Plug-Ins Setting cuts off text in Mixcaraft 8

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
User avatar
frogbone
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2021 8:25 am

Plug-Ins Setting cuts off text in Mixcaraft 8

Post by frogbone » Sun Sep 26, 2021 10:39 am

Hey now,

i have experienced that when the language is set to german, the text is cut off within the Plug-Ins settings dialog. With Mixcraft 9 it doesn't line break and the text is fully displayed and not cut off.
Attachments
Plug-Ins settings dialog Mixcraft 9
Plug-Ins settings dialog Mixcraft 9
SettingsTextMixcraft9.png (185.35 KiB) Viewed 412 times
Plug-Ins settings dialog Mixcraft 8
Plug-Ins settings dialog Mixcraft 8
SettingsTextMixcraft8.png (39.77 KiB) Viewed 412 times
Hey Now,

frogbone

User avatar
frogbone
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2021 8:25 am

Re: Plug-Ins Setting cuts off text in Mixcaraft 8

Post by frogbone » Mon Sep 27, 2021 11:17 am

Be aware that you see a unicode codepoint Ü, ü as well as ö. Mixcraft is unicode aware regarding GUI controls, possibly not for a file path or file name.
Hey Now,

frogbone

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 22074
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Plug-Ins Setting cuts off text in Mixcaraft 8

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Sep 27, 2021 11:41 am

Hi,

Do you see the same problems in Mixcraft 9?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Check out our Mixcraft University 101 video tutorials.

User avatar
frogbone
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2021 8:25 am

Re: Plug-Ins Setting cuts off text in Mixcaraft 8

Post by frogbone » Tue Sep 28, 2021 4:32 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:
Mon Sep 27, 2021 11:41 am
Hi,

Do you see the same problems in Mixcraft 9?

Greg
No Greg, V9 doesn't have the same 'problems', the first attachment is a screenshot from V9, it is larger e. g. wider than the screeenshot of V8 which is the second attachment. But as you can see, the wider dialog doesn't make a line break in the textbox so the text fits in it. Give the V8 dialog the same width and all is fine. Of course posssibly for other languages the text is even longer. But there are software functions that let you calculate the width of a text by a given font and font size in order to get the needed width for a control. Create unit tests and find out if a text fits or not. If a test fails, increase the controls width or shorten the text. Just a suggestion.

P.S.
you could also set the height of a text control so that it can display only one line, no text break possible as the v9 dialog does. For a text that becomes cut off, show generally a tooltip when mouse hover such control in order to see the entire text in the tooltip.
Hey Now,

frogbone

User avatar
frogbone
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2021 8:25 am

Re: Plug-Ins Setting cuts off text in Mixcraft 8

Post by frogbone » Tue Sep 28, 2021 4:44 pm

By the way Greg,

look at the attachment screenshot i have created and added surrounding colored rectangles. There is a text surrounded by a green rectangle and this text line breaks but fits into the checkbox text control. Possibly the height of the checkbox text surrounded by the red rectangle has a lower height and so the second text line gets cut off.

P.S. sorry for the Mixcaraft typo, should read Mixcraft of course
Attachments
SettingsTextMixcraft8-2nd.png
SettingsTextMixcraft8-2nd.png (44.6 KiB) Viewed 341 times
Hey Now,

frogbone

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 22074
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Plug-Ins Setting cuts off text in Mixcaraft 8

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Sep 28, 2021 4:47 pm

Hi,

We're not going to be updating Mixcraft 8. Have you considered upgrading to Mixcraft 9?

Mixcraft Upgrade Check

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Check out our Mixcraft University 101 video tutorials.

User avatar
frogbone
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2021 8:25 am

Re: Plug-Ins Setting cuts off text in Mixcaraft 8

Post by frogbone » Tue Sep 28, 2021 5:02 pm

there is also wasted width within the V8 dialog, as you can see in the attached screeenshot. Use this width to increase the controls width.
Attachments
SettingsTextMixcraft8-3rd.png
SettingsTextMixcraft8-3rd.png (52.29 KiB) Viewed 337 times
Hey Now,

frogbone

User avatar
frogbone
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2021 8:25 am

Re: Plug-Ins Setting cuts off text in Mixcaraft 8

Post by frogbone » Tue Sep 28, 2021 5:07 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:
Tue Sep 28, 2021 4:47 pm
Hi,

We're not going to be updating Mixcraft 8. Have you considered upgrading to Mixcraft 9?

Mixcraft Upgrade Check

Greg
Hi Greg,

yes, i have one Mixcraft 7 version, two Mixcraft 8 versions and two Mixcraft 9 versions (Recording Studio as well as Pro Studio). Don't worry about my postings, it's just a "cosmetic bug", not a real bug. I can switch Mixcraft 8 to english (or shorten the german text) and all is fine. Of course i could also use Mixcraft 9, but i like the wood on the mixer that is absent in Mixcraft 9.
Hey Now,

frogbone

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 22074
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Plug-Ins Setting cuts off text in Mixcaraft 8

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Sep 28, 2021 6:53 pm

Hi,

Have you tried the Mixcraft 8 theme in Mixcraft 9’s display preferences?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Check out our Mixcraft University 101 video tutorials.

User avatar
frogbone
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2021 8:25 am

Re: Plug-Ins Setting cuts off text in Mixcaraft 8

Post by frogbone » Fri Oct 01, 2021 1:18 pm

Mixcraft 8 theme in Mixcraft 9’s display preferences?

No, i didn't do that. What do i have to do? In Micxraft 9 all is fine.
Hey Now,

frogbone

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 22074
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Plug-Ins Setting cuts off text in Mixcaraft 8

Post by Acoustica Greg » Fri Oct 01, 2021 1:48 pm

Hi,

Go into Display preferences, select the Mixcraft 8 visual theme, then restart Mixcraft.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Check out our Mixcraft University 101 video tutorials.

User avatar
frogbone
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2021 8:25 am

Re: Plug-Ins Setting cuts off text in Mixcaraft 8

Post by frogbone » Sat Oct 02, 2021 2:59 am

I've changed the theme to V8 within Mixcraft V9 but nothing changes. The dialog within Mixcraft V9 doesn't cut off any text anyway, it happens just with Mixcraft V8.
Hey Now,

frogbone

Bronzeage
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2021 12:43 am

Re: Plug-Ins Setting cuts off text in Mixcaraft 8

Post by Bronzeage » Sat Oct 02, 2021 5:59 am

I think Greg's theme suggestion was so you could use the wood style mixer.

User avatar
frogbone
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2021 8:25 am

Re: Plug-Ins Setting cuts off text in Mixcaraft 8

Post by frogbone » Thu Oct 07, 2021 3:10 am

Bronzeage wrote:
Sat Oct 02, 2021 5:59 am
I think Greg's theme suggestion was so you could use the wood style mixer.
Oh, i see. Thanks for the hint.
Hey Now,

frogbone

Post Reply