It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 12:37 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Can't Load Module
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 7:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 1:04 am
Posts: 6
Hi, so I have Mixcraft 6, and when I open it, along with the program I get a pop-up saying "Cant load module. GS_HVC by Guido Scognamiglio" .
So now when I open up a project it loads and can "play" but there's no sound. And it's not a problem with my headphones because I've been using them for week without a problem and can still hear the metronome if I press Record.
But if I try to play any track or any sound from the Instrument Preset (like with Musical Typing) or Music Library there's nothing (even though the program says it's playing).
I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling Mixcraft and restarting my computer. This just came out of nowhere and I honestly don't know what to do. Can you guys help?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't Load Module
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 8:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:58 pm
Posts: 330
ah, seems like you're having a SynthEdit module problem.

SynthEdit is a program used to create VST and VSTi, and when you install and load a SynthEdit VST/VSTi, it unloads a series of .sem files (modules) into a folder with the VST's name. The problem exists somewhere between the file in question (GS_HVC.sem) and Mixcraft 6 itself. For some reason, your system cannot properly load the .sem, which could either render the VST unusable in most cases, or only screw with the GUI and still leave the audio engine intact (usually not the case).
I've never had an instance where a module loading failure could prevent Mixcraft from generating any audio from any and all VSTs.

To help us figure out what's going on:
  1. Have you added any new VSTs to your VST folder(s) lately?
  2. Can you still get sound from audio files imported from the library?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't Load Module
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 8:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Posts: 11551
Location: California
Hi,

Quit Mixcraft if it's running, then start it up by right-clicking on its icon and selecting "Run As Administrator." That should fix the problem.

Greg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't Load Module
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 4:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 1:04 am
Posts: 6
Acoustica Greg,

It worked! :D :D :D

Thanks so much. And wow was that easy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't Load Module
PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2014 4:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 1:04 am
Posts: 6
ACTUALLY, this quick fix only half worked. I can now play audio from the music library (and I'll check soon to see if I can play back a recording from my mic), and the "can't load module" popup is gone, BUT any Virtual Instrument track still will not playback with sound. I can't get any sound from the Musical Typing keyboard either.

And no, Anorax, I have not added any new VSTs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't Load Module
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 3:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Posts: 11551
Location: California
Hi,

The virtual instrument plugins may have been added to Mixcraft's ignore file, probably because of a crash. Here's how to fix this problem: use a text editor like Notepad to edit the vstignore.ini file and remove the names of any plugins that you don't want to ignore, then save the vstignore.ini file as plain text without changing its name and the virtual instruments should load the next time you run Mixcraft.

The location of the vstignore.ini file is as follows:

In Windows Vista, 7 or 8: C:\ProgramData\Acoustica\Mixcraft
In Windows XP: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Mixcraft

Greg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't Load Module
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2014 6:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 1:04 am
Posts: 6
welp, i opened the vst ignore file and did all that jazz, but it didn't work. :? i still can't hear a thing when i press play (as so far all of my recording has been done with a MIDI) or with musical typing.

what now?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't Load Module
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Posts: 11551
Location: California
Hi,

When you say you did all that jazz, what did you do, exactly? When you open the VSTignore.ini file, what do you see? Do you see anything besides this:

; The following VST effects will be filtered out
; - Format:
; Any Part Of Dll Name
; - or
; Any Part Of Dll Name.dll
; - Examples:
; BrokenFX (removes all effects with BrokenFX in their name)
; BrokenFX Super Reverb.dll (removes only BrokenFX Super Reverb.dll)
nsp.dll
msvcp
msvcr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't Load Module
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 5:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 1:04 am
Posts: 6
No, that was all I saw. (I deleted it, but kept the text in a word file in case I screwed up anything else)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't Load Module
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 7:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Posts: 11551
Location: California
Hi,

Please send us your mixcraft-log.txt file, which is located in this folder:

%appdata%\Acoustica\Mixcraft

Another way to find it is to click on the Windows Start Menu, select All Programs, then Acoustica Mixcraft 6 (or 5) and finally Logs. Submit an Acoustica Support Request and attach the log file along with a brief description of the problem.

Here's a short video: Mixcraft Mini-Tip: How To Find Your Mixcraft Log File

Greg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Can't Load Module
PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 2:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 1:04 am
Posts: 6
okay, thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: