Fade on master track

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

Post Reply
User avatar
davefk
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:47 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Fade on master track

Post by davefk » Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:05 am

Hi Guys

Is there anyway I can get a more subtle fade out on the master track? The fade seems to end too quickly no matter how much time I give the fade out. I would like the fade to be much finer and slower.

Thanks
Original Music on Soundcloud : Original Music on Bandcamp : Original Music on YouTube :
Original Music on Hearthis

Dave Kelly, is an English songwriter based in Liverpool UK.

Image

gypsy101
Posts: 2322
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: near Music City,USA

Re: Fade on master track

Post by gypsy101 » Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:23 am

just adjust your fade points manually.
I usually add multiple points & lower them gradually as opposed to a "ramp".

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2432
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Fade on master track

Post by trevlyns » Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:19 am

Yep, like gypsy says...
Attachments
pic.jpg
pic.jpg (32.98 KiB) Viewed 4163 times
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website
Soundcloud
FaceBook

Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
davefk
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:47 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Fade on master track

Post by davefk » Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:24 am

Ah ha! Thanks guys, easy when you know how. :D
Original Music on Soundcloud : Original Music on Bandcamp : Original Music on YouTube :
Original Music on Hearthis

Dave Kelly, is an English songwriter based in Liverpool UK.

Image

User avatar
davefk
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:47 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Fade on master track

Post by davefk » Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:48 am

Spoke too soon. Even that is not fine enough. I would like to be able to enter fine fade between -18db and -inf, but I cant zoom in enough in Mixcraft to do it. Shame. The nearest i can get is -27.7db to -inf which is still not enough to give a realistic fade....
Original Music on Soundcloud : Original Music on Bandcamp : Original Music on YouTube :
Original Music on Hearthis

Dave Kelly, is an English songwriter based in Liverpool UK.

Image

Acoustica Dan
Site Admin
Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 4:45 pm

Re: Fade on master track

Post by Acoustica Dan » Mon Jun 17, 2013 10:16 am

You can resize the Master Track to be as large as you'd like. Once large enough, you'll have extremely precise control over the fade-out points, if that's what you'd like.

Dan

Vibrant Audio
Posts: 981
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:24 pm

Re: Fade on master track

Post by Vibrant Audio » Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:13 am

Even with the track resized, once you move the mouse toward the lower limits you lose resolution on the dB levels. I am only able to get down to the -29 dB range with a mouse.

However, you can right-click on an automation point and manually enter any number you want up to a limit. I was able to enter a number up to -6153 dB! :shock:
*Vibrant Audio*

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2432
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Fade on master track

Post by trevlyns » Mon Jun 17, 2013 1:19 pm

Pardon, I didn't quite hear that...
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website
Soundcloud
FaceBook

Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

gypsy101
Posts: 2322
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: near Music City,USA

Re: Fade on master track

Post by gypsy101 » Tue Jun 18, 2013 8:52 am

davefk wrote:Spoke too soon. Even that is not fine enough. I would like to be able to enter fine fade between -18db and -inf, but I cant zoom in enough in Mixcraft to do it. Shame. The nearest i can get is -27.7db to -inf which is still not enough to give a realistic fade....
3 things I've found doing this-
once you mix down to .WAV or mp3 whatever it sounds much more natural.

you probably wouldn't notice it on regular speakers or phones instead of "mixing" monitors/phones

try to NOT look @ the screen while playing back.plus you may be "too close" to the project,you're brain is anticipating or listening for minute artifacts as it goes below -25db. :wink:

User avatar
davefk
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:47 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Fade on master track

Post by davefk » Tue Jun 18, 2013 11:14 am

Vibrant Audio wrote:Even with the track resized, once you move the mouse toward the lower limits you lose resolution on the dB levels. I am only able to get down to the -29 dB range with a mouse.

However, you can right-click on an automation point and manually enter any number you want up to a limit. I was able to enter a number up to -6153 dB! :shock:
Yes I eventually found the same way as you suggest, but having some fade curves would be better and easier.
Original Music on Soundcloud : Original Music on Bandcamp : Original Music on YouTube :
Original Music on Hearthis

Dave Kelly, is an English songwriter based in Liverpool UK.

Image

Post Reply