Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

easy drummer and mixcraft

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

alisonmusic62
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 4:29 pm

easy drummer and mixcraft

Postby alisonmusic62 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 2:19 pm

I have an older version of easy drummer. I want to use it with mixcraft 8. I can get Mixcraft to recognize easy drummer. But when I go to the edit button to bring up easy drummer, I get no sound at all when I tap on the various drums. When I run easy drummer on its own with out mixcraft running it works fine. Is there something I'm missing or not setting up right?

alisonmusic62
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 4:29 pm

Re: easy drummer and mixcraft

Postby alisonmusic62 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 2:49 pm

I got easy drummer to make sound in mixcraft, but when I try to drag and drop a beat (sound) in to my instrument track it says, mixcraft failed to load the sound. So right now I can't record a sound or load a sound.

JonInc
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 2:30 pm
Location: East of Santa Monica

Re: easy drummer and mixcraft

Postby JonInc » Tue Aug 01, 2017 2:52 pm

Do you have Mixcraft properly set up to be used with your audio interface/ sound card?

Basic setup (First 3 minutes of vid):
http://www.acoustica.com/mixcraft/v7/help/mixcraft-quick-start-guide.html

Keyboard setup:
http://www.acoustica.com/mixcraft/v7/help/mixcraft-setting-up-usb-and-midi-controllers.html

Do the following to auto-scan and designate any installed VSTs (like EZ Drummer) with Mixcraft:

Start Mixcraft. Under File-Prefs-Plugins, click on "Edit VST/VSTi Folders". Click "Auto-Scan For VST Directories". This will find any VSTs you have installed and add their locations to Mixcraft's VST list. Be patient, this may take a while. When finished, OK out of the Preferences window to the main MC screen.

Restart Mixcraft. Open a virtual instrument track. Click edit button, play instrument.

alisonmusic62
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 4:29 pm

Re: easy drummer and mixcraft

Postby alisonmusic62 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 3:38 pm

I had already done what you posted, thanks for the info. But mixcraft won't let me drag and drop sounds into its instrument track.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19222
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: easy drummer and mixcraft

Postby Acoustica Greg » Tue Aug 01, 2017 3:52 pm

Hi,

You wouldn't be dragging and dropping sounds, you'd be dragging and dropping MIDI blocks onto the virtual instrument track in Mixcraft. Is that what you're trying to do?

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

alisonmusic62
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 4:29 pm

Re: easy drummer and mixcraft

Postby alisonmusic62 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 5:13 pm

Yes, Greg!

JonInc
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 2:30 pm
Location: East of Santa Monica

Re: easy drummer and mixcraft

Postby JonInc » Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:24 pm

Before we address dragging midi into Mixcraft, I just want to be sure that EZD is set up and working correctly in MC8. You can play and hear notes from a midi keyboard or the qwerty keyboard (Ctl+alt+k), is that correct?

And you can audition EZD's internal midi loops?

If the above are true, then what happens when you drag the midi from EZD into MC's VI track?

alisonmusic62
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 4:29 pm

Re: easy drummer and mixcraft

Postby alisonmusic62 » Wed Aug 02, 2017 2:45 pm

Hi JonInk. I have easy drummer running through mixcraft. I can trigger sounds with my midi keyboard. And I can audition the loops through easy drummer. But can not record what I trigger, or drag the midi loops into my mixcraft VI track. I get a message saying,mixcraft failed to load the sound. It could be corrupt or in an unsupported format.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19222
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: easy drummer and mixcraft

Postby Acoustica Greg » Wed Aug 02, 2017 2:56 pm

Hi,

What version of EZDrummer are you using? What build of Mixcraft 8 are you using? You can see the build number along the top of Mixcraft's screen.

Try starting Mixcraft by right-clicking on its icon and selecting "Run As Administrator." Does that fix the problem?

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

alisonmusic62
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 4:29 pm

Re: easy drummer and mixcraft

Postby alisonmusic62 » Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:06 pm

Thanks Greg, you solved my issue. Run As Administrator. Not sure why it has to be that way?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19222
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: easy drummer and mixcraft

Postby Acoustica Greg » Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:16 pm

Hi,

Some kind of Windows permission issue, most likely.

Make sure you do have Mixcraft version 8.1 build 405.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

alisonmusic62
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 4:29 pm

Re: easy drummer and mixcraft

Postby alisonmusic62 » Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:48 pm

I have latest release!

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19222
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: easy drummer and mixcraft

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Aug 03, 2017 9:07 am

alisonmusic62 wrote:I have latest release!


Just checking! :wink: We fixed a lot of bugs.
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
AHornsby
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:42 pm
Location: NE Oklahoma

Re: easy drummer and mixcraft

Postby AHornsby » Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:31 am

Acoustica Greg wrote:Just checking! :wink: We fixed a lot of bugs.


Hopefully more than were created. :lol:

bootsycoxproductions
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 9:50 am

Re: easy drummer and mixcraft

Postby bootsycoxproductions » Thu Jun 28, 2018 4:19 pm

I'm having the same issue, MC 8.1.413, EZD 1.4.0 Tried everything that I can think of including the open as admin. Toontrack is trying to help me but to no avail...Any other ideas? I'm starting to get angry. Spent the last 8 hours trying to figure this out.


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 28 guests