overlaying multiple clips on 1 track question

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
gypsy101
Posts: 2322
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: near Music City,USA

overlaying multiple clips on 1 track question

Post by gypsy101 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 2:56 am

see the pic-
I do this a lot but most times you can't merge them w/out crossfade on the parts w/ the gaps(that's another thread & MC7 suggestion) but the parts that fit w/in the other you can.
the problem is,when you do it alters the volume level of one or more clips and they don't come out even.it just doesn't sound the same.
as it is it takes up a lot of screen real estate & individual dubs/manual doubling,tripling,etc. would just add a lot of unnecessary tracks & CPU usage.

the usual answer is to mix that individual track down to a WAV file and then import back into the project which is slow & creates confusion in the file folders later on.

will "bouncing down" w/in the project be an option in MC7?
it sure would be handy.

I hope all that made sense. :roll:

Image

Vibrant Audio
Posts: 981
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:24 pm

Re: overlaying multiple clips on 1 track question

Post by Vibrant Audio » Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:40 am

In Mixcraft 6, you can right-click on the track header and choose "Mix To New Audio Track" to bounce to a new file and import into a new track all in one step. The bounced track will be in your project folder.
*Vibrant Audio*

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20665
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: overlaying multiple clips on 1 track question

Post by Acoustica Greg » Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:37 am

Hi,

For a visual representation of Vibrant Audio's tip:

Image


You could also have multiple clips in a track on different lanes without crossfading. Press Alt+L to add a lane to a track.

Greg

gypsy101
Posts: 2322
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: near Music City,USA

Re: overlaying multiple clips on 1 track question

Post by gypsy101 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 1:24 pm

see my pic, that is one track w/ multiple lanes. :wink:
when you have 3 or 4 tracks w/ mulitple lanes like that it takes up a lot of screen or I have to wear 5x reading glasses to see it w/out zooming.lol :roll:

I'll try what V.A. said & see how it sounds.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20665
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: overlaying multiple clips on 1 track question

Post by Acoustica Greg » Thu Aug 14, 2014 1:43 pm

gypsy101 wrote:see my pic, that is one track w/ multiple lanes. :wink:
D'oh!

gypsy101
Posts: 2322
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: near Music City,USA

Re: overlaying multiple clips on 1 track question

Post by gypsy101 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 4:09 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:
gypsy101 wrote:see my pic, that is one track w/ multiple lanes. :wink:
D'oh!
:lol:

might as well throw/move this whole thread in/to the Tips & Tricks section. :wink:

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2498
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: overlaying multiple clips on 1 track question

Post by trevlyns » Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:14 pm

Gypsy..

Are those parts all meant to stay (ie. are they harmony parts) or just corrective takes?

If the latter, I would use 'Punch in - punch out' loop recording mode with recording mode set to 'replace'.

If merged as they are all overlapping parts will play.
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website
Soundcloud
FaceBook

Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

gypsy101
Posts: 2322
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: near Music City,USA

Re: overlaying multiple clips on 1 track question

Post by gypsy101 » Fri Aug 15, 2014 2:31 am

trevlyns wrote:Gypsy..

Are those parts all meant to stay (ie. are they harmony parts) or just corrective takes?

If the latter, I would use 'Punch in - punch out' loop recording mode with recording mode set to 'replace'.

If merged as they are all overlapping parts will play.
yes,they are harmony/doubled parts that are keepers-not corrective takes.
I do it that way to save on # of tracks & screen real estate.

if you simply merge them it changes the sound & some clips actually get buried under others.
it's hard to explain in type but it's kinda like the difference between highest quality WAV & low quality mp3 mixdown versions.
try it sometime & you'll see what I mean.

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2498
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: overlaying multiple clips on 1 track question

Post by trevlyns » Sat Aug 16, 2014 4:39 am

Hi Gypsy!

Just one further thought... you have 4 lanes; what if they were separate tracks but then reduce track height to 'small' - that'll save on real estate and you can tweak each part individually..
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website
Soundcloud
FaceBook

Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

gypsy101
Posts: 2322
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: near Music City,USA

Re: overlaying multiple clips on 1 track question

Post by gypsy101 » Sat Aug 16, 2014 5:05 am

trevlyns wrote:Hi Gypsy!

Just one further thought... you have 4 lanes; what if they were separate tracks but then reduce track height to 'small' - that'll save on real estate and you can tweak each part individually..
because I work faster doing tiny doubles & multiples this way.
less CPU usage by limiting track numbers & fx,plus w/ less tracks it's easier to on the main mix later.
and because I'm going frikkin' blind these days. :roll: :lol:

Post Reply