Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

Idiot (Me) Can't Pan a Mono Track, Help?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

jchase9101
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2019 9:01 pm

Idiot (Me) Can't Pan a Mono Track, Help?

Postby jchase9101 » Tue Aug 06, 2019 9:20 pm

to make what's happening as clear as possible, i made a short (42 second) video showing what's happening.

https://youtu.be/qzLn5Koc0Mw

..i just want to pan a mono audio track hard left, and only hear it through the left side.
It works when i pan it hard right, but if i pan it hard left, the Mixcraft output meters at the bottom of the interface window show signal coming out through both sides, left and right
Some details:
1. I don't record guitars with mics or amps, I just go straight into my digital interface (TASCAM US-2000)
2. There's no effects on either the track itself or the master output track.
3. In the video you see that I have the track inside a SubMix buss, but this happens whether it's just sitting on its own in the session or if it's in a SubMix buss.

I'm using Mixcraft Pro 7.7, Windows 7, and Tascam US-2000.

... Thanks in advance for any guidance

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6514
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Idiot (Me) Can't Pan a Mono Track, Help?

Postby Mark Bliss » Wed Aug 07, 2019 8:38 am

How was it recorded? One channel, mono, etc.
What is the result panned to center?
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1329
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: Idiot (Me) Can't Pan a Mono Track, Help?

Postby Rolling Estonian » Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:43 am

In my Audient I/O there's a stereo/mono selector, is it possible that it's set to stereo? Also, any plugins on that track or the Master that could be the culprit?

M

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2402
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Idiot (Me) Can't Pan a Mono Track, Help?

Postby trevlyns » Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:51 am

What I'm seeing (or rather not seeing) is the automation line in the Pan Automation track below the audio track. Looks like it could be set either full right or left - it should be in the middle?
EDIT: On closer inspection it seems to be set 100 percent Left (on the bottom) which produces the same results in a test. Right = right; left = both!
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website
Soundcloud
FaceBook

Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
comedians
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:24 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Idiot (Me) Can't Pan a Mono Track, Help?

Postby comedians » Sun Aug 11, 2019 4:33 pm

Right click on the track, choose properties, channels and see which side it's recorded on.


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 38 guests