Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Using a foot pedal to scroll through instrument presets faster?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

User avatar
FancyGoose
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 8:32 am
Location: Quebec City, Canada

Using a foot pedal to scroll through instrument presets faster?

Postby FancyGoose » Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:18 am

Hi guys, Happy New Year!

I wonder if it's possible to use a foot pedal (with MIDI commands I presume) to scroll through all the presets within an instrument VSTi in Mixcraft? For example, lets say i'm in Acoustica Expanded instruments, and want to move from instrument to instrument and play piano chords on my MIDI controller and see each of them sounds, before making a choice for a track?

Thanks and have a great day :)
FancyGoose

Mixcraft 8.1 Pro Studio
Arturia Keylab 61 Essential
EZDrummer2 w/Blues and Rock! EZX expansions
Amplitube 4 MAX
Zoom Livetrak L-12
Zoom G5n

mick
Posts: 1368
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:33 am

Re: Using a foot pedal to scroll through instrument presets faster?

Postby mick » Mon Jan 07, 2019 8:30 am

Can't think how to link a foot pedal to scroll but you can use the left/right arrow keys to switch between category and instrument, and the up/down to scroll down either list.

Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (154.85 KiB) Viewed 119 times

seeds
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 1:42 am

Re: Using a foot pedal to scroll through instrument presets faster?

Postby seeds » Thu Jan 10, 2019 4:40 am

you can map the foot controller to UP and DOWN arrow keys :)

edit: sorry I didn't see the 'preset' part I thought it was just VSTi

every VSTi is different with presets some would work like that though and some are really easy like Arturia minilab and Analog Lab 3 but others have folders and stuff and simple mapping of UP and DOWN won't work, sorry

really depends on the VSTi

bigaquarium
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Using a foot pedal to scroll through instrument presets faster?

Postby bigaquarium » Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:05 am

Morning,

Just food for thought, the presets list has many different VSTi’s running behind it, which will sometimes limit how fast you can scroll through the lists.

Perhaps Acoustica would consider adding a sort by VSTi option for the instrument lists for those of us who like to rocket through and don’t have supercomputers! :)

-n
Lenovo ThinkCentre m93z, Intel i5-4570s 2.9 ghz, 8/256GB
Line6 TonePort UX1
M-Audio KeyRig 49
Fatar SL-161 (When it feels like working)
Roland UM-1
Blue Snowball
Mixcraft 8 ProStudio (64 bit)

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 18580
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Using a foot pedal to scroll through instrument presets faster?

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:33 am

Hi,

Thanks for the suggestion! Have you explored using favorites and collections? You can click the star next to a VSTi to add it to the Favorites list, and you can also go into File Menu > Manage Plug-Ins to add plugins to collections. (See page 307 of the help manual). This allows you to make your own custom categories of plug-ins.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

bigaquarium
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Using a foot pedal to scroll through instrument presets faster?

Postby bigaquarium » Fri Jan 11, 2019 1:24 pm

Afternoon,

Yes! I just started making categories after Acoustica Eric shared a picture of his categorized plugins a few weeks back.

Mixcraft is what got me back into music, and was my first DAW. One of the great strengths of MC is how you can run it on a bargain basement door buster laptop like I had, learn the basics, upgrade it to Pro for virtually nothing, pop it on a nicer machine and now you’re (not me) able to do studio quality stuff or export it to your producer/engineer with the big toys. Then when you have the basics down you discover all of the automation and workflow features and it’s like Christmas all over again.

Anyway... The thinking behind the sort by VSTi suggestion is so they aren’t constantly loading in the background because at least the presets for a given VSTi would be together, yanno?

Actually it would be great to be able to import presets from VSTis that come with them. A little more work on VSTi preset compatibility would be awesome too, even if it isn’t MC’s fault. ;)

- Nathan
Lenovo ThinkCentre m93z, Intel i5-4570s 2.9 ghz, 8/256GB
Line6 TonePort UX1
M-Audio KeyRig 49
Fatar SL-161 (When it feels like working)
Roland UM-1
Blue Snowball
Mixcraft 8 ProStudio (64 bit)


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 51 guests