greg » Fri Oct 25, 2013 9:22 am

Hi,

These errors indicate that Mixcraft is coming across some DLL files that aren't VST plugins. Download the attached file, right-click to unzip it, then run the .reg file that's inside. Give Windows permission to modify the registry, then open up Mixcraft. In Mixcraft's Plug-Ins preferences, click on Edit VST/VSTi Folders and remove any folders that aren't actually VST folders. Generally, VST folders will have "VST" in the pathname, but once in a while, a non-plugin folder will have VST in the name, so remove those as well.

When you've got it the way you want it, put a check mark next to "Load VST Effects and Instruments" and see if Mixcraft launches correctly.

When you installed Amplitube, did you install the 32-bit version? Which folder did you install it to?


Greg
Attachments
mixcraft6VSToff.zip
(292 Bytes) Downloaded 63 times

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 2594
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Re: Cannot download version 217.

Postby outteh » Fri Oct 25, 2013 9:26 am

Mixcraft is looking in various locations for VST's and obviously searching in some wrong locations. In Mixcraft preferences make sure the file locations it is searching in are only the ones where your VST's are located. Then shut down and startup Mixcraft. If this clears up the problem, you can then put in the file location where your amplitube vst's were installed and it should pick them up after a rescan.

(Greg got to you before me - follow his lead). :)

User avatar
M@rkus
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 6:20 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Cannot download version 217.

Postby M@rkus » Fri Oct 25, 2013 9:48 am

Hi Greg!

Thanks for your help! I did what you said, and now Amplitube is gone from my VST-plugins. I still get the same error message though when I open Mixcraft. Also, how/where do I find "Mixcraft's Plug-Ins preferences", when in Mixcraft?
All the missing .dll files seems to belong to Amplitube.
This is how it looks;
Mixcraft3.JPG
Mixcraft3.JPG (69.24 KiB) Viewed 1308 times

I think I must have updated the 32-bit version, but I will check to make sure.
M@rkus/
Sweden
1. HP Pavilion DV6 Notebook PC, AMD A6-3410 MX APU, 1,60 Ghz, 8 gb RAM, Win 7 ultimate 64 bit. Mixcraft 6, Ampliube 3, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
2. Asus AMD FX-4100 Quad core 3.60 Ghz, 8 GB ram, Win 7/64 Ultimate SP 1.


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], outteh and 3 guests