Page 1 of 1

Idiot (Me) Can't Pan a Mono Track, Help?

Posted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 9:20 pm
by jchase9101
to make what's happening as clear as possible, i made a short (42 second) video showing what's happening.

https://youtu.be/qzLn5Koc0Mw

..i just want to pan a mono audio track hard left, and only hear it through the left side.
It works when i pan it hard right, but if i pan it hard left, the Mixcraft output meters at the bottom of the interface window show signal coming out through both sides, left and right
Some details:
1. I don't record guitars with mics or amps, I just go straight into my digital interface (TASCAM US-2000)
2. There's no effects on either the track itself or the master output track.
3. In the video you see that I have the track inside a SubMix buss, but this happens whether it's just sitting on its own in the session or if it's in a SubMix buss.

I'm using Mixcraft Pro 7.7, Windows 7, and Tascam US-2000.

... Thanks in advance for any guidance

Re: Idiot (Me) Can't Pan a Mono Track, Help?

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 8:38 am
by Mark Bliss
How was it recorded? One channel, mono, etc.
What is the result panned to center?

Re: Idiot (Me) Can't Pan a Mono Track, Help?

Posted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:43 am
by Rolling Estonian
In my Audient I/O there's a stereo/mono selector, is it possible that it's set to stereo? Also, any plugins on that track or the Master that could be the culprit?

M

Re: Idiot (Me) Can't Pan a Mono Track, Help?

Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:51 am
by trevlyns
What I'm seeing (or rather not seeing) is the automation line in the Pan Automation track below the audio track. Looks like it could be set either full right or left - it should be in the middle?
EDIT: On closer inspection it seems to be set 100 percent Left (on the bottom) which produces the same results in a test. Right = right; left = both!

Re: Idiot (Me) Can't Pan a Mono Track, Help?

Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 4:33 pm
by comedians
Right click on the track, choose properties, channels and see which side it's recorded on.