Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

USB 3.0

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

clavguy
Posts: 1011
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:34 pm
Location: Pembroke, NH

USB 3.0

Postby clavguy » Mon Aug 24, 2015 2:07 pm

Does anyone other than Presonus with their $900 Studio 192, offer a USB 3.0 audio interface yet?

Thanks
Pierre
Image

User avatar
Pete Stobbs
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:07 am
Location: Dursley UK
Contact:

Re: USB 3.0

Postby Pete Stobbs » Tue Aug 25, 2015 3:55 am

Focusrite solo does.
Win 8.1
8 gig ram
AMD A4 6210 1.8 GHz
Focusrite solo.
Hughes & Kettner TubeMeister 5 head.
Blackstar ID30 TVP


https://soundcloud.com/pete-stobbs
https://soundcloud.com/toltec-jive

clavguy
Posts: 1011
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:34 pm
Location: Pembroke, NH

Re: USB 3.0

Postby clavguy » Tue Aug 25, 2015 6:39 am

Pete Stobbs wrote:Focusrite solo does.
I just went to the Focusrite web site
http://us.focusrite.com/usb-audio-inter ... ifications
I says that the Solo is USB 2.0..
Upon further research with the Focusrite "chat" guy, Focusrite do not make a USB 3.0 interface yet
Image

JonInc
Posts: 472
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 2:30 pm
Location: East of Santa Monica

Re: USB 3.0

Postby JonInc » Tue Aug 25, 2015 7:09 am

Yes, it's strange how USB3 is now standard on newer PCs/laptops, yet it seems Presonus is the only company that's figured out how to design a USB3 interface -- or, at least, how to make one that's profitable.

I have a USB3 external drive and it's not even funny how much faster it is (transferring data) over USB2.

clavguy
Posts: 1011
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:34 pm
Location: Pembroke, NH

Re: USB 3.0

Postby clavguy » Tue Aug 25, 2015 8:42 am

JonInc wrote:I have a USB3 external drive and it's not even funny how much faster it is (transferring data) over USB2.
I hear ya....
Too bad the Presonus version is $900 after discounts
Image

User avatar
Pete Stobbs
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:07 am
Location: Dursley UK
Contact:

Re: USB 3.0

Postby Pete Stobbs » Tue Aug 25, 2015 3:36 pm

clavguy wrote:
Pete Stobbs wrote:Focusrite solo does.
I just went to the Focusrite web site
http://us.focusrite.com/usb-audio-inter ... ifications
I says that the Solo is USB 2.0..
Upon further research with the Focusrite "chat" guy, Focusrite do not make a USB 3.0 interface yet


I have an AMD chip.

AMD SYSTEM USERS

If you're using an AMD system you should connect your Scarlett Solo to a USB 3.0 port after downloading and installing the driver.

http://us.focusrite.com/usb-audio-interfaces/scarlett-solo/downloads
Win 8.1
8 gig ram
AMD A4 6210 1.8 GHz
Focusrite solo.
Hughes & Kettner TubeMeister 5 head.
Blackstar ID30 TVP


https://soundcloud.com/pete-stobbs
https://soundcloud.com/toltec-jive

mick
Posts: 1430
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:33 am

Re: USB 3.0

Postby mick » Tue Aug 25, 2015 4:52 pm

Just thought I'd throw this in should it be of any use - I noticed a device recently that said it was usb 3 COMPATIBLE so I'll leave it to you guys to check what that actually means. Compatible may have an unknown meaning so good luck with that one.

JonInc
Posts: 472
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 2:30 pm
Location: East of Santa Monica

Re: USB 3.0

Postby JonInc » Tue Aug 25, 2015 5:10 pm

Pete Stobbs wrote:....

I have an AMD chip.

AMD SYSTEM USERS

If you're using an AMD system you should connect your Scarlett Solo to a USB 3.0 port after downloading and installing the driver.

http://us.focusrite.com/usb-audio-interfaces/scarlett-solo/downloads


Both AMD and Intel systems have USB 3.0 ports -- which doesn't change the fact that the Focusrite Scarlett Solo is USB 2.0. It says so right there in the specifications of the link you provided.

(Yes, you will be instructed to connect your USB 2 device to any USB 3 jack on your computer, as it's supposed to be backwards compatible, but there is no guarantee it will work. You'll find numerous reports on the web bearing this out).

User avatar
Pete Stobbs
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:07 am
Location: Dursley UK
Contact:

Re: USB 3.0

Postby Pete Stobbs » Wed Aug 26, 2015 3:05 am

JonInc wrote:
Pete Stobbs wrote:....

I have an AMD chip.

AMD SYSTEM USERS

If you're using an AMD system you should connect your Scarlett Solo to a USB 3.0 port after downloading and installing the driver.

http://us.focusrite.com/usb-audio-interfaces/scarlett-solo/downloads


Both AMD and Intel systems have USB 3.0 ports -- which doesn't change the fact that the Focusrite Scarlett Solo is USB 2.0. It says so right there in the specifications of the link you provided.

(Yes, you will be instructed to connect your USB 2 device to any USB 3 jack on your computer, as it's supposed to be backwards compatible, but there is no guarantee it will work. You'll find numerous reports on the web bearing this out).


Mine works fine. No problems whatsoever.
Win 8.1
8 gig ram
AMD A4 6210 1.8 GHz
Focusrite solo.
Hughes & Kettner TubeMeister 5 head.
Blackstar ID30 TVP


https://soundcloud.com/pete-stobbs
https://soundcloud.com/toltec-jive

clavguy
Posts: 1011
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:34 pm
Location: Pembroke, NH

Re: USB 3.0

Postby clavguy » Wed Aug 26, 2015 4:14 am

Pete Stobbs wrote:Mine works fine. No problems whatsoever.
That does NOT mean it is USB 3.0. I have connected many USB 2.0 hardwares to my USB 3.0 port and have then work. Good example is an old USB thumb drive.
Image

clavguy
Posts: 1011
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:34 pm
Location: Pembroke, NH

Re: USB 3.0

Postby clavguy » Wed Aug 26, 2015 7:01 am

USB 3.0 connectors


This is what the USB 3.0 connector on the back of the Prsesonus 192 would accept.
http://sgcdn.startech.com/005329/media/ ... A_to_B.jpg

This is what the USB 3.0 connector on my USB 3.0 external hard drive would accept.
http://image.dhgate.com/albu_286121089_ ... icro-b.jpg


More on USB 2.0 and USB 3.0
http://blog.macsales.com/wp-content/upl ... BTYPES.jpg
Clearly no way close to a USB 2.0 connector.

EDIT.
My cell phone has a USB 3.0 connector on it. I have noticed that the battery charges back up very much faster when I plug a USB 3.0 charger into it vs a USB 2.0 connection. If you look at the USB 3.0 connection above for my hard drive, the bigger side of the connector on the hard drive or phone will accept a USB 2.0 cable
Image

User avatar
Pete Stobbs
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:07 am
Location: Dursley UK
Contact:

Re: USB 3.0

Postby Pete Stobbs » Wed Aug 26, 2015 8:31 am

clavguy wrote:USB 3.0 connectors


This is what the USB 3.0 connector on the back of the Prsesonus 192 would accept.
http://sgcdn.startech.com/005329/media/ ... A_to_B.jpg

This is what the USB 3.0 connector on my USB 3.0 external hard drive would accept.
http://image.dhgate.com/albu_286121089_ ... icro-b.jpg


More on USB 2.0 and USB 3.0
http://blog.macsales.com/wp-content/upl ... BTYPES.jpg
Clearly no way close to a USB 2.0 connector.

EDIT.
My cell phone has a USB 3.0 connector on it. I have noticed that the battery charges back up very much faster when I plug a USB 3.0 charger into it vs a USB 2.0 connection. If you look at the USB 3.0 connection above for my hard drive, the bigger side of the connector on the hard drive or phone will accept a USB 2.0 cable


Like I said, mine works fine. I have had no problems.
Win 8.1
8 gig ram
AMD A4 6210 1.8 GHz
Focusrite solo.
Hughes & Kettner TubeMeister 5 head.
Blackstar ID30 TVP


https://soundcloud.com/pete-stobbs
https://soundcloud.com/toltec-jive

clavguy
Posts: 1011
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:34 pm
Location: Pembroke, NH

Re: USB 3.0

Postby clavguy » Wed Aug 26, 2015 8:39 am

Pete Stobbs wrote:Like I said, mine works fine. I have had no problems.
Like I said, you are not running at the higher performance afforded by USB 3.0 but at the standard USB 2.0 performance. Nothing wrong with that... Just not as good as USB 3.0
Image

User avatar
fredfish
Posts: 1365
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:57 pm
Location: Colchester, Essex, UK

Re: USB 3.0

Postby fredfish » Wed Aug 26, 2015 8:45 am

Just to throw my 2 penneth in.

It isn't just if it works on USB 3 (Like Pierre I have many bits of USB 2 kit that works on USB 3 - in fact I personally haven't come across anything that doesn't) - I am not surprised that you have it working on your USB 3 port and I am pleased it is.

The question is about bits of kit that make use of the extra speeds of USB 3 - just connecting a bit of USB 2 kit to a USB 3 port wont make it work any faster than USB 2.

I agree with others in this thread that it is disappointing that there isn't more kit that not only works on a USB 3 port but is actually USB 3 with all the speed benefits that includes.

Cheers

John

clavguy
Posts: 1011
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:34 pm
Location: Pembroke, NH

Re: USB 3.0

Postby clavguy » Wed Aug 26, 2015 9:14 am

Thanks for reminding me John,

I forgot to mention in previous posts that I have a Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 running just fine on one of my USB 3.0 ports. Obviously, without the speed provided by USB 3.0.

Cheers
Pierre
Image


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 33 guests