Silence at the end

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

Post Reply
KD
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:47 pm

Silence at the end

Post by KD » Sun Apr 30, 2006 4:42 am

Hi, it's me again :D

I use mixcraft to cut samples and it's really great for that purpose...
...but if I save a sample as a wav file I always got some silence at the end...so I need to cut that silence at the end in some other audio editor...that's really annoying, because I can loop the samples in mixcraft really good...but that's all worthless if mixcraft doesn't save that way...


any comments?

d

User avatar
EL34
Posts: 724
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 5:25 am
Location: Pisgah Forest, NC
Contact:

Post by EL34 » Sun Apr 30, 2006 5:36 am

Not sure why you get silience if there isn't any in your loop?

zoom in max and look at your loop to see if there is really silence on the clip itself.

Gman
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 4:02 pm
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

Post by Gman » Sun Apr 30, 2006 7:07 am

And-
You can always reload the .wav as a new project, slide the right side end of clip marker to the left until the silence is gone and then re-save as .wav again.

KD
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:47 pm

Post by KD » Sun Apr 30, 2006 8:11 am

thank you for your answers...but if there aint no silence in the loop there should be no silence after exporting...I guess

if I resave the wave file it has that silence again ;)

isnt there any possibility to save a clip the way it's shown in mixcraft?

d

User avatar
EL34
Posts: 724
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 5:25 am
Location: Pisgah Forest, NC
Contact:

Post by EL34 » Sun Apr 30, 2006 12:49 pm

If you export a clip, only export the selected clip.

Any clip that is longer than your clip will be included unless you only select the clip to be exported.

You never said what happened when you zoomed in all the way and looked at the end of your clip.

KD
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:47 pm

Post by KD » Sun Apr 30, 2006 1:09 pm

ok, heres the exactly step for step description of what I do:

1. I got a song loaded and found a short clip I want to use as a sample
2. I set the marker at the beginning of the part I want to use and split it
3. same at the end of the part I want to use
4. I right click the clip and open it in the loop editor
5. after the adjustments I click Ok
6. I highlight the clip and go to File->Mix down to->Wave file
7. I type in the name, click ok, set it to render "selection", ok

If I open my just rendered wave file it has some silence at the end...even in mixcraft...
that silence wasnt there before...because it was a infinite loop when played in the loop editor

d

User avatar
EL34
Posts: 724
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 5:25 am
Location: Pisgah Forest, NC
Contact:

Post by EL34 » Mon May 01, 2006 8:13 am

Did you edit your loop, click ok and just leave the loop as one loop or did you stretch it out to the right and repeat the loop?

Just grasping at straws here.

KD
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:47 pm

Post by KD » Mon May 01, 2006 10:14 am

just one loop...it is looped in another piece of software...but that doesnt work because of the silence at the end ;)

d

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19794
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon May 01, 2006 10:39 am

Hi,

Do you have any effects applied to it? For example, reverb can leave a faint "tail" as the echo dies down to silence. If you turn off the effects, does the problem go away?

What version and build of Mixcraft are you running?

Greg

KD
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:47 pm

Post by KD » Mon May 01, 2006 11:35 am

no effects at all....just the single loop

I'm running v2.50 build 48


am I the only one facing this problem?

d

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19794
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon May 01, 2006 1:27 pm

Hi KD,

I haven't had any other reports of this, especially with wave files. Send the loop to support (at) Acoustica.com and we'll check it out. Be sure to mention this discussion.

Greg

KD
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:47 pm

Post by KD » Mon May 01, 2006 1:46 pm

the rendered wave file? sorry, but I guess that would be just a wave file with some silence at the end :D

I tried to find out something about that problem...I saved the loop in every format available...

now I recognized that I got that silence at the end in every file format...mp3 has that silence at the beginning, too...but thats mp3

I start thinking about a local problem on my machine...

d

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19794
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue May 02, 2006 10:57 am

Hi KD,

I just tried it and I'm getting the same thing with build 48 and 50. Build 48 has been out since February, so I'm really surprised no one has reported this before!

It's not happening in version 2.01.

I've filed a bug report so this can be fixed in the next update.

Greg

KD
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:47 pm

Post by KD » Tue May 02, 2006 11:09 am

ok, thank you

really weird that nobody else noticed this bug...


d

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19794
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue May 02, 2006 11:14 am

I'm really surprised as well.

It appears that Mixcraft is rounding up to a nice even number of milliseconds, so in some cases, depending on the length of the sound, it might not be noticeable.

Post Reply