Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Mix To New Audio Track Question.

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1034
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Mix To New Audio Track Question.

Postby jlouvar » Tue Aug 13, 2019 9:41 am

When using mix to a new audio track, can I use my MPK249 to add automation (pan and volume) from multiple tracks to the new audio track (for on-the-fly mixing)?
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19409
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mix To New Audio Track Question.

Postby Acoustica Greg » Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:02 am

Hi,

Mix to New Audio Track just bounces the track as it is.

But you can certainly do panning and volume automation as you record the track for the first time.

Or add them to an existing track.

That way, it's not set in stone in the audio recording and you can adjust it.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1034
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Mix To New Audio Track Question.

Postby jlouvar » Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:53 am

Hmm, okay thank you.

What I'm looking for, or hoping for, is a work-around way to add automation during "playback" on-the-fly using my MPK249... In other words, I want to save automation (pan & volume) during "playback" using an external controller on-the-fly rather than using automation points.

So far, the only work-around I've found is using two computers... Similar to how we use to mixdown recordings from a 24-track tape machine to a two-track tape recording machine (master tape).
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19409
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mix To New Audio Track Question.

Postby Acoustica Greg » Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:06 pm

Hi,

After you MIDI map volume or pan, arm the automation lane:

Image

Check out the videos on automation: Using Automation in Mixcraft.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1034
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Mix To New Audio Track Question.

Postby jlouvar » Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:46 pm

EDIT: CORRECTION... I CAN save automation during playback with an external controller by arming the automation lane... Awesome, Thank you.
Last edited by jlouvar on Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1034
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Mix To New Audio Track Question.

Postby jlouvar » Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:55 pm

Can this be done simultaneously with multiple tracks?
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19409
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mix To New Audio Track Question.

Postby Acoustica Greg » Tue Aug 13, 2019 1:25 pm

Hi,

If you map it, it will come.

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1034
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: Mix To New Audio Track Question.

Postby jlouvar » Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:03 pm

:lol: Yep it works... Thanks Greg. 8)
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 36 guests