Mixcraft 3's cool new project copy feature

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
User avatar
EL34
Posts: 726
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 5:25 am
Location: Pisgah Forest, NC
Contact:

Mixcraft 3's cool new project copy feature

Post by EL34 » Fri Mar 30, 2007 10:04 am

Ok, I think I can stop ranting now about the lack of a file management feature in Mixcraft.

Drum roll please!!!! :P
Mixcraft 3 now has a new menu item.
File/Copy project sounds to...

This feature will copy a previous project to a brand new folder.
It will only copy files that are actually being used in the project.
It leaves behind any files that were not used.

I just copied over 40 Mixcraft 2 and 3 projects to a new Directory/folders and regained over 9 GB of hard disk space.

I then went back and deleted my old recording directory with all the old folders.

Very cool, thanks again Acoustica.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20905
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by Acoustica Greg » Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:15 pm

It's also going to be very handy for people who want to transfer projects to other computers. You could send your Mixcraft 3.0 project to a USB drive, MP3 player or some other removable drive.

You could have a virtual band spread out across the world, with each musician overdubbing his or her part, then sending the project to the next person on a USB stick.

Gman
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 4:02 pm
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

Post by Gman » Sat Mar 31, 2007 6:41 am

So it not only copies V3 projects, but also V2 projects?

Sweet!

User avatar
Acoustica Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 5789
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

re

Post by Acoustica Eric » Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:31 pm

Yep, and man I could have used that feature about 3 months ago for a customer who wanted me to mix his song. We had to keep transferring files to get the right ones.

Excellent feature addition in my book :-)

User avatar
EL34
Posts: 726
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 5:25 am
Location: Pisgah Forest, NC
Contact:

Post by EL34 » Sat Mar 31, 2007 3:18 pm

Hey G,
You can open a M2 project in M3.

You then have to save the M2 project as a M3 project.

Once it is saved as a M3 project, you can use the copy project feature in the file menu of M3.

Post Reply