Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Metering in Mixcraft

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Metering in Mixcraft

Postby bigaquarium » Tue Aug 06, 2019 4:43 pm

.
Last edited by bigaquarium on Mon Aug 26, 2019 5:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Drdish007
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2019 8:07 pm
Location: Tecumseh, ON, Canada

Re: Metering in Mixcraft

Postby Drdish007 » Tue Aug 06, 2019 7:05 pm

Hi,
I use the Voxengo SPAN plug-in because it has the K-system metering option. The Mixcraft meters appear to work as peak meters. I place the SPAN plug-in on my output bus, as the last plug-in. I have the free version and it works well.

- Myran
Mixcraft8RS(418)64Bit, Win. 10 64Bit, Intel i5 @ 3.20GHz, ssd 250GB(os),1TB hdd(library audio),1TB hdd (recorded audio),Nvidia GeForce1050i video,16GB RAM,Focusrite 18I20 2nd gen usb,Motu 5 ch.midi interface, D5,U220,Keystation88,B4000+,Leslie,Rhodes73mk1

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6484
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Metering in Mixcraft

Postby Mark Bliss » Wed Aug 07, 2019 8:47 am

Peak. dBfs.

Ballistics? Vague graphic representation at best IMO. But I'm not sure that matters too much.

Specifications? if you mean Calibration, In the mixer view you get some metering scaling cues.

In the arranger view, 0dBfs should be approx. where the meter turns red, -18 is approx. where the meter turns yellow. (Actually I tested with a calibrated test tone and as I recall, it lines up right about where the default fader position is on the scale on the track view.)
*All approx. because they simply aren't really that precise...…

Could provide screen shots of the above later if it helps?

More info needed for better answers I think.
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1038
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Metering in Mixcraft

Postby jlouvar » Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:48 am

I don't know, hopefully Eric or Greg will respond in detail. But the meters are peak meters and the manual states input signals should be kept in the green to yellow/no red and master output shouldn't hit hard red clip indicator for best results.
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Metering in Mixcraft

Postby bigaquarium » Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:09 am

.
Last edited by bigaquarium on Mon Aug 26, 2019 5:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Metering in Mixcraft

Postby bigaquarium » Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:13 am

.
Last edited by bigaquarium on Mon Aug 26, 2019 5:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6484
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Metering in Mixcraft

Postby Mark Bliss » Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:14 am

bigaquarium wrote: the channel FX inserts are all post-fader, correct?-N

No. Pre-fader.

IE: If you insert a meter plug-in on the master bus, then change the fader setting, the meter doesn't accurately measure the master output.
This is why my master fader is left on 0 and I never use it. 8)
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6484
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Metering in Mixcraft

Postby Mark Bliss » Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:18 am

Not sure exactly what the question is Nathan, but if it helps.....
I don't rely on the stock meters for much of anything. Recording level maybe sometimes.
I use meter plug-ins for increased accuracy for gain staging, mix-down, mastering etc.
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Metering in Mixcraft

Postby bigaquarium » Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:21 am

.
Last edited by bigaquarium on Mon Aug 26, 2019 5:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Metering in Mixcraft

Postby bigaquarium » Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:24 am

.
Last edited by bigaquarium on Mon Aug 26, 2019 5:14 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1038
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Metering in Mixcraft

Postby jlouvar » Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:24 am

Mark, which meter plugin do you use? Thanks
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Metering in Mixcraft

Postby bigaquarium » Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:26 am

.
Last edited by bigaquarium on Mon Aug 26, 2019 5:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6484
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Metering in Mixcraft

Postby Mark Bliss » Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:27 pm

bigaquarium wrote:I’ve gotten as far as I can get without the theory so starting to learn from scratch.

Well thats no problem, but to give the best answers I need to know where to start!
For instance understanding the differences/relationships between old fashioned analog age dB and dBfs, then theres LU, and various other measurements of varying relevance. :wink:

bigaquarium wrote:Unfortunately I can’t join the K20 club yet because I’m on headphones!

Lost me there. Not sure what this means.

BTW/IMO all Katz really did was move the scale around. So 0dB wasnt really 0 anymore, but referencing some new target levels. The concept was useful for a short time in reference to the "loudness war" situation, but again IMO the situation has changed in a way that "moving the goal posts" really isnt necessary. But perhaps we are getting ahead of ourselves or I am misunderstanding the question?

bigaquarium wrote:Eg separate the channel and mixer faders.

Another :?: For me. Dont know what you mean here.

bigaquarium wrote:By the way a pre fader insert option would be a helpful addition!

OK again, the problem arises because the inserts ARE pre-fader in this case.
Ideally (IMO) any current DAW should include a native master bus metering tool set that functions post fader, and includes true peak, RMS/LU measurements as well as the standard dBfs.
Would be a really good location for a mono toggle as well.... To check for mono compatability. Just sayin'

jlouvar wrote:Mark, which meter plugin do you use? Thanks

Varies. suspect we'll come back around to that shortly. :wink:
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1038
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Metering in Mixcraft

Postby jlouvar » Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:39 pm

Hmm, I don't know why you'd need/want more that one meter plugin, but okay.
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

bigaquarium
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Metering in Mixcraft

Postby bigaquarium » Wed Aug 07, 2019 6:08 pm

.
Last edited by bigaquarium on Mon Aug 26, 2019 5:16 am, edited 1 time in total.


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 29 guests