Mixer question "Mid 1 Mid 2" vs. "HiMid LoMid"

This forum is for use by the beta testing team. Team members can use it to discuss testing issues and help squash those elusive bugs.

NOTE: this forum is for beta software only. This is not a support forum for released software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

Post Reply
User avatar
Starship Krupa
Posts: 696
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 3:05 am
Location: California

Mixer question "Mid 1 Mid 2" vs. "HiMid LoMid"

Post by Starship Krupa » Sat Nov 23, 2019 7:05 pm

A question, relevant to the Mixer:

Given that the order of the parametric bands is top to bottom, why are the upper mids labeled "Mid2" and the lower mids labeled "Mid1?"

Is this a convention taken from a hardware EQ or other plug-in(s) that the strip EQ is modeled after?

I ask because of course I'm used to seeing things labeled top to bottom 1,2,3, etc.

Could they be labeled HiMid and LoMid instead? That would be a clearer indicator, at least to me, as to what they control.
-Erik
___________
3.4 GHz i7-3770, 16G RAM, Win 10 64-bit, ATi Radeon HD 5770
2X PreSonus Firepods, Event 20/20's, Alesis Monitor Ones, Alesis Point Sevens
Mixcraft Pro Studio 8.5, Cakewalk by BandLab

Anorax
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Mixer question "Mid 1 Mid 2" vs. "HiMid LoMid"

Post by Anorax » Sun Nov 24, 2019 1:16 am

I'd put this one in the bug tracker if I were you :wink:

User avatar
Starship Krupa
Posts: 696
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 3:05 am
Location: California

Re: Mixer question "Mid 1 Mid 2" vs. "HiMid LoMid"

Post by Starship Krupa » Sun Nov 24, 2019 3:17 am

I have done so, good sir. I hope the devs agree that it's more descriptive. Looks like there's room for the extra character.

https://bugz.acoustica.com/show_bug.cgi?id=11543
-Erik
___________
3.4 GHz i7-3770, 16G RAM, Win 10 64-bit, ATi Radeon HD 5770
2X PreSonus Firepods, Event 20/20's, Alesis Monitor Ones, Alesis Point Sevens
Mixcraft Pro Studio 8.5, Cakewalk by BandLab

Post Reply