Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

3M = Monophonic Mix Monitoring

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

warhenk@yahoo.com
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 1:03 pm
Location: The Bronx, NYC
Contact:

3M = Monophonic Mix Monitoring

Postby warhenk@yahoo.com » Thu Jul 04, 2019 2:36 pm

Hi folks! First post. Loving the MC trial, pretty sure I'm committed to purchase, I like it more than Reaper. Is there a simple way to toggle the mix monitoring from stereo to mono in real-time? Thanks!
Best, Warren

Warren A. Keller - woodwindist/composer/producer
Spontaneous Groovin' Combustion™
www.spontaneousgroovincombustion.com
"She is all that I have left and music is her name"

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19557
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: 3M = Monophonic Mix Monitoring

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Jul 04, 2019 2:42 pm

Hi,

No, but if you're using an audio interface, it might have an option to do that?

Greg
Mixcraft 8 - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

warhenk@yahoo.com
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 1:03 pm
Location: The Bronx, NYC
Contact:

Re: 3M = Monophonic Mix Monitoring

Postby warhenk@yahoo.com » Thu Jul 04, 2019 3:34 pm

Thank you Greg. Is there a way to submit feature suggestions to the development team? This is a critical option for checking the stereo image during mixing. You want to be able to toggle between mono and stereo. Even the primitive PG Music RealBand DAW has this. Thanks!
Best, Warren

Warren A. Keller - woodwindist/composer/producer
Spontaneous Groovin' Combustion™
www.spontaneousgroovincombustion.com
"She is all that I have left and music is her name"

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA

Re: 3M = Monophonic Mix Monitoring

Postby jlouvar » Thu Jul 04, 2019 5:00 pm

warhenk@yahoo.com wrote:Thank you Greg. Is there a way to submit feature suggestions to the development team?


Yes, checkout this thread.
http://forums.acoustica.com/bbs/viewtop ... =4&t=18343
- Joe -
MX 8.1 Pro, Build 418, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6522
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: 3M = Monophonic Mix Monitoring

Postby Mark Bliss » Sat Jul 06, 2019 11:37 am

Hi Warren,

No disagreement, the lack of a simple mono toggle function on the master bus is an oversight imo. Any mixer should have that.

As a workaround, I have simply used a plug-in on the master bus that offers that function.
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

warhenk@yahoo.com
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 1:03 pm
Location: The Bronx, NYC
Contact:

Re: 3M = Monophonic Mix Monitoring

Postby warhenk@yahoo.com » Sat Jul 06, 2019 11:56 am

Mark, I looked at some plugins online but didn't find a simple (and preferably free!) looking one. Any thoughts? Let's get this simple function added soon. Thanks Mark!
Best, Warren

Warren A. Keller - woodwindist/composer/producer
Spontaneous Groovin' Combustion™
www.spontaneousgroovincombustion.com
"She is all that I have left and music is her name"

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6522
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: 3M = Monophonic Mix Monitoring

Postby Mark Bliss » Sat Jul 06, 2019 3:11 pm

One I could recommend is the free A1 stereo ( by Alex Hilton)
(You'll have to Google it, sorry. I'd post a link but its a pita on my tablet.)

It has a big 'ol mono button, and to be honest, thats all I use it for the vast majority of the time.
The plug-in does have a "bass safe" function i do use occasionally, to collapse low freq content to mono below a selected frequency.
The stereo spread function works ok relative to other examples, but I am always wary of stereo spread enhancements. A little may be OK, but.....

All said, the mono button is a great utility, and its free 8)
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

warhenk@yahoo.com
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 1:03 pm
Location: The Bronx, NYC
Contact:

Re: 3M = Monophonic Mix Monitoring

Postby warhenk@yahoo.com » Sat Jul 06, 2019 5:17 pm

Thanks Mark! A big ol' button I can handle. ;>) Sorry to be a noobie dunce, but how would you put this on the master out to hear the entire mix in mono? I tried it on an individual stereo track, and it works great but not sure where to place it. Thanks all!
Best, Warren

Warren A. Keller - woodwindist/composer/producer
Spontaneous Groovin' Combustion™
www.spontaneousgroovincombustion.com
"She is all that I have left and music is her name"

User avatar
comedians
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:24 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 3M = Monophonic Mix Monitoring

Postby comedians » Sun Jul 07, 2019 5:17 am

Hi Warren
Place it as last effect on the FX of the Master.
You will see that below the low Eq knob on the Main Mix (master) fader on the Mixer or
the last button to the right of the BPM, Key and horizontal output meter on the control bar.

As Mark says it's all you need.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6522
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: 3M = Monophonic Mix Monitoring

Postby Mark Bliss » Sun Jul 07, 2019 6:20 am

Backing up for clarification- If using simply as a mono toggle function while mixing or to ck. mono compatibility, I would have it placed on the master bus.
If I were using other functions, such as the previously mentioned "safe bass" I would likely insert it on a track or sub-mix bus.

For mixing, I often have three basic utilities inserted on my master, adding frequency spectrum analysis and more detailed level metering.

MASTER BUS INSERT:

Master bus inserts.png
Master bus inserts.png (88.49 KiB) Viewed 667 times

MONO BUTTON:

Mono button.png
Mono button.png (148.14 KiB) Viewed 668 times


Everyone's needs and preferences vary, This but one recommendation because it is simple and free.
There are many other stereo or Mid/Side processors that could be used to accomplish the mono toggle for example, and there's many options for metering etc. as well. You kind of have to explore a bit and see what suites you personally IMO. For example there are spectrum analyzers built into many parametric equalizers, and many metering options with various features. Those shown are but a few options, yet come well recommended as a starting point. 8)
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6522
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: 3M = Monophonic Mix Monitoring

Postby Mark Bliss » Sun Jul 07, 2019 6:35 am

Oh and BTW, you aren't a "newbe dunce" you are asking good questions and we all learn together here.

Its good to see a new forum member who is interested in recording/mixing. Welcome! 8)
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

warhenk@yahoo.com
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 1:03 pm
Location: The Bronx, NYC
Contact:

Re: 3M = Monophonic Mix Monitoring

Postby warhenk@yahoo.com » Sun Jul 07, 2019 8:39 am

Thanks Mark, I appreciate that. In truth, I'm an extremely fast learner, and as part of my day job, I document how to use software for others. So, it's always slightly uncomfortable to not be able to figure something basic out! But as you intimate, yourself, this forum, and similar user groups are filled with very generous and kind people with the heart of a teacher, which I myself have. So, I appreciate the speedy and succinct help very, very much!
Best, Warren

Warren A. Keller - woodwindist/composer/producer
Spontaneous Groovin' Combustion™
www.spontaneousgroovincombustion.com
"She is all that I have left and music is her name"


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 35 guests