It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 9:27 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 7:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:30 am
Posts: 5
When recording a stereo lp, Spin it again doesn't capture both channels-I get a sort of echo from the vocals from one of the channels. I didn't use to have this problem. I'm wondering if there is a setting i've inadvertently changed by mistake. Or perhaps the turntable usb cable is not working.

The other problem I have is that there is an audible hum during recording (and on playback). I now use spin it again on vaio t series ultrabook (windows eight). I used to do projects on a desktop and didn't have this audible AC hum when recording. I know it comes from the power cord of the laptop-when I unplug the laptop it stops. The problem is I can only do projects for as long as the battery lasts. Do you know of something I can purchase that removes filters out ac hum from a power cord?

Thank you,

Brad Van Grack


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 7:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Posts: 1557
Location: San Antonio, TX
A simple surge suppresor on the AC line (preferably one with grounding capabilty) might help with the hum. They also make AC line transformers that reduce hum - here's some:

[urlhttp://www.zzounds.com/cat--Hum-Eliminators--2757][/url]

Not capturing the stereo sound also sounds like a cable problem. If you play it through something else do you still get the echo?

_________________
Tom
My Songs Mixcraft Live , Soundcloud
Make Some Noise
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 7:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:30 am
Posts: 5
Thanks Tom.
IT's already plugged into a surge suppresor but I will look into the ac line transformers.
I will try the cable with another laptop. Strangely I'm recording something else in stereo now and it's not a problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 7:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Posts: 1557
Location: San Antonio, TX
Could have been a loose cable on the turntable. I have the EBtech Hum X ground loop eliminator and it works great. :)

_________________
Tom
My Songs Mixcraft Live , Soundcloud
Make Some Noise
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 8:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:30 am
Posts: 5
Thanks Tom. I'm thinking its a cable problem too. Do they sell the cables that come with these usb turntables? I'll google it or look on amazon.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: