Microhpone Upgrade

Use this forum to discuss preamps, guitars, microphones, mixers, drums, turntables, keyboards and recording equipment in general.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

Mattakriptic

Microhpone Upgrade

Post by Mattakriptic »

Hey everyone! Hope all is doing well!!

So basically, I'm thinking about doing a a microphone upgrade - My current one I'm using is the classic Rode-NT1-A, Mainly for vocals although I have tried it with Acoustic guitar and manged to get some pretty good results (In my opinion)

The current microphone I'm looking to upgrade to is the sE Electronics sE2200a II, again mainly for Vocals (Singing & Rap) Was wondering if anyone has any experience with this mic and if you guys think it would be a 'Good' decision, thanks for reading guys!
Mark Bliss

Re: Microhpone Upgrade

Post by Mark Bliss »

I have no personal experience with the sE, but have heard good things about the product line.

But I also am not sure what you would expect to gain from this. I wouldn't expect a great deal of difference between it and the Rode for your described usage.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page
Mattakriptic

Post by Mattakriptic »

Yeah I've looked up some reviews online about the microphone and heard it's one of the top quality mics for such a low budget.

Don't get me wrong, the Rode has provided me with great recording for my vocals and I have been more than satisfied with the results, though I have noticed that it can be a bit TOO harsh on the high end, yes I know some EQ can help tame the frequencies but I'd rather prefer not have the problem in the first place.

Keep in mind I plan to keep using it, I'd also just like to experiment with the sE and see what I can achieve with it, plus it's always nice to have options :).
mixyguy2

Post by mixyguy2 »

Mark Bliss wrote:I have no personal experience with the sE, but have heard good things about the product line.