Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

program changes or other controler data.

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

gerhost
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:07 am

program changes or other controler data.

Postby gerhost » Sat May 04, 2019 11:56 am

Hello"

I have Mixcraft 8 and I am very satisfied.
But until today I do not know how to write fixes in a midi track program changes or other controler data.

Example:

Add three instrumental tracks with acoustic sounds to the project window.
In GM. Because I need these sounds for my keyboard.

Channel 9 bass
Channel 10 drums
Channel 11 guitar

How do I get these sounds written on the track?

Is there a switch (function) to commit Program Change?

Can someone help me please?
Greetings Gerry

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1092
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: program changes or other controler data.

Postby jlouvar » Sat May 04, 2019 2:29 pm

gerhost wrote:Hello"

I have Mixcraft 8 and I am very satisfied.
But until today I do not know how to write fixes in a midi track program changes or other controler data.

Example:

Add three instrumental tracks with acoustic sounds to the project window.
In GM. Because I need these sounds for my keyboard.

Channel 9 bass
Channel 10 drums
Channel 11 guitar

How do I get these sounds written on the track?

Is there a switch (function) to commit Program Change?

Can someone help me please?
Greetings Gerry


Hmm, I don’t understand the question... Are you trying to record live to a track, or add sample/loops to tracks, or something else?
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

gerhost
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:07 am

Re: program changes or other controler data.

Postby gerhost » Sat May 04, 2019 2:48 pm

Only for pure midi tracks to record. If I save the recorded tracks as Midifile and reload is not the same sound from before but only piano. Before that, drums, bass and guitar were set.

Just one example: drums, bass and guitar

Sorry for my bad English. That's Google Translate

Gerry

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 3447
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: program changes or other controler data.

Postby outteh » Sat May 04, 2019 3:01 pm

Save the project, not just the tracks. After you have saved the project you can output the tracks. If you are familiar with midi commands, in the sound tab, in the piano roll you can put in a program change parameter which tells midi what instrument to use when the track is loaded back. You’ll have to figure out what number is what instrument. You can usually find a GM table of instrument numbers/commands on the internet. :D

User avatar
Ian Craig
Posts: 830
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Contact:

Re: program changes or other controler data.

Postby Ian Craig » Mon May 06, 2019 3:08 am

This is a very good question i.e. why when midi files are loaded (or why, when Mixcraft project files are exported to MIDI, then reloaded) are the original volumes not included (the FX aren't either) ? I did a test and found what I had found on previous occasions during usage. Check the differences
Test.mx8
(43.33 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
Test.mid
(1.22 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
...
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio Build 418 (64bit)
AMD Ryzen 8 Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (1st Gen, USB2).

gerhost
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:07 am

Re: program changes or other controler data.

Postby gerhost » Mon May 06, 2019 3:25 am

Ian Craig wrote:This is a very good question i.e. why when midi files are loaded (or why, when Mixcraft project files are exported to MIDI, then reloaded) are the original volumes not included (the FX aren't either) ? I did a test and found what I had found on previous occasions during usage. Check the differences
Test.mx8
Test.mid


unfortunately do not understand her answer. I'm looking for something else.

Gerry

User avatar
Ian Craig
Posts: 830
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Contact:

Re: program changes or other controler data.

Postby Ian Craig » Mon May 06, 2019 10:35 am

gerhost wrote:unfortunately do not understand her answer.

:lol: Obviously 8)
...
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio Build 418 (64bit)
AMD Ryzen 8 Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (1st Gen, USB2).

mick
Posts: 1448
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:33 am

Re: program changes or other controler data.

Postby mick » Mon May 06, 2019 10:39 am

You can use the suggestion from outteh (Tom) or, you can setup a few tracks with different instruments and copy sections of the midi data to each track for the section you want a specific instrument to play. This is only good for playback and not live performance. For instance, setup piano, flute, guitar etc and split the whole track into sections, put a section onto the piano instrument track, put another section on the flute track and so on. You will have some tracks with blank measures as another track takes over.

gerhost
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:07 am

Re: program changes or other controler data.

Postby gerhost » Mon May 06, 2019 10:58 am

Thank you for all the tips, unfortunately that's not what I'm looking for

Gerry

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1092
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: program changes or other controler data.

Postby jlouvar » Mon May 06, 2019 11:18 am

In the future before exiting Mixcraft click on the little blue floppy icon on the top of the DAW and name/save your project to avoid those types of problems.
Attachments
Capture.PNG 101a.PNG
Capture.PNG 101a.PNG (5.09 KiB) Viewed 826 times
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

mick
Posts: 1448
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:33 am

Re: program changes or other controler data.

Postby mick » Mon May 06, 2019 1:02 pm

Last throw of the dice here, is this what you need? 3 tracks - bass, drum, guitar on channels 9, 10, 11.
If you need the instruments from a midi keyboard (as opposed to a controller keyboard with no instruments) then you need to go deeper into the preferences and select your keyboard as sound source and also, look at your keyboard manual. So far, you haven't supplied any relevent info, the question is a bit vague so we are all guessing a bit.

3 tracks.PNG
3 tracks.PNG (43.57 KiB) Viewed 822 times

gerhost
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:07 am

Re: program changes or other controler data.

Postby gerhost » Mon May 06, 2019 1:48 pm

hello, thanks for the help.

Greetings Gerry

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19564
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: program changes or other controler data.

Postby Acoustica Greg » Tue May 07, 2019 11:02 am

Ian Craig wrote:This is a very good question i.e. why when midi files are loaded (or why, when Mixcraft project files are exported to MIDI, then reloaded) are the original volumes not included (the FX aren't either) ? I did a test and found what I had found on previous occasions during usage.


To avoid this problem open the MIDI file by clicking on the File menu and selecting "Open Project," don't use "Add Sound File" to load it.
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19564
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: program changes or other controler data.

Postby Acoustica Greg » Tue May 07, 2019 11:03 am

As others have mentioned, you can add Program Change and other CC messages in the Piano Roll.

Image

Note: there's an option in MIDI preferences to strip Program Change commands from imported MIDI files, and it is on by default.
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Ian Craig
Posts: 830
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Contact:

Re: program changes or other controler data.

Postby Ian Craig » Wed May 08, 2019 10:47 am

Acoustica Greg wrote:
Ian Craig wrote:This is a very good question i.e. why when midi files are loaded (or why, when Mixcraft project files are exported to MIDI, then reloaded) are the original volumes not included (the FX aren't either) ? I did a test and found what I had found on previous occasions during usage.


To avoid this problem open the MIDI file by clicking on the File menu and selecting "Open Project," don't use "Add Sound File" to load it.


Greg,
look at this picture
Greg.jpg
Greg.jpg (552.48 KiB) Viewed 698 times
...
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio Build 418 (64bit)
AMD Ryzen 8 Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (1st Gen, USB2).


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests