Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

METRONOME

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

TR-808
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 7:38 am

METRONOME

Postby TR-808 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 5:30 pm

Just a quick one, Why dose the METRONOME Click "Track" Register on the
main Master Volume, Surely that's not right? That should not output on
Playback/Recording, May be I'm missing an option to turn that off on playback/
Recording?

Cheers,

TR

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6390
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: METRONOME

Postby Mark Bliss » Thu Apr 06, 2017 7:27 pm

Not sure exactly what you mean by "register on the main master volume" but:
The metronome can be set to be heard on project playback, recording only, any desired count in can be added......
Page 108 in the manual, or right click on the metronome icon and open the "metronome and count in settings"

You could also create your own click track and use the mute button on the click track as desired.
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
Ian Craig
Posts: 805
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Contact:

Re: METRONOME

Postby Ian Craig » Fri Apr 07, 2017 2:08 am

TR-808 wrote:Just a quick one, Why dose the METRONOME Click "Track" Register on the
main Master Volume, Surely that's not right? That should not output on
Playback/Recording, May be I'm missing an option to turn that off on playback/
Recording?

Cheers,

TR


Yes, I've often wondered that myself. As it isn't being recorded or going to be mixed down it should not appear as part of the visual metering output which gets used to determine whether something is going to cause audio clipping or not
...
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio Build 418 (64bit)
AMD Ryzen Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (1st Gen, USB2).

TR-808
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 7:38 am

Re: METRONOME

Postby TR-808 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:21 am

"Yes, I've often wondered that myself"


It can be most off putting when metering your levels
It goes into the red, Can we have an option to disable
it in future releases?

Thanks,

TR

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6390
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: METRONOME

Postby Mark Bliss » Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:22 am

OK, now I think I understand the point-
Interesting. I never really thought too deeply about that.

If recording, I am focused on getting the track level right, and when mixing down and my focus is shifted to the master bus level, any metronome or click track is long gone.
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

TR-808
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 7:38 am

Re: METRONOME

Postby TR-808 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:39 am

I am focused on getting the track level right, and when mixing down and my focus is shifted to the master bus level,


Yeah same here Mark, But can be off Putting at the start/intro of the track & at low
volume(s) during the track/playback.

TR-808

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19230
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: METRONOME

Postby Acoustica Greg » Fri Apr 07, 2017 8:00 am

Hi,

You could add an instrument track and and output track. Choose a virtual instrument like Wood Block and add a clip with the beats, then loop it for the entire project. On the Mixer tab, direct the output of your new click track to the Output Bus. This would prevent the click track from affecting the master level indicator.

Check out the video on Output Bus tracks for more info: Mixcraft University: Mixer

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

cry77
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:06 am

Re: METRONOME

Postby cry77 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:22 am

Hello to al l!!
I'm new to this forum and mixcraft .. sorry my english ..
I would have urgent questions to which trying the program I can not find answers ... I would like to know:
1) how do I know the time, or bpm, of an original song?
2) Once its bpm is found, how can I create the metronome in a separate audio track so that it can then be sent to the drummer for headphones?
3) Can I turn some internal mixcraft metronome into an audio track?
thank you

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19230
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: METRONOME

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:32 am

cry77 wrote:Hello to al l!!
I'm new to this forum and mixcraft .. sorry my english ..
I would have urgent questions to which trying the program I can not find answers ... I would like to know:
1) how do I know the time, or bpm, of an original song?
2) Once its bpm is found, how can I create the metronome in a separate audio track so that it can then be sent to the drummer for headphones?
3) Can I turn some internal mixcraft metronome into an audio track?
thank you


Hello,

1. Not all sounds contain tempo data. If the sound does contain tempo data, and you load it into a new project, Mixcraft will ask if you want to change the project tempo to that of the sound. If Mixcraft doesn't do that, you can see what Mixcraft estimates to be the song's tempo on the Sound tab:

Image

Some sounds don't have a tempo at all, or the tempo changes, or the tempo is just really hard to detect, so you can't just rely on Mixcraft to tell you in all cases. If the tempo reading doesn't seem to be correct, you can add a track marker and try tapping the tempo with your mouse.

Image

2. There's no option to record the metronome, but you can throw some notes on an instrument track and then drag its end to the right to make a click track, like this:
woodblock4mins.mid
MIDI file with wood block click track.
(4.3 KiB) Downloaded 40 times


If you have multiple playback devices, and you want to send the audio from the click track to the drummer, you can use an output bus to do that: Mixcraft University - Output Bus Routing video tutorial,

3. See above.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests