Page 1 of 1

midi file load

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 4:10 am
by bibiali123
hi when i load a midi file no acoutica instruments are loaded , it,s a Tune1000 midi file.

thanks steve

Re: midi file load

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 6:37 am
by outteh
Are you loading as a new project or a sound file? Load as a new project, this should pick up the midi info to determine instruments. :D

Re: midi file load

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 8:38 am
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

Yes, you should try opening it as a project file. More specifically, open the MIDI file by clicking on the File menu and selecting Open Project.

Greg

Re: midi file load

Posted: Sat May 18, 2019 3:40 am
by bibiali123
hi tried to load as new project still no luck with the instruments loading.
it just loads midi file there is instrument info on file as it is a tune 1000.
the file loads with sound in cakewalk by bandlab but i like mixcraft better.

thanks again steve

Re: midi file load

Posted: Sat May 18, 2019 9:14 am
by Acoustica Eric
Can you upload the file for us to test?

Re: midi file load

Posted: Sun May 19, 2019 12:09 am
by bibiali123
hi this is the midi file , i have lots of these.

thanks steve

Re: midi file load

Posted: Sun May 19, 2019 6:43 am
by Acoustica Eric
Here's what it sounds like loaded into Mixcraft here, is it right?

Re: midi file load

Posted: Sun May 19, 2019 8:15 am
by mick
For a second opinion to Eric I downloaded the midi file, used "open project" in the file dropdown and it plays perfectly. No instruments are listed in the track header but that could be something to do with the program the midi file was written on and the way Mixcraft reads the midi info, or if any track info is present in the file. If you right click the little keyboard it will direct you to the instruments where you can make changes track by track by solo'ing each track in turn. I already made improvements within a minuet or so, I always find Mixcraft does a great job of midi files, mostly unbeatable imho. The midi file and Mixcraft work fine here. :D

Re: midi file load

Posted: Sun May 19, 2019 8:27 am
by Acoustica Eric
The right click thing only works when the loaded instrument has a gui. It won't show one that doesn't. The acoustic piano for example.
You would need to left click the piano icon to see what's loaded.

Re: midi file load

Posted: Sun May 19, 2019 2:45 pm
by mick
Ooops! my mistake left it is! :D

Re: midi file load

Posted: Mon May 20, 2019 3:37 pm
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

You can click "Change Instrument," then click Show Details and look at which preset is selected for each track if you want to find out which instrument preset is which.

Image

Greg

Re: midi file load

Posted: Tue May 21, 2019 8:52 am
by bibiali123
hi thanks for all your help , getting there.

thanks again steve