Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

First note goofups

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

bigaquarium
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

First note goofups

Postby bigaquarium » Sun Jan 13, 2019 3:36 pm

Evening,

I have noticed that sometimes VSTi plugins will get very confused on the first note of a song and will briefly play in the wrong octave. Is there a reason for this? I have a project that never did that before, I recorded some unrelated tracks, and now every time I try to mix down to a MP3 or a WAV, one of the synths misses the first note, and the other one plays in the wrong octave continuously.

:?

- Nathan
Lenovo ThinkCentre m93z, Intel i5-4570s 2.9 ghz, 8/256GB
Line6 TonePort UX1
M-Audio KeyRig 49
Fatar SL-161 (When it feels like working)
Roland UM-1
Blue Snowball
Mixcraft 8 ProStudio (64 bit)

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: Santa Rosa, CA - USA

Re: First note goofups

Postby jlouvar » Sun Jan 13, 2019 3:41 pm

Out of curiosity, does it only do it on mixdowns, or does it also do it during playback too?
Mixcraft 8.1 Pro (64-Bit Build 418), Lenovo Thinkpad L380 Yoga (8GB, 64-bit), Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Korg TR61, Akai MPK 2 Mini, Fender American P and J basses, Strat, D35, and a lot of microphones, etc.

bigaquarium
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: First note goofups

Postby bigaquarium » Sun Jan 13, 2019 3:48 pm

Hi,

Great question. In this case only on mixdown, although it has happened on playback before too. Sometimes I will put a silent note in front of a MIDI clip to get it to snap out of it, not sure what I'm going to do this time but I just moved everything to the right one bar to create a blank measure to hopefully get it sorted out.

- Nathan
Lenovo ThinkCentre m93z, Intel i5-4570s 2.9 ghz, 8/256GB
Line6 TonePort UX1
M-Audio KeyRig 49
Fatar SL-161 (When it feels like working)
Roland UM-1
Blue Snowball
Mixcraft 8 ProStudio (64 bit)

bigaquarium
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: First note goofups

Postby bigaquarium » Sun Jan 13, 2019 3:49 pm

If that doesn't work maybe I should mix some of these instruments to clips first individually eh?

- N
Lenovo ThinkCentre m93z, Intel i5-4570s 2.9 ghz, 8/256GB
Line6 TonePort UX1
M-Audio KeyRig 49
Fatar SL-161 (When it feels like working)
Roland UM-1
Blue Snowball
Mixcraft 8 ProStudio (64 bit)

bigaquarium
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: First note goofups

Postby bigaquarium » Sun Jan 13, 2019 4:24 pm

Wow. It took a lot of trackal calisthenics but I finally managed to cajole MC into squeezing out what I was looking for. All of the misbehavior was on Ultra Analog Session tracks save one (5 out of 6). I finally wound up mixing them down one by one with the afore-mentioned efforts to get them to play properly.

:x

- N
Lenovo ThinkCentre m93z, Intel i5-4570s 2.9 ghz, 8/256GB
Line6 TonePort UX1
M-Audio KeyRig 49
Fatar SL-161 (When it feels like working)
Roland UM-1
Blue Snowball
Mixcraft 8 ProStudio (64 bit)

User avatar
Ian Craig
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Contact:

Re: First note goofups

Postby Ian Craig » Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:58 am

Yeah, that's the answer, slide around problematic plugins using blank intros and mixdowns of tracks first. AAS (Applied Acoustic Systems, for those who don't know) make nice plugins, but they do often cause problems, the best examples of their incomplete programming I can think of are the fact that on the vst2 version of Virtual String Studio 3 it is impossible to name presets due to the double striking of every letter you type when naming a new preset, which forces you to use the vst3 version (I wasted an entire weekend before I realised that that might work). That and the fact that they have abandoned making 32bit versions of the software. It's annoying. ... Also make sure the arpeggiator is not switched on in the plugin to avoid wrong octave notes being produced.
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio Build 418 (64bit)
Intel Xeon Six Core 3.2 GHz, 32GB RAM, Windows 8.1
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (1st Gen, USB2)
(I'm 52) :shock:
https://iancraig1.bandcamp.com/

bigaquarium
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: First note goofups

Postby bigaquarium » Mon Jan 14, 2019 3:17 am

Ian Craig wrote:Also make sure the arpeggiator is not switched on in the plugin to avoid wrong octave notes being produced.


LOL, well one of them was arpeggiated on purpose so I guess that's a bit of a snag lol. All's well that ends well!

- N
Lenovo ThinkCentre m93z, Intel i5-4570s 2.9 ghz, 8/256GB
Line6 TonePort UX1
M-Audio KeyRig 49
Fatar SL-161 (When it feels like working)
Roland UM-1
Blue Snowball
Mixcraft 8 ProStudio (64 bit)


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests