'Popping' issue

Support and feedback for Pianissimo virtual grand piano software

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

Post Reply
Tazzitek
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2021 9:58 pm

'Popping' issue

Post by Tazzitek » Sat Feb 06, 2021 10:09 pm

Hey there,

So I'm using Pianissimo with Mixcraft 9 Pro, and it seems to have a kind of pop occasionally around the lower end of the piano. It's hard to pinpoint exactly what it is and how to replicate it, but it currently seems to be happening after D1 has been hit three times in quick succession, then held on a fourth hit. It sounds like an audio jack being pulled without turning down the amp first. And when reverb is on, that sound is amplified into what I can only call thunder (or the piano being dropped from high enough to destroy it).
I have my audio quality set to 192kHz and 32 bit float.
I have recorded it with and without reverb, and attached it to this message.

I hope someone can help me with this, as I really liked using this VST!

Cheers,
Hayden
Attachments
Pianissimo pop.mp3
(569.39 KiB) Downloaded 122 times

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21901
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: 'Popping' issue

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Feb 08, 2021 11:47 am

Hi,

That sounds like a problem with your Sound Device preference settings. Make sure your latency or buffers aren't set too low. If you have an audio interface that provides an ASIO driver, try ASIO mode.

If those things, don't help, please provide more information about your playback device and which settings you're using.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Check out our Mixcraft University 101 video tutorials.

Tazzitek
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2021 9:58 pm

Re: 'Popping' issue

Post by Tazzitek » Tue Feb 09, 2021 9:56 am

Hi Greg, thanks for the reply.

I have just tried ASIO mode, and I'm getting no sound at all. However, I have since restarted my computer, and the issue seems to have gone. I had noted that it was only happening at velocities of over about 100. I'm now wondering if it might have something to do with available memory?

Cheers,
Hayden

Post Reply