Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Link volume sliders together?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

User avatar
Pete Stobbs
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:07 am
Location: Dursley UK
Contact:

Link volume sliders together?

Postby Pete Stobbs » Thu Oct 04, 2012 10:07 am

Hi,

Is it possible to link volume sliders together on the mixing desk?

I.E Link track 1 and track 7 volume sliders so that when you increase the volume on 1 track 7 increases by the same amount as track 1.
Win 8.1
8 gig ram
AMD A4 6210 1.8 GHz
Focusrite solo.
Hughes & Kettner TubeMeister 5 head.
Blackstar ID30 TVP


https://soundcloud.com/pete-stobbs
https://soundcloud.com/toltec-jive

Vibrant Audio
Posts: 981
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:24 pm

Re: Link volume sliders together?

Postby Vibrant Audio » Thu Oct 04, 2012 10:34 am

No, but that would be a nice feature!

Assuming that you're using Mixcraft 6, a workaround is to create a SubMix track. Drag-and-drop both tracks into that SubMix track. You can now control the volume of both tracks with the one SubMix fader.

Look up SubMix in the Mixcraft 6 help file.
*Vibrant Audio*

User avatar
Pete Stobbs
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:07 am
Location: Dursley UK
Contact:

Re: Link volume sliders together?

Postby Pete Stobbs » Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:00 pm

Vibrant,

Thanks for that. Although having the ability to link two sliders(or more) could be less hassle.
And , what if like I am doing is having the same instrument on two tracks.one with no effects the other with effects and one panned left and the other panned right?



Pete
Last edited by Pete Stobbs on Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Win 8.1
8 gig ram
AMD A4 6210 1.8 GHz
Focusrite solo.
Hughes & Kettner TubeMeister 5 head.
Blackstar ID30 TVP


https://soundcloud.com/pete-stobbs
https://soundcloud.com/toltec-jive

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19222
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Link volume sliders together?

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:01 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the suggestion!

Greg

Vibrant Audio
Posts: 981
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:24 pm

Re: Link volume sliders together?

Postby Vibrant Audio » Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:23 pm

Pete Stobbs wrote:what if like I am doing is having the same instrument on two tracks.one with no effects the other with effects and one panned left and the other panned right?Pete


You can do that with both tracks in a SubMix track.
*Vibrant Audio*

User avatar
Pete Stobbs
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:07 am
Location: Dursley UK
Contact:

Re: Link volume sliders together?

Postby Pete Stobbs » Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:38 pm

Vibrant,

Yes, I see it now. Still think just linking sliders would be a good idea.

Pete
Win 8.1
8 gig ram
AMD A4 6210 1.8 GHz
Focusrite solo.
Hughes & Kettner TubeMeister 5 head.
Blackstar ID30 TVP


https://soundcloud.com/pete-stobbs
https://soundcloud.com/toltec-jive

User avatar
Acoustica Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 5785
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: Link volume sliders together?

Postby Acoustica Eric » Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:47 pm

This is exactly the type of thing submix tracks are for. If the sliders were simply linked, the screen would be a mess.

User avatar
Pete Stobbs
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:07 am
Location: Dursley UK
Contact:

Re: Link volume sliders together?

Postby Pete Stobbs » Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:20 pm

It works alright in ???

Using Control Groups

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

??? lets you link faders, knobs, or buttons in the Track and Console views into groups. Groups are collections of controls whose movements are linked together. For example:

Two volume faders or controls can be grouped so that when you increase or decrease the volume of one track, the volume of the other track changes in exactly the same way.
Four mute buttons can be grouped so that when you click on the mute button to mute track 1, tracks 1 and 2 are muted and tracks 3 and 4 are un-muted.
The Console view and Track view identify controls, knobs and faders that are grouped using a colored group indicator that is displayed on the controls in each group. The controls in group A are displayed with a red indicator, the controls in group B with a green indicator, and so on. Controls, faders and knobs can be grouped together. etc etc.

BTW I love Mixcraft and have not used ??? for quite a while.

Pete
Win 8.1
8 gig ram
AMD A4 6210 1.8 GHz
Focusrite solo.
Hughes & Kettner TubeMeister 5 head.
Blackstar ID30 TVP


https://soundcloud.com/pete-stobbs
https://soundcloud.com/toltec-jive

Vibrant Audio
Posts: 981
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:24 pm

Re: Link volume sliders together?

Postby Vibrant Audio » Thu Oct 04, 2012 2:01 pm

??? = Sonar X2

Google = My friend :)
*Vibrant Audio*

User avatar
Pete Stobbs
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:07 am
Location: Dursley UK
Contact:

Re: Link volume sliders together?

Postby Pete Stobbs » Thu Oct 04, 2012 2:04 pm

Guitar Tracks Pro.
Win 8.1
8 gig ram
AMD A4 6210 1.8 GHz
Focusrite solo.
Hughes & Kettner TubeMeister 5 head.
Blackstar ID30 TVP


https://soundcloud.com/pete-stobbs
https://soundcloud.com/toltec-jive

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19222
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Link volume sliders together?

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Oct 04, 2012 2:28 pm

Hi,

I logged it as a feature request, but you should definitely get to know submix tracks.

Greg

Vibrant Audio
Posts: 981
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:24 pm

Re: Link volume sliders together?

Postby Vibrant Audio » Thu Oct 04, 2012 5:05 pm

Guitar Tracks Pro? Wow!

The wording in the manual for Sonar X2 is IDENTICAL.
*Vibrant Audio*


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests