Page 1 of 1

Piano Roll Timeline Out of Sync

Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:32 am
by sjoens
Just started using MC8 and noticed the Edit window timelines are way out of sync with the main timeline. All start at 0 but by measure 65 the Wave Editor is at 63, and the PRV/Step Seq. is at 57. Will this be fixed?

Re: Piano Roll Timeline Out of Sync

Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:17 pm
by Acoustica Eric
I'm not seeing this behavior and nobody else reported it. Hmm, can you upload a sample project for me to try out?

Re: Piano Roll Timeline Out of Sync

Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 7:25 pm
by sjoens
My post was a little misleading. What's happening is the MIDI clips in question don't start at measure 1. One starts at measure 9, but in the Edit window it shows the beginning of the clip at measure 1, which is out of sync with the main timeline, which is confusing to me.

In other words, the Edit windows start measure 1 at the beginning of the open clip instead of the beginning of the song. It would be less confusing if each window was in sync with the main timeline.

Also, if I click on measure 12 in the main timeline to set the Now Time, the Edit windows don't follow that. It would help in isolating notes that need editing easier if they did.

Re: Piano Roll Timeline Out of Sync

Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:46 am
by Acoustica Eric
You mean like this?
Image

That is referring to measure or beat 1 in the clip itself, not in the project.

Re: Piano Roll Timeline Out of Sync

Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:08 am
by sjoens
Thanks, I figured as much. It's a bit confusing when I'm using the main window to reference where I am while editing in the Editor.

Re: Piano Roll Timeline Out of Sync

Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:18 am
by Acoustica Greg
You can glance at the clip offset setting to see where you are in the project.

offsetvirtualinstrumentclip.png
Clip offset
offsetvirtualinstrumentclip.png (83.6 KiB) Viewed 1738 times


And you can even manually type in an offset value to move a clip to a particular location if you want.

Re: Piano Roll Timeline Out of Sync

Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 7:54 pm
by tongsong
this is so inconvience and weird way of work flow, MC should have a selectable view of linear or loop based