Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Yamaha PSR-S975 - What am I doing wrong?

Use this forum to discuss preamps, guitars, microphones, mixers, drums, turntables, keyboards and recording equipment in general.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

The_Chief
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:28 pm
Location: Manchester, Tennessee
Contact:

Re: Yamaha PSR-S975 - What am I doing wrong?

Postby The_Chief » Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:42 am

That's fine - I just see the one USB port on the back of the 4i4, which I assume is the output to the PC. So the only input I would need to use is the MIDI input on the back. The two inputs up front, I can't imagine ever needing them. The only other thing on front is the headphone monitor. Is that what you use, Jlouver?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19557
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Yamaha PSR-S975 - What am I doing wrong?

Postby Acoustica Greg » Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:59 am

Hi,

No, you would use the audio input on the front if you wanted to record audio from your keyboard.

I don't think the 2i2 or 2i4 has a MIDI input.

Which means if you wanted to record MIDI, you'd need to make that connection separately.

But right now, we're talking about recording audio, right?

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 3446
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Yamaha PSR-S975 - What am I doing wrong?

Postby outteh » Mon Jul 22, 2019 10:17 am

I would recommend downloading the user manual for the interface you are interested in and look it over to be sure you understand what it can do and how to do it! :D

The_Chief
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:28 pm
Location: Manchester, Tennessee
Contact:

Re: Yamaha PSR-S975 - What am I doing wrong?

Postby The_Chief » Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:31 am

Thanks, guys: I don't see a 2i4 on the Focusrite website, I'm talking about the 4i4... but if the MIDI in (on the back of the 4i4) doesn't send all the instrument data to the PC, then I would have to use the audio input...

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19557
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Yamaha PSR-S975 - What am I doing wrong?

Postby Acoustica Greg » Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:41 am

The_Chief wrote:Thanks, guys: I don't see a 2i4 on the Focusrite website, I'm talking about the 4i4... but if the MIDI in (on the back of the 4i4) doesn't send all the instrument data to the PC, then I would have to use the audio input...


Hi,

You could route the MIDI through the 4i4, that's correct. You'd make a MIDI connection and an audio connection and have the best of both worlds.


Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Yamaha PSR-S975 - What am I doing wrong?

Postby jlouvar » Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:13 pm

The_Chief wrote:
jlouvar wrote:I recommend the 2nd generation 2i4.


There's a 3rd generation out now... does the 2nd generation have a feature or something that was removed? Manufacturers like to do that sometimes, and then charge to add it back in
:P


Sorry, I don’t know anything about the 3rd generation.
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Yamaha PSR-S975 - What am I doing wrong?

Postby jlouvar » Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:20 pm

The_Chief wrote:That's fine - I just see the one USB port on the back of the 4i4, which I assume is the output to the PC. So the only input I would need to use is the MIDI input on the back. The two inputs up front, I can't imagine ever needing them. The only other thing on front is the headphone monitor. Is that what you use, Jlouver?


I plug my Korg TR-61 keyboard workstation audio output into the 1/4” Line input on the front of my 2i4.
Attachments
Keyboard Workplace.jpg
Keyboard Workplace.jpg (874.92 KiB) Viewed 477 times
Last edited by jlouvar on Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Yamaha PSR-S975 - What am I doing wrong?

Postby jlouvar » Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:24 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:I don't think the 2i2 or 2i4 has a MIDI input.


The 2i4 has MIDI in/out on the back (no MIDI on the 2i2). But I use the audio Line input on the front of my 2i4.
Last edited by jlouvar on Mon Jul 22, 2019 1:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Yamaha PSR-S975 - What am I doing wrong?

Postby jlouvar » Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:29 pm

The_Chief wrote:Thanks, guys: I don't see a 2i4 on the Focusrite website


I bought my 2i4 from Sweetwater.
https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail ... -interface
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19557
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Yamaha PSR-S975 - What am I doing wrong?

Postby Acoustica Greg » Mon Jul 22, 2019 1:44 pm

jlouvar wrote:
Acoustica Greg wrote:I don't think the 2i2 or 2i4 has a MIDI input.


The 2i4 has MIDI in/out on the back (no MIDI on the 2i2). But I use the audio Line input on the front of my 2i4.


D'oh! My mistake. It's just the 2i2 that doesn't have one.

So, either the 2i4 or the 4i4 would be a great choice if you wanted to hook up MIDI and audio to your PC.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

The_Chief
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:28 pm
Location: Manchester, Tennessee
Contact:

Re: Yamaha PSR-S975 - What am I doing wrong?

Postby The_Chief » Mon Jul 22, 2019 2:05 pm

Jlouvar, please check your PMs - I just need clarification on the model that isn't really relevant in the main forum. Thanks: I'm looking at the 4i4 3rd generation, since it apparently has everything the 2nd gen does but offers Air for added acoustic depth...

The_Chief
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:28 pm
Location: Manchester, Tennessee
Contact:

Re: Yamaha PSR-S975 - What am I doing wrong?

Postby The_Chief » Mon Jul 22, 2019 2:34 pm

Okay, folks, a big hearty THANK YOU for all your help on this! I am ordering the 3rd gen 4i4 and should have it by the end of the week. I'm cautiously optimistic that this next weekend will be significantly less hectic than this past one... and I'll be able to get everything connected and tested out. I will let you all know how it goes: good or bad. I know you deserve closure on this, and you will get it!

:)

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19557
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Yamaha PSR-S975 - What am I doing wrong?

Postby Acoustica Greg » Mon Jul 22, 2019 2:46 pm

Hi,

That's great! Once you get it:

1. Go to Focusrite's web page to download and install the latest audio driver for it.
2. Go into Mixcraft's Sound Device preferences and choose ASIO mode, with the Focusrite ASIO driver.
3. When you record audio from it, arm the track on the side that has the audio. Input 1 would be armed on the left and Input 2 would be armed on the right.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 3446
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Yamaha PSR-S975 - What am I doing wrong?

Postby outteh » Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:28 pm

Don’t forget a new adapter cable. You’ll need to come out of your keyboard with the 3.5 mm stereo plug to 2 mono phone plugs ( 1/4 inch TR) .

A11B30B3-4059-4152-B967-5F0870488EAD.jpeg
A11B30B3-4059-4152-B967-5F0870488EAD.jpeg (195.9 KiB) Viewed 458 times

The_Chief
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:28 pm
Location: Manchester, Tennessee
Contact:

Re: Yamaha PSR-S975 - What am I doing wrong?

Postby The_Chief » Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:42 pm

Thanks, Tom, I would not have thought to do that! I had planned to bring the audio from the MIDI out to the MIDI in on the 4i4, and have a condenser mic plugged in up front. The 1/4" inputs on the back of the 4i4, I assume, are separate left & right channels?


Return to “Hardware Wars”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest