Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Blackstar ID30 TVP

Use this forum to discuss preamps, guitars, microphones, mixers, drums, turntables, keyboards and recording equipment in general.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

User avatar
Pete Stobbs
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:07 am
Location: Dursley UK
Contact:

Blackstar ID30 TVP

Postby Pete Stobbs » Wed Mar 16, 2016 6:09 am

Hi all,

Just got a Blackstar ID30 TVP. How do I set it up for recording in M7 64?

Posted on the Blackstar forum and the post got deleted.
Win 8.1
8 gig ram
AMD A4 6210 1.8 GHz
Focusrite solo.
Hughes & Kettner TubeMeister 5 head.
Blackstar ID30 TVP


https://soundcloud.com/pete-stobbs
https://soundcloud.com/toltec-jive

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19564
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Blackstar ID30 TVP

Postby Acoustica Greg » Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:20 am

Hi,

I can't tell if they provide any audio drivers for that amp. Googling around, it seems like people might use ASIO4All with it.

What have you tried? You've got it connected via USB? Does it show up as a recording device in Core Audio (WaveRT Mode)? Have you armed an audio track and tried recording something?

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

aj113
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Blackstar ID30 TVP

Postby aj113 » Wed Mar 16, 2016 10:08 am

As far as I know it doesn't a driver. Just connect up via USB and MC should find it in the 'arm' drop-down.

User avatar
Pete Stobbs
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:07 am
Location: Dursley UK
Contact:

Re: Blackstar ID30 TVP

Postby Pete Stobbs » Wed Mar 16, 2016 3:51 pm

Sorted. Looks like I have to use WAV rather than Asio.
I'll see how it performs when there are more tracks recorded.
Win 8.1
8 gig ram
AMD A4 6210 1.8 GHz
Focusrite solo.
Hughes & Kettner TubeMeister 5 head.
Blackstar ID30 TVP


https://soundcloud.com/pete-stobbs
https://soundcloud.com/toltec-jive

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19564
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Blackstar ID30 TVP

Postby Acoustica Greg » Wed Mar 16, 2016 4:10 pm

Hi,

Unless you've got Windows XP, you should use Core Audio (WaveRT).

If your latency is too high, try exclusive mode.

If you've got Windows XP, you could give ASIO4All a try.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Pete Stobbs
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:07 am
Location: Dursley UK
Contact:

Re: Blackstar ID30 TVP

Postby Pete Stobbs » Thu Mar 17, 2016 1:35 am

Hi Greg,

Tried all sorts of combinations. The latency makes it unusable really.

Looks like I can take this route.

27. Emulated Output/Headphone Out
This output emulates the tonal characteristics of a guitar speaker cabinet and
provides a natural tone for connection to a recording device or mixing desk.
To make full use of the stereo effects, use a stereo jack to two mono jacks splitter
lead to feed two channels of the recording device or mixer. The output will also
function into a mono guitar type lead. Always use a good quality screened lead.
Turning the Volume knob (4) will control the Emulated Output level. The Master
Volume only affects any connected speaker(s)/cabinet(s).

NOTE: To ‘silently’ record, set the Master Volume to zero. You may also record
from this output without a loudspeaker connected, but ensure that no loudspeaker
leads are connected to any of the loudspeaker output jack sockets of the amplifier,
as this will defeat the load protection circuit and will cause damage to the amplifier.
Win 8.1
8 gig ram
AMD A4 6210 1.8 GHz
Focusrite solo.
Hughes & Kettner TubeMeister 5 head.
Blackstar ID30 TVP


https://soundcloud.com/pete-stobbs
https://soundcloud.com/toltec-jive

aj113
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Blackstar ID30 TVP

Postby aj113 » Thu Mar 17, 2016 4:05 am

Yep, this is the way to go.

Really latency shouldn't be an issue for anybody these days, there's no real reason to monitor back through the DAW, unless the computer itself is generating the sounds.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19564
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Blackstar ID30 TVP

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Mar 17, 2016 8:32 am

Hi,

For that method, you need a good way to input the audio to your computer. If your computer doesn't have a "Line In" input you'll need some kind of audio interface. Maybe you already have one?

Microphone inputs are not appropriate for this type of recording because they have too much gain.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

aj113
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Blackstar ID30 TVP

Postby aj113 » Thu Mar 17, 2016 8:41 am

Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

For that method, you need a good way to input the audio to your computer.
That's not how I see it. The amp has its own interface, so no need for an audio input. Presumably the OP can hear what is already recorded coming back through monitors or headphones of some description so he just needs to manually mix the amp's output with the DAW's output in order to monitor them both together while recording.

User avatar
Pete Stobbs
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:07 am
Location: Dursley UK
Contact:

Re: Blackstar ID30 TVP

Postby Pete Stobbs » Thu Mar 17, 2016 9:33 am

Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

For that method, you need a good way to input the audio to your computer. If your computer doesn't have a "Line In" input you'll need some kind of audio interface. Maybe you already have one?

Microphone inputs are not appropriate for this type of recording because they have too much gain.

Greg


Win 8.1
8 gig ram
AMD A4 6210 1.8 GHz
Focusrite solo.
Hughes & Kettner TubeMeister 5 head.
Blackstar ID30 TVP :)
Win 8.1
8 gig ram
AMD A4 6210 1.8 GHz
Focusrite solo.
Hughes & Kettner TubeMeister 5 head.
Blackstar ID30 TVP


https://soundcloud.com/pete-stobbs
https://soundcloud.com/toltec-jive

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19564
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Blackstar ID30 TVP

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Mar 17, 2016 9:38 am

aj113 wrote:That's not how I see it. The amp has its own interface, so no need for an audio input. Presumably the OP can hear what is already recorded coming back through monitors or headphones of some description so he just needs to manually mix the amp's output with the DAW's output in order to monitor them both together while recording.


Hi,

But in order to record the amp, you need a good audio feed coming into the computer. Since Pete has a Scarlett Solo, he could go from the amp to the Scarlett Solo.

Unless of course he's got a Line In input. Most laptops just have mic inputs, which would cause distortion in the loud parts of the recording since you're feeding a line level signal into a microphone input, which isn't designed for that.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

aj113
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Blackstar ID30 TVP

Postby aj113 » Thu Mar 17, 2016 9:43 am

Acoustica Greg wrote:...But in order to record the amp, you need a good audio feed coming into the computer..
OK maybe I'm misunderstanding something. If the amp has its own built in usb audio interface why do you need to send audio anywhere at all? As I see it you plug in the usb and the DAW finds the amp. Have I got that wrong?

User avatar
Pete Stobbs
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:07 am
Location: Dursley UK
Contact:

Re: Blackstar ID30 TVP

Postby Pete Stobbs » Thu Mar 17, 2016 10:02 am

aj113 wrote:
Acoustica Greg wrote:...But in order to record the amp, you need a good audio feed coming into the computer..
OK maybe I'm misunderstanding something. If the amp has its own built in usb audio interface why do you need to send audio anywhere at all? As I see it you plug in the usb and the DAW finds the amp. Have I got that wrong?


The latency is crap!
Win 8.1
8 gig ram
AMD A4 6210 1.8 GHz
Focusrite solo.
Hughes & Kettner TubeMeister 5 head.
Blackstar ID30 TVP


https://soundcloud.com/pete-stobbs
https://soundcloud.com/toltec-jive

aj113
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Blackstar ID30 TVP

Postby aj113 » Thu Mar 17, 2016 10:05 am

You're missing the point. There is no latency. Turn off the channel monitoring and turn your amp up so that you can hear it 'live'.


Return to “Hardware Wars”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron