It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 5:31 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 2:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Posts: 1898
Location: near Music City,USA
(I do have a support ticket in)

ok,I'm working on a rock song Shadows In The Dark. I also have a blues song called Back 2 The Blue.
I was doing some backing vocal dubs(1 track) for S.I.T.D. and had all other tracks frozen but I needed to lower the rythym guitar track a bit so I un-froze it but when I did it replaced that track w/ the bass track from B2TB. :shock:

SITD is 160bpm & in the key of Em but the bass track it inserted was 66bpm & like a dropped G key.
it also seemed to have looped it. it's also using the same Shredamp & reverb fx I was using for the guitar track (if that means anything).
here's the scrren caps of the sounds tab & the main tracks view.
Image

Image

see in pic 1 it says "merge clip 3.wav". I have no clue how it did this.

my questions-
1) where did the guitar track go? is it saved in a backup somewhere?

2) rather than drag out my external HD & try to retrieve just that rythym guitar file I'll probably redo it but I'd like to know what happened,how to avoid it again,& how to fix it if it does.

this has bever happened before & I've been using Mixcraft since version 2 so it's got me stumped.
:?

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/rlc-ltd
http://www.reverbnation.com/rlcltd


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 8:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Posts: 2101
Location: San Antonio, TX
Probably too late but did you try and hit the undo button after it happened to see if it would restore back to the correct frozen track? Can you open a previous version of the song OK (Mixcraft backups versions in the project file). :?: :cry:

_________________
Tom
Mixcraft Live , Soundcloud

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 9:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 6:50 am
Posts: 247
Maybe you accidentally hit some keyboard shortcut 8)
Happens to me occasionally in Word and other programs and I have no idea how I did whatever happens :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Posts: 1898
Location: near Music City,USA
outteh wrote:
Probably too late but did you try and hit the undo button after it happened to see if it would restore back to the correct frozen track? Can you open a previous version of the song OK (Mixcraft backups versions in the project file). :?: :cry:


no I didn't realize it in time & I had already clicked save & done something else.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/rlc-ltd
http://www.reverbnation.com/rlcltd


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Posts: 1898
Location: near Music City,USA
dung_beetle wrote:
Maybe you accidentally hit some keyboard shortcut 8)
Happens to me occasionally in Word and other programs and I have no idea how I did whatever happens :D


who knows. I must have been some weird key combo to replace a track w/ one from another song I haven't worked on in months,change the key & tempo,then loop it 3x. :shock:
:lol:

oh well,it was supposed to be a scratch rythym track that ended up being a one take wonder so good thing I mix an mp3 version after every session.I just imported the mp3 & redid the track.

TAKE THAT DIGITAL RECORDING GREMLINS!!!!! :twisted:

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/rlc-ltd
http://www.reverbnation.com/rlcltd


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 3:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 6:50 am
Posts: 247
Key and tempo change as well as looping might be possible for an intelligent program, some sort of sync feature...
But no idea where that old file might have come from...
Did you unfreeze via Ctrl-F or the menu item?

I guess it makes no sense to ask if you could repeat the (supposed) bug 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 4:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Posts: 12120
Location: California
Hi,

One way this could happen would be if you had allowed Mixcraft to search for a missing sound and it found a sound with the same name in a different folder.

Greg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 1:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Posts: 1898
Location: near Music City,USA
dung_beetle wrote:
Key and tempo change as well as looping might be possible for an intelligent program, some sort of sync feature...
But no idea where that old file might have come from...
Did you unfreeze via Ctrl-F or the menu item?
no,I never use keyboard shortcuts.I have wireless Supermouse. :lol:

I guess it makes no sense to ask if you could repeat the (supposed) bug 8)


yeah,just what I need...a total mental breakdown. :shock:

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/rlc-ltd
http://www.reverbnation.com/rlcltd


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 1:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Posts: 1898
Location: near Music City,USA
Acoustica Greg wrote:
Hi,

One way this could happen would be if you had allowed Mixcraft to search for a missing sound and it found a sound with the same name in a different folder.

Greg


that could be possible but I never saw the pop up screen & it was instantaneous. the searching usually takes a bit. as far as the track names-
scratch rythym gtr.
bass

I wonder if it could be because my harddrive has a bad sector & freaked out momentarily.
I'm fixing to replace the HD anyway. that's #3 or #4 for this machine now... :roll:

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/rlc-ltd
http://www.reverbnation.com/rlcltd


Last edited by gypsy101 on Sat Feb 01, 2014 11:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 2:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Posts: 1898
Location: near Music City,USA
Dangit, it just did it again. :evil:

same 2 songs. this time it replaced the main lead for S.I.T.D. w/ a cymbal ride-in from BWTB. :shock:
I just started Mixcraft6 & was mixing S.I.T.D.(just adjusting vocal level & un-freezing some tracks). I "undo" all the way back to the opening of the song & it's still there so I closed & reopened Mixcraft & when I did where it says project loading it also said project freezing so I cancelled that real quick before something else got screwed up.
WTF is going on here ???

also, I just clicked "open project" in the file tab & B2TB showed up as the currently open file but it's not. SITD is what's currently open in Mixcraft.

it's also in a previous backup I did @ 8am this morning (it's 3pm now) but. it wasn't there then @ the time.
ok,it seems to be on every backup going back to even yesterday but it was not there then or even this morning.
something is screwing up loading the project & it's trying to freeze tracks on loading but I think that it's actually trying to load the track from that other song.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/rlc-ltd
http://www.reverbnation.com/rlcltd


Last edited by gypsy101 on Sat Feb 01, 2014 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 4:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Posts: 2101
Location: San Antonio, TX
Here's what I would try - no guarantees. Take the project files for your two songs and get them out of the Mixcraft location. Then start Mix craft and open the project from the new location. See if that helps. Check your Mixcraft preferences where you stored your projects and where the recordings are created and make sure you have enough disk space in these locations.

_________________
Tom
Mixcraft Live , Soundcloud

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 11:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Posts: 1898
Location: near Music City,USA
outteh wrote:
Here's what I would try - no guarantees. Take the project files for your two songs and get them out of the Mixcraft location. Then start Mix craft and open the project from the new location. See if that helps. Check your Mixcraft preferences where you stored your projects and where the recordings are created and make sure you have enough disk space in these locations.


and put them where?

here's what I'm thinking of trying-
A) copy project files of the blues song to (basically renaming the song w/ "working version" in the title for now
B) SAVE AS- (w/ "working version" in the title).
C) reinstall Mixcraft 6. :roll:

this is really ticking me off because I just had to level/mix 1 B.V. dub & I was done & ready to master. :evil:

BTW, when you uninstall/reinstall Mixcraft do all the regular Acoustica/KJ(Classic) & 3rd party uploaded VST files like Blue Cat,MHorse,etc..& self made presets get saved? I can't remember & I'd rather not if I don't have to.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/rlc-ltd
http://www.reverbnation.com/rlcltd


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 11:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Posts: 1999
Gypsy, this is a weird fluke/bug whatever it is, and I hope we learn what it is.

I struggle with visualizing the filing systems as it is, and am trying hard to form a useful impression on this old brain without leaving too many bruises......... I have a bad habit of ending up with a bunch of similar files and folders spread about as I work and it causes some really annoying mistakes. The harder I try to simplify and tidy up, the worse it seems to get sometimes.

Anyway, this conundrum has me curious.

_________________
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

Grace. Its not just for dinner!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 3:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Posts: 1898
Location: near Music City,USA
well every (song) project is it's own folder & named when I start it as a new project before I ever record anything so there' shouldn't be any confusion in files.
I did move the B2TB song folder to the recycle bin for now to finish up the SITD song & had no problems.

what is getting me is before moving that folder out everytime I opened SITD after the song was loading(which took forever) it would also say "freezing" down in the progress bar.

I haven't tried working on any other songs yet so I don't know what may happen then and I'm almost afraid to try.lol

the only thing that has changed on my comp is an FTP protocol ZIP file I downloaded & moved to C:/program files but it hasn't even been unzipped so......

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/rlc-ltd
http://www.reverbnation.com/rlcltd


Last edited by gypsy101 on Sun Feb 02, 2014 5:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 1:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Posts: 514
gypsy101 wrote:
well every (song) project is it's own folder & named when I start it as a new project before I ever record anything so there' shouldn't be any confusion in files.
It can still happen - if the project folder and audio file folder are not one and the same.

Try moving the project file to the same folder as the audio files, and then open the project by double-clicking the project file. MC should 'find' the correct audio files when you do it this way because the search path always starts with the current folder.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: