Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Mixdown Problem

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2358
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Mixdown Problem

Postby trevlyns » Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:05 am

hey fellas!

Just recorded a lady singing to her backing track - so only two tracks in the mix with minimal FX on vocal only.

Following instructions on the mix down video, I end up with two separate MP3 tracks (one backing track and one vocal track), neither of which will play in windows media player. I can drag and drop them to separate tracks in Mixcraft and they play fine.

Why is it not mixing down to a single mp3? :shock:

Any advice much appreciated.

Thanks

Trevor

EDIT: I do have one track with 4 takes muted (for comping later on) and copied the best take to a separate track - so only this track and the backing track were unmuted.

EDIT 2: If I log off and then back on again, the files will play with WMP but only as single separate tracks. :?:
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website

FaceBook

Official OFC™ Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
Pete Stobbs
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:07 am
Location: Dursley UK
Contact:

Re: Mixdown Problem

Postby Pete Stobbs » Mon Feb 11, 2013 8:40 am

trevlyns wrote:
Why is it not mixing down to a single mp3? :shock:

Any advice much appreciated.

Thanks

Trevor

EDIT: I do have one track with 4 takes muted (for comping later on) and copied the best take to a separate track - so only this track and the backing track were unmuted.

EDIT 2: If I log off and then back on again, the files will play with WMP but only as single separate tracks. :?:


Trevor,

You haven't got the "Mix each track to separate file" ticked have you?

Pete
Win 8.1
8 gig ram
AMD A4 6210 1.8 GHz
Focusrite solo.
Hughes & Kettner TubeMeister 5 head.
Blackstar ID30 TVP


https://soundcloud.com/pete-stobbs
https://soundcloud.com/toltec-jive

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2358
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Mixdown Problem

Postby trevlyns » Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:38 am

Doh!!

Yes I DO :lol: Thanks Pete!

But WMP still wont play it unless I log off and back on again...
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website

FaceBook

Official OFC™ Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6390
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Mixdown Problem

Postby Mark Bliss » Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:58 am

Trevor, Im guessing the WMP is seeing your ASIO (or whatever driver your using) until you restart it, therefore not working seemlessly because it has to switch back to a WAVE driver. I think............
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19230
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixdown Problem

Postby Acoustica Greg » Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:00 pm

Hi,

Right, if you're in ASIO or WaveRT exclusive mode, you just need to quit Mixcraft before you try to play the audio in another program. Those two modes don't want to share your sound card with any other programs; that's one of the ways they implement such low latency.

Greg

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2358
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Mixdown Problem

Postby trevlyns » Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:35 pm

Thanks Mark and Greg.

Indeed that was the problem - switched to wave and it works fine. As I'm using ASIO, I unchecked the "Play exported files" in preferences > general too.
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website

FaceBook

Official OFC™ Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

aj113
Posts: 1330
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixdown Problem

Postby aj113 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 10:25 am

On a side note - why are you mixing down to mp3?

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2358
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Mixdown Problem

Postby trevlyns » Mon Feb 18, 2013 10:57 am

aj113 wrote:On a side note - why are you mixing down to mp3?


Just so the lady could have something for her mp3 player! :D
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website

FaceBook

Official OFC™ Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

gypsy101
Posts: 2322
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: near Music City,USA

Re: Mixdown Problem

Postby gypsy101 » Wed Feb 20, 2013 6:40 am

[quote="aj113"]On a side note - why are you mixing down to mp3?[/quote]
lol. so many people on the net ask this.
soundcloud,soundclick,reverb nation,certain radio submissions,etc.

aj113
Posts: 1330
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixdown Problem

Postby aj113 » Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:02 am

gypsy101 wrote:
aj113 wrote:On a side note - why are you mixing down to mp3?

lol. so many people on the net ask this.
soundcloud,soundclick,reverb nation,certain radio submissions,etc.
These are not a reason to mix down to mp3. It's better to mix down to WAV so that the WAV can be mastered first before conversion to mp3 as and when necessary.

gypsy101
Posts: 2322
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: near Music City,USA

Re: Mixdown Problem

Postby gypsy101 » Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:30 am

[quote="aj113"][quote="gypsy101"][quote="aj113"]On a side note - why are you mixing down to mp3?[/quote]
lol. so many people on the net ask this.
soundcloud,soundclick,reverb nation,certain radio submissions,etc.[/quote]These are not a reason to mix down to mp3. It's better to mix down to WAV so that the WAV can be mastered first before conversion to mp3 as and when necessary.[/quote]

let me rephrase that. convert to mp3 after all that other has been done.better?
mixcraft calls it "mixdown to" when it should be "convert to",but it's strictly linguistics. :wink:

aj113
Posts: 1330
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixdown Problem

Postby aj113 » Mon Feb 25, 2013 12:10 pm

Well, no it's not. MC does actually mix down to mp3 (if that option is selected). You can't convert to mp3 if there's nothing to convert.

gypsy101
Posts: 2322
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: near Music City,USA

Re: Mixdown Problem

Postby gypsy101 » Tue Feb 26, 2013 2:02 am

[quote="aj113"]Well, no it's not. MC does actually mix down to mp3 (if that option is selected). You can't convert to mp3 if there's nothing to convert.[/quote]
:roll:
I haven't found a "convert" option anywhere in the thing. if you record & mix in .wav format then it's basically the same thing.just different wording. some DAWs call it export.

aj113
Posts: 1330
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixdown Problem

Postby aj113 » Tue Feb 26, 2013 7:40 am

gypsy101 wrote:...I haven't found a "convert" option anywhere in the thing...
Exactly. As I said, you can't convert if there is nothing to convert.


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests